Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
94 Reviews
123.8404345
Write A Review
November 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
February 8, 2012

I am proud to have worked with Pasado's for 12 years. My years volunteering there inspired me to quit my teaching job and go to veterinary school so I could help animals in a whole new way. Thanks t... more

November 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have been volunteering with Pasado's for 13 years. They are the only group in Washington State who has enacted animal welfare legislation. They are the only group with staff members dedicated to following up on reports of animal cruelty and neglect. The organization has gone through a lot of changes in the past few years, but I have stuck with it because I believe in the mission.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 8, 2012

I am proud to have worked with Pasado's for 12 years. My years volunteering there inspired me to quit my teaching job and go to veterinary school so I could help animals in a whole new way. Thanks to this organization there are multiple anti-cruelty laws on the books in Olympia; none of those would exist were it not for this organization. Pasado's is the only organization in the state that works to rescue all domestic animals, including pigs, llamas, goats, sheep, ducks, turkeys, and chickens. Pasado's is the only organization in the state with full-time animal cruelty investigators who respond to reports of animal cruelty. Pasado's is the only organization in the state who has mobile spay-neuter clinics to offer low-cost or free sterilization to underserved or low-income areas. It is thanks to our devoted volunteers, staff, and donors that we are able to provide these services for the animals and pet-owners of Washington State. For every controversial euthanasia that has occured, Pasado's has exhausted every legal route to save and protect those animals. The thousands of animals who have been spared unneccessary cruelty thanks to anti-cruelty laws should be a testament to how much this organization cares about aniamls.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Pasado's has made great strides to get back to being a viable organization. According to our 2012 990 over 80% of a donor dollar goes to the cause - rescuing animals. Fantastic, amazing people helping a fantastic, amazing cause.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Promote the cause more and raise awareness.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
June 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Effective May 7, 2012, Pasado's Safe Haven is under new management. We are fortunate to have an Interim Executive Director with 20 years of experience in the non-profit sector now leading the organization. Joan Eads is experienced in assessing organizational structure and culture while bringing focus to effectively align resources to our mission. Pasado's has been through a long and difficult transition; a fact that is reflected in many of your comments. As Interim Executive Director, Joan will assist the Board of Directors to determine what course of action will ensure Pasado's future as a premier animal welfare organization. Those who wish to provide input into the process please contact Joan at JoanE@pasadosafehaven.org or LindaL@pasadosafehaven.org.

Sincerely,

Linda LaMar
Board Chair
Pasado's Safe Haven | www.pasadosafehaven.org

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 10, 2012

I recently joined the board at Pasado's. I joined because in the animal welfare arena, Pasado's is uniquely focused on a strong anti cruelty charter for both companion and farm animals. I met Stacie (COO) over a year ago when I first toured the farm and I continue to be impressed by the passion and dedication Stacie brings to her job. Pasado's employees work in jobs that demand round the clock access and urgent, practical solutions to the harsh problems posed by the hardest forms of animal rescue work. These people are unrelenting in their commitment to better the lives of the animals in their care, and through legislation and good example, protect the lives and circumstances of countless others. The recent expansion to Whidbey has enervated dozens of skilled volunteers who, in a very short time, are already becoming a voice for the animals in Island County. The new board president is an exceptionally competent, professional leader who will partner with the board and the management of Pasado's to creatively and effectively problem solve. The current staff at Pasado's has done an excellent job preserving the safe haven that is promised to every animal that comes through the gates. I look forward to serving with and for these people and the animals.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 8, 2012

It all comes down to the animals. Pasado's is the only non-profit, animal welfare organization in the state that investigates animal cruelty and collaborates with law enforcement to ensure prosecution of neglect and cruelty cases. Pasado's is the largest farm sanctuary in the state of Washington and houses many special-needs animals while they await their forever homes. Pasado's has brought other non-profit partners on board to more effectively manage feral cat colonies through a unique and collaborative TNR task force. Pasado's has initiated most of the animal protection laws that exist here. Pasado's was recently awarded a grant to open a cruelty-investigation and education center in Pierce County and now has a store front on Whidbey Island. Pasado's staff are competent, passionate, and committed people and are overseen by a professional and engaged Board of Directors. This charity has overcome a great deal and under the new leadership is thriving and poised to help even more animals in Washington state. Which is, after all, what Pasado's is all about.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

make a real difference in the daily lives of our animals. You can help by walking and helping to train dogs. Volunteers also work to socialize cats, and groom horses, llamas and sheep. Volunteer