Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
4 Reviews
1234.755
Previous | Next
Write A Review
September 21, 2012

more

September 21, 2012

Conozco la labor de Paso Pacífico desde hace algunosa años, entre otras tareas deseo destacar la preocupación por la capacitación de las personas vinculadas al Proyecto. Particularmente los Guardaparques, que han sido enviados hasta... Argentina! Y la formación ambiental de los niños para lograr adultos ambientalmente comprometidos. Felicitaciones

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 12, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
September 12, 2012

I am a spatial ecologist with the US Fish and Wildlife Service, with many years of experience working in Central and South America. Having had the opportunity to work with Paso Pacifico staff and student researchers, I highly support its mission and focus on fundamental conservation issues in a key portion of the Central American isthmus. Paso Pacifico's reforestation efforts and initiatives to protect endangered wildlife species and habitat with strong cooperation of Nicaraguan citizens is a testament to their successful approach for conserving areas of high biodiversity. I look forward to future collaborations with them.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 11, 2012

more

September 11, 2012

I admire Paso Pacifico's effort to engage community members, Nicaraguan staff, students and biologists, as well as international collaborators to conduct local-regional level biodiversity conservation work very much. After doing ecological research in Latin America for years, I have come to the realization that action-oriented conservation that involves participatory mapping/research is badly needed. Paso Pacifico is an excellent example of how citizen science in conservation is applied in the real-world problem-solving contexts.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Nicaragua where I lead the ground data collection work and coordinated with the Nicaraguan staff both in the field and in the office.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I suggest to allocate resources from volunteers and interns to leverage communication tools for social media outreach.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What is unique about this organization?

Paco Pacifico provides a very unique model as a women-founded and women-run grass-roots biodiversity conservation NGO in Central America, where traditionally this kind of office and fieldwork is managed and operated by men. It provides intelligent and hard-working women in Nicaragua a great opportunity to participate in conservation.

September 11, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
September 11, 2012

I am a retired employee of the US National Park Service. I have had extensive experience in Latin America as a conservation consultant. Paso Pacifico is the most grass-roots organization with which I have ever worked. All the work it does in the fields listed above is almost exclusively done by Nicaraguans in Nicaragua. I worked on training their rangers who were selected from communities near beaches where marine turtles annually come to nest. These rangers have revolutionized the villagers' attitudes toward turtle egg poaching. On one beach, for 25 years, no baby turtles crawled to the sea. All the eggs were dug up and sold. Last year, due to the ranger's protection and their educational efforts in the community, thousands of turtles made it back to the Pacific Ocean. These rangers have becone leaders in their communities, demonstrating that the sustainable use of resources is a viable way to feed, clothe and educate their children. Paso Pacfico's work in all areas of conservation is ourstanding.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Nicagragua where I went to train the rangers and work with the Nicaraguan staff.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would make the website bilingual.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

Through a board member.

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

Protection of the southwestern slope of Nicaraguua.

What is its top priority in the long run?

Make sustainable living in Nicaragua a reality.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers