Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
93 Reviews
123.8279645
Write A Review
August 14, 2014
8 people found this review helpful

more

August 14, 2014
8 people found this review helpful

Just some quick, but important clarifications, for previous posters:

The $63,000 figure you report was the salary of Pasado's Interim Executive Director; if you dig a little deeper, you'll find that the organization's current Executive Director makes over $100,000. Not quite as comparable
with other rescue organizations...

As a past insider, I can assure you that the vast majority of employees were not "pushed out" due to the organization's vegan policy. Although this policy remained somewhat contentious among the staff, the mass exodus of employees from late 2013 to early 2014 stemmed from animal care failings and management wrongs committed against fellow employees--the type of people who recognize that equality campaigns lack tenacity and integrity if lacking inclusivity (i.e., that the humans involved in the campaigns must also be treated with respect and fairness), often refuse to continue working in environments that have not yet grasped this fundamental concept. And, even those who overlook this hypocrisy, simply cannot stand by and watch rescued animals receive sub-par care from an organization that claims to and can afford to do right (in fact, goes so far as to claim itself a "premier" national animal rescue organization).

Finally, I think it's unfair to claim that those critical of this organization have an "axe to grind". This site is about bringing to light things that those outside of organizations would not know, which, unfortunately in the case of certain non-profits, are ugly; but that doesn't make them less true and, by some accounts, makes them even more important to voice. It's great for you if you're a supporter of the organization, but reporting false information and directly relaying the hollow words of current management, while criticizing those who have important information to share, doesn't help the animals or support the purpose of this webpage...except from Pasado's perspective, given management's adoration of easily-achievable accolades that require no proof of fitness (like the "Great Nonprofits" stamp, earned by positive comments from unidentifiable members of the public, who are too often current employees and their family members).

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 14, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

August 14, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

Before starting to volunteer at Pasado's, I read about the trouble its founders (no longer there) had with the state and found that its new CEO's pay ($63K/year) was the same or less than that of other sanctuaries this size. I also saw a few negative comments here and so read further. It seems the new CEO pushed out some people who insisted on eating animal flesh and secretions while on the grounds of a sanctuary that's attempting to save animals from that exact fate. Good for her! So I started volunteering -- and I have loved it and seen the new management make the most wonderful changes for the animals in terms of space, the expertise and passion of employees, and the overall quality of care. I'm surprised the critics continue to grind their axes here. Very selfish. I hope they'll move on, for the sake of the animals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Wish that prior management hadn't chosen workers and volunteers who are so proud and hellbent on having their way/eating meat that they can't see they're ultimately hurting the animals.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 13, 2014
9 people found this review helpful

more

August 13, 2014
9 people found this review helpful

Yesterday, Pasado's asked its supporters to post positive sentiments on this site, its go-to tactic to obscure those candid, know-too-much reviews that expose this organization for the sham that it is. I used to support this organization before seeing behind it's elaborately constructed and aggressively guarded veil, and I only wish that I had come into the know before devoting so much of my time and money to it. So, if you're just like me, and want to help local animals, please consider the following.

There is no denying that its supposed mission is a worthy one: rescuing animals and preventing animal cruelty. Almost no one would oppose this goal. But, unfortunately, it's exactly this kind of visceral support that greedy, soulless organizations like Pasado's rely on to maintain their presence. What members of the public need to focus on is not the words of Pasado's, not the organization's hollow expression of intent, but it actions. Because the reality is that, in today's world, every legitimate animal rescue is overcompensated for by scores of bogus ones, and those of us who truly wish to help the animals through the donation of our limited time or money must look deeply into and think critically about with whom we keep company. As a person with in-depth and varied experience in the local animal rescue world, including as a past contributor to Pasado's, I urge you do some research on this organization.

Take a look at the state investigations that have been launched against them...not to mention the lawsuits, past and present.

Take a look at the salary of their Executive Director and compare it to other non-profits with a proven track record of fidelity to the cause.

Take a look at employee and volunteer turn-over and ask yourself why so many employees have quit within the last year. How much longer can anyone believe that the issue lies with each of these individuals, not the organization's management? The notion is an absurd diversion...right in the organization's wheelhouse.

Take a look at the animal care at an organization that can afford to pay the salaries it does and ask yourself uncomfortable questions like why the Foxhounds have not been socialized (the fosters are responsible for all of the progress these dogs have made), why the equines had their nutritional supplements cut (their past vets would be happy to discuss this with you and share their frustrations), why the cows and horses don't have barns, why and how all their hens died in a short period of time. I could go on.

Take a look at the circumstances they call "rescues". Like the kitten named Tinsel, whom Pasado's fund-raised with, based on the report that she was abused and suffered immense physical trauma; it was later learned that she was in good health. Like the "Fab 5" kittens, who were actually pulled from neglect by a good Samaritan, who then turned them over to Pasado's, but about whom Pasado's contacted the media and alerted its supporters to a big-time "organizational rescue". Like the overweight cat Drew, who Pasado's touts as a major success story, without telling its supporters that Drew has been at Pasado's for years, languishing for much time before beginning to make progress.

Finally, think about how you define animal rescue and compare it to what you see, once you invest the time and energy to be a critical and engaged observer. Without doubt, I'll see those of who who invest the time and energy at the local organizations worthy of using the "animal rescue" moniker.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 13, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 13, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I volunteered in Kitty City for about a year-and-a-half. Great place! I only stopped because of time constraints (It's a 45 minute drive each way for me). I miss it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 30, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

July 30, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

I adore Pasados. I volunteered during the Katrina disaster. While there, I had the opportunity to meet the leaders, staff and other volunteers. The work they do there is solid and with the highest ethics. They truly are a voice for those who have little or none. I only wish I could continue to commit time to volunteer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2005

April 5, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

more

April 5, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

I spent a few months this summer as an intern at Pasado's, and I absolutely LOVED it. As interns, we worked half the day directly with the animals and half of the day with Dana as our manager. I learned an incredible amount and loved the variety of tasks I was able to help with. All of the staff were very caring and helpful, and Dana especially was wonderful to work with. She set clear expectations and was available for questions if necessary. I would definitely recommend Pasado's to future volunteers and interns!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 7, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more

March 7, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

LOVE Pasado's! I volunteer every Saturday and look forward to my shifts! Pasado's is a great rescue and wish I could volunteer more often! I highly recommend volunteering here!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 4, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more

March 4, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

The BEST decision I've made in a long time is my decision to volunteer at Pasado's Safe Haven!

I have been thoroughly impressed with the level of professionalism and knowledge of all of staff members that I have had interaction with - including, Dana, Sarah, Dani, Carolin, Heidi, and
Brooke. When I am at the sanctuary I can easily see and feel the love the staff has for the animals and think that is phenomenal!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

increase the number of caretaker staff, which I know Pasado's is currently in the process of doing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 3, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more

March 3, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

I have been volunteering for Pasados since fall. I fell in love with the work and dedication they have for all animals. My first experience with them was over a year ago when my family and I adopted Trooper a dog that was rescued and dying from Parvo. They saved him from death and now he is healthy and amazing. That is what brought me back to Pasados but this time I wanted to give my time and do what they did for my dog and that is cleaning, playing and just caring for the animals. I have started out my time with the cats at Kitty City. I met the cat lead who was amazing and did a great job showing me what I needed to do to help the animals. As a volunteer we don't always have the most fun jobs. But if you know having animals isn't always fun. They need the litter changed, clean beds, clean water, a clean floor. I don't mind doing this work because it helps the other workers and care givers have time for responsibilities that we as volunteers cannot do. I was even taught how to take the blood sugar on a cat who has diabetes because I come in as early as 6 before the care takes can do their rounds. I was taught this because I was there one morning and he was throwing up and I was worried. I was able to reach the lead and she was minutes away. She then showed me what to do if I found him doing this or other symptoms she described and if it was at specific levels what to do at that point. She did a great job helping me be able to help the cats if an emergency happened and I was they only one in Kitty City. I was shown the ER number that I was also instructed to call at that point in time as well.
I was trained to help with a new program that she started for the cats that needed special attention with socializing, I loved this because I learned about animal behavior and how to gain their trust. I saw a cat that has been at Pasados for a few years and would never come to a human, blossom into an amazingly affectionate soul. He just surprised me. Also a cat that has a very special personality got adopted!!!! That is amazing because I thought for sure she would never get a family and home because she was not your typical lovey cat.
Pasados is running their rescue and sanctuary on a small staff and volunteers. They need more help and I can see that some people may think they can do better. Here is the thing, they are doing the best they can and those animals have clean beds, water, and attention and a home with people who love them. They receive medical care and yes I wish there was more time for love to spread around. I think if we looked at this as we are here for the animals then we would see it differently. These animals have a shot at life and love.
I do know that Pasados tries to educate people on the way animals are treated for dairy and slaughter. Because isn't that what they do, they love and save all animals they can. I am not a vegan and I have never been told or made to feel as though I am a bad person or I cannot be there to help. The cat lead who is now the animal care giver has never made me feel like I was unwelcome to help or has tried to make me vegan.
I think the current animal care giver is trying her hardest to make everything work. I will have you know that back a month or so ago that they were understaffed and trying their hardest to do everything they could for the animals. Their mission is to provide these animals with a beautiful life. They are doing their job, but they need help! Help from volunteers and donations.
I have been grateful to have been able to see what these people do. I have witnessed the result of animal cruelty and the love and care the animals get from being saved by Pasados.
Now for everyone who likes to nitpick others for their hard work I would like to say to you. Try working together as a team and create new ideas of how things can improve because we all know that there can always be improvements in what we do. We are not perfect, mistakes are made (by all), and forgiveness and team work needs to happen.
Lets get back to what we all want and that is to help and make a difference in animals lives. For those of you who want to sit in you negative thoughts that is your choice but I will always live to fight for those who can't. Not just animals but people who are being bullied by others. I feel as though a lot of the negative comments those have to say are very much bulling.
This is hard work and it isn't always glamorous, but it makes a difference to those we see when we go and clean, love on and play with at Pasados. Passion and determination for them is what should be in our hearts not being petty and bulling others.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Wish there was more help workers or volunteers. They need more help but are doing their best. :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I've been volunteering at pasado's for a few months now and I liked it when I first started. I really enjoyed coming and spending time with the animals, but I never knew what I was supposed to be doing. I could never find any of the caretakers and when I did they always treated me like I was a nuisance or like I was bothering them. I heard that most of the caretakers and the animal care manager left and ever since then I feel like I'm actually learning things and starting to be able to help more. I met the new animal care manager in kitty city and she was very helpful and friendly and told me exactly what I could do to help. The new caretakers are much more friendly and helpful. Overall I really like volunteering at pasado's a lot more now.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I think the changes have already been made recently.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

make a real difference in the daily lives of our animals. You can help by walking and helping to train dogs. Volunteers also work to socialize cats, and groom horses, llamas and sheep. Volunteer