Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
94 Reviews
123.8404345
Write A Review
August 8, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

more

August 8, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

Despite the many positive reviews on this page--the vast majority of which were specifically requested from friends and family by current employees--this organization has no business being touted as a "great" anything. It lost its way many years ago and today should serve as nothing more than a warning to other animal welfare organizations, a warning of what you can become if you allow incompetent and selfish people to run an organization intended to benefit anyone but themselves.

Management is disingenuous, ridiculously overpaid (by personal request/demand, no less), and completely without original thought, creativity, or the ability to benefit the field of animal welfare in any meaningful way.

Employees are undereducated, disrespected, and, in turn, under-motivated--any commitment they had to animal rescue or proper animal care wholly shattered within their first weeks at Pasado's; like the organization, they quickly become a shell of their former abilities and ideals, mindlessly and minimally checking the boxes of their duties daily.

And, most disturbingly of all, the animals are just there. What once presented as a reprieve from the cruel world has now, for the majority of them, become nothing but a perpetuation of it. "Rescues" are rarely how they're portrayed, as management's singly most consistent ability seems to be word-play; and, those who are "rescued"--in any real sense of the word--live a life at Pasado's that should cause us to question the meaning of the word itself. Animals in need of vet care go without (like Whalen, the young calf "rescued" last year, who died at Pasado's without ever once seeing a vet); animals develop new health conditions from psychological turmoil (like Tipper, who is now on anxiety medication from being locked alone in a run for the last who knows how many months); animals are allowed to live in far sub-standard conditions (like the cows, who have no meaningful shelter of any kind)...all while donor money, intended to remedy these exact types of issues, goes into other pockets, literally. If any of these residents could talk, they would ask if the term "sanctuary" is being used tongue in cheek.

If you want to help local animals, donate somewhere where both the human and non-human beings are respected and cared for properly and where the goal of reducing animal cruelty is truly a possibility, and not just a fundraising tagline. Check out Pigs Peace Sanctuary and MEOW Cat Rescue for starters, and you'll see the difference immediately...

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 30, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 30, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I knew the donkey named Pasado who used to live in peace at a farm near a city.
I was outraged at his senseless death, but inspired by the group who took his name and changed history.
I am so proud of the ceaseless, selfless work that this non profit has done for my state of Washington.
Crimes against animals are now punishable by real jail time, removal of the abused, and fines to hit places like puppy mills hardest.
I understand completely Pasado's use of the media to spread news of abusers; I am impressed by the Spay Station and ALL volunteers. They get the farm work, educational tours, rescues, court appearances and, fostering, spaying and neutering DONE. DAILY. Dedicated and deserving of any award.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue to encourage volunteers-they are the heart and soul of any non profit

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 10, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

more

February 10, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

Upper management and the board seem to only care about a few things: Money and good publicity. The only ones who seem to care are the caregivers, and unfortunately, most of them were driven out due to the hostile work environment imposed upon them by the executive director and the new - highly unqualified - animal care manager. Wake up and smell the roses, Pasados. If vegan is the direction you are going, and if you want to try to force the animals and everyone who comes on site to abide by that, then most of the volunteers and many staff members should be eliminated to go along with your new extremist ways. In fact, since you seem so intent on attempting to feed vegan food, then it is my personal belief that you should not have or rescue carnivores or omnivores, as that does not "align with your mission". Thus, no more dogs, cats, pigs, birds of any kind, or horses. Stop making the animals suffer because of your own personal beliefs. If you intend on being voices for the animals, then you must have the correct voice and allow them to do and eat what is natural to them so that they can live long, healthy (as healthy as they can get at Pasados) lives. Also, knock it off with all of the lying. Tinsel the cat, who was said to have broken both of her legs, was 100% healthy! Her only issue was that she needed to get spayed and have updated vaccines. Otherwise, she was a happy, playful, healthy cat! Clearly, nobody on the investigative end or the advertising end did their part there. One look at that cat, and you know she's fine, and yet the investigator insisted that her legs were broken. Is this person so incompetent that they would mistake a healthy, unbroken cat for one with not one, but TWO broken legs? Why has nobody questioned this?! Honestly, I could go on and on and on and on about this corrupt organization and the asinine people who are running it (into the ground), but it would only make me even more irritated. Especially seeing all of the sad, blind people who are giving this place more stars than it clearly deserves. Who knows, maybe all of those ratings and stars were given by the same people who are in charge? With all of the backhanded lies and manipulation I've seen stemming out like toxic smoke from this place, I wouldn't doubt it for a second. Trust me, people, this is only the tip of the ice burg of what Pasados is hiding from you. Do not believe everything you see and hear, no matter how pretty their words are.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change out management with someone competent and open minded. Either knock it off with the vegan propaganda, or go all the way so that no omnivores or carnivores have to suffer under the vegan wrath. Get more qualified staff members. Reveal the truth, and nothing but the truth, to the public.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 9, 2014
7 people found this review helpful

more

February 9, 2014
7 people found this review helpful

I fully agree with fortheanimals1 on all accounts. I was also was once just like everyone else here who has given Pasados a score anywhere above 1 star. If I could, I would give them no stars. Some may just pass this off and disregard this and others' review as just a singular disgruntled volunteer or employee, but I urge all donators to listen before they shuffle out their money carelessly. I urge them to visit the site and explore on their own without the corrupt executive director on their heals, blinding them with sweet words of manipulation and false truths as she is so good at doing. She, as well as the new animal care manager have no experience with animals, and do not understand what it means to be in charge of so many animals and how much their poor decisions impact the ones who do not have a voice. Even the board of directors, as far as volunteers and most employees are concerned, are faceless shadows in the background that rarely if ever actually visit the site and meet the ones such as the caretakers that work directly with the animals in the mud and feces, and that only ever speak up if they decide that humans should conform to the vegan way of life, whether they or their health like it or not. If those people are the voice for the animals, as it has shown to be - because of course, the pleas and cries of the caretakers are consistently and constantly ignored - then those animals are surely doomed to die. I have recently heard that three kittens, in fact, have died, thanks to the lack of protocol-following on the part of the animal care manager, whose "management experience" was in a Victoria's secret. What? How, in sanity's name, does that make her even a little bit qualified to be in charge of caretakers and 200+ animals, especially when she couldn't even perform the slightest tasks when she was cat lead. Pasados has the potential to be a great rescue, but it has to start from the board of directors and work its way down through so-called management. Again, I urge all donators and anyone who thinks about writing a review for this organization to take a look - a good look - past the lies and manipulation into the truth of what is actually going on there.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Replace the Board with people who have faces and actually visit and care. Replace the Executive Director with someone with experience who won't so comfortably out-right lie to people. Replace the Animal Care Manager with someone - anyone - with animal care experience, who will follow protocols and act as a team member with the other caretakers. Give the caretakers more pull and power so that the animals there no longer have to suffer under the wrath of poor management.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 9, 2014
6 people found this review helpful

more

February 9, 2014
6 people found this review helpful

Like many people, my experience with Pasado’s started off positive. I was impressed with the passion for animal welfare shown by all of the staff, and by how well the animals appeared to be cared for. However, as time went on, I became disenchanted with Pasado’s for many reasons. The number one reason for my disenchantment was the lack of follow through in the life of an animal once it was brought to the organization. All of the focus was on the immediate rescue—the glory of removing an animal from a terrible situation. Once the animal was on the property, however, it was forgotten by everyone except the caretakers who took care of it on a daily basis, often at the cost of taking time and care away from other animals. The caretakers were the ones who had to watch as animals suffered due to inadequate care because there were not enough resources or time to take care of everyone properly, despite putting in hours and hours of overtime every week. Despite being constantly short staffed, animals continued to come in, against the protests of the people who actually knew and worked with the animals every day. Conditions continued to worsen as the number of animals increased and the number of caretakers decreased.
Another reason I became disenchanted with Pasado’s was the enforcement of the vegan policy, even when it led to a direct negative impact on the animals. While already two caretakers short staffed, a perfectly capable and qualified caretaker was “let go” for storing a non-vegan item on site. There were no intermediate steps in the process—no verbal warnings, no written write-ups. She was just fired. How on earth does firing a skilled caretaker who took exemplary care of the animals benefit anyone? In all seriousness, can anyone explain how any animals, onsite or out in the world, benefitted from that action? Is the “mission” of being vegan really more important than providing care for the animals that Pasado’s has taken responsibility for?
The final, and most pressing cause of disenchantment for me, was the promotion of a completely inexperienced, unqualified individual as the Interim Animal Care Manager. As a caretaker, she had already proved herself to be inadequate by failing to provide appropriate care to the animals for which she was responsible. She was not experienced enough to know how important it was to inform the veterinarian that a cat (Harvey Dent) was vomiting and had diarrhea for three days, which resulted in him not being treated for Panleukopenia (kitty Parvo) until he was already critically ill, and very nearly died because of it. She never actually learned how to take care of all the animals on the property, despite the fact that she is now responsible for making decisions about the care of every animal at Pasado’s. Her so-called “managerial experience” supposedly qualified her for the position, but she did not prove to be competent in that area either. She neglected to inform multiple caretakers, on multiple occasions, that she switched their days off, in addition to scheduling people to work six, seven, or even eight days in a row without consulting them first. If she doesn’t know how to take care of animals, and clearly doesn’t know how to manage people, why is she still in this position with a strong potential for a permanent promotion? The only reason I can see is that she is vegan, and therefore “more aligned with the mission” than any of the other caretakers (who all had more professional animal care experience than her,) who are not vegan. Pasado’s may as well put an addendum on all of the new job postings that says, “Non-vegans (no matter how well qualified) need not apply,” because that is where the organization is going.
In addition to the Interim Animal Care Manager having no animal care experience, the Executive Director also has absolutely no experience with running an animal shelter. How does the Board of Directors rationalize putting people with no knowledge of animals into power? What right do they have to make decisions about animal care when they have no notion of the consequences of their choices? Their lack of understanding has already led to a dramatic decrease in standards of animal care, and I can only imagine that they will continue slipping.
Don’t just take my word for it—please take a look behind the pretty picture that Pasado’s paints on its website and on social media. The reality is a much darker image than the one presented to the public.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change the focus back to taking proper care of the animals, not misleading and painting a pretty picture for the public. Stop firing staff over trivial matters, and start firing people for important issues, such as nearly killing animals and failing to perform basic job duties.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I've worked for Pasado's for a year and a half and have witnessed the organization make enormous strides in that time.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I am an employee with Pasado's and I feel honored and grateful every day for the gift of being able to come to work in this beautiful place, with these amazing animals and the people who care for them.
I see the staff's care, concern and skill with the animals that we all work to save, and the
volunteer's dedication to the animals living areas and enrichment activities and I am humbled every day and uplifted at the generosity of the humans who try so hard to be more like the animals we serve. Resilient, enthusiastic, caring and accepting.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Add an adoption center in a more accessible location in order to increase the exposure of those animals who have been through the process of rescue and rehabilitation and are ready for re-homing. The Sanctuary is beautiful and serene BECAUSE it is away from the hustle and bustle of the big cities, and it is ideal for rehabilitation and recuperation. But it would be nice to have a place where the general public could easily come and interact with some of the more "ready to adopt" dogs and cats.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

Pasado's is such a great sanctuary with happy, healthy animals! It's a truly admirable organization!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Pasado’s Safe Haven is awe-inspiring in its committment to ending all animal cruelty and suffering, rescuing animals in need, educating the public about animal welfare, and finding forever homes for the animals it's rescued. Pasado's is driven by a dedicated team of compassionate staff and volunteers, whole-heartedly advancing an unrelenting vision of a future free of violence towards all animals. Being involved in the movement alongside Pasado's is incredibly powerful and life changing. Pasado's has saved countless lives and will continue to save countless more. I'm lucky to continue to be a part of the journey!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Having worked at Pasado’s as an independent contractor from May 2011 to January 2012 I’ve spent a lot of time around the staff and have always found them to be positive, friendly, professional, extremely dedicated to the mission and to the animals at the Sanctuary.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

make a real difference in the daily lives of our animals. You can help by walking and helping to train dogs. Volunteers also work to socialize cats, and groom horses, llamas and sheep. Volunteer