Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
94 Reviews
123.8404345
Write A Review
March 3, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more

March 3, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

I have been volunteering for Pasados since fall. I fell in love with the work and dedication they have for all animals. My first experience with them was over a year ago when my family and I adopted Trooper a dog that was rescued and dying from Parvo. They saved him from death and now he is healthy and amazing. That is what brought me back to Pasados but this time I wanted to give my time and do what they did for my dog and that is cleaning, playing and just caring for the animals. I have started out my time with the cats at Kitty City. I met the cat lead who was amazing and did a great job showing me what I needed to do to help the animals. As a volunteer we don't always have the most fun jobs. But if you know having animals isn't always fun. They need the litter changed, clean beds, clean water, a clean floor. I don't mind doing this work because it helps the other workers and care givers have time for responsibilities that we as volunteers cannot do. I was even taught how to take the blood sugar on a cat who has diabetes because I come in as early as 6 before the care takes can do their rounds. I was taught this because I was there one morning and he was throwing up and I was worried. I was able to reach the lead and she was minutes away. She then showed me what to do if I found him doing this or other symptoms she described and if it was at specific levels what to do at that point. She did a great job helping me be able to help the cats if an emergency happened and I was they only one in Kitty City. I was shown the ER number that I was also instructed to call at that point in time as well.
I was trained to help with a new program that she started for the cats that needed special attention with socializing, I loved this because I learned about animal behavior and how to gain their trust. I saw a cat that has been at Pasados for a few years and would never come to a human, blossom into an amazingly affectionate soul. He just surprised me. Also a cat that has a very special personality got adopted!!!! That is amazing because I thought for sure she would never get a family and home because she was not your typical lovey cat.
Pasados is running their rescue and sanctuary on a small staff and volunteers. They need more help and I can see that some people may think they can do better. Here is the thing, they are doing the best they can and those animals have clean beds, water, and attention and a home with people who love them. They receive medical care and yes I wish there was more time for love to spread around. I think if we looked at this as we are here for the animals then we would see it differently. These animals have a shot at life and love.
I do know that Pasados tries to educate people on the way animals are treated for dairy and slaughter. Because isn't that what they do, they love and save all animals they can. I am not a vegan and I have never been told or made to feel as though I am a bad person or I cannot be there to help. The cat lead who is now the animal care giver has never made me feel like I was unwelcome to help or has tried to make me vegan.
I think the current animal care giver is trying her hardest to make everything work. I will have you know that back a month or so ago that they were understaffed and trying their hardest to do everything they could for the animals. Their mission is to provide these animals with a beautiful life. They are doing their job, but they need help! Help from volunteers and donations.
I have been grateful to have been able to see what these people do. I have witnessed the result of animal cruelty and the love and care the animals get from being saved by Pasados.
Now for everyone who likes to nitpick others for their hard work I would like to say to you. Try working together as a team and create new ideas of how things can improve because we all know that there can always be improvements in what we do. We are not perfect, mistakes are made (by all), and forgiveness and team work needs to happen.
Lets get back to what we all want and that is to help and make a difference in animals lives. For those of you who want to sit in you negative thoughts that is your choice but I will always live to fight for those who can't. Not just animals but people who are being bullied by others. I feel as though a lot of the negative comments those have to say are very much bulling.
This is hard work and it isn't always glamorous, but it makes a difference to those we see when we go and clean, love on and play with at Pasados. Passion and determination for them is what should be in our hearts not being petty and bulling others.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Wish there was more help workers or volunteers. They need more help but are doing their best. :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I've been volunteering at pasado's for a few months now and I liked it when I first started. I really enjoyed coming and spending time with the animals, but I never knew what I was supposed to be doing. I could never find any of the caretakers and when I did they always treated me like I was a nuisance or like I was bothering them. I heard that most of the caretakers and the animal care manager left and ever since then I feel like I'm actually learning things and starting to be able to help more. I met the new animal care manager in kitty city and she was very helpful and friendly and told me exactly what I could do to help. The new caretakers are much more friendly and helpful. Overall I really like volunteering at pasado's a lot more now.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I think the changes have already been made recently.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 12, 2014
8 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 12, 2014
8 people found this review helpful

As a donor to Pasado’s Safe Haven I am deeply distressed by recent events. It is disingenuous to take in animals when you don’t have the resources and staff to care for them. Inadequate and untrained staff are not a part of the mission statement.
I have toured Pasado’s in the past. I
was impressed by the hard working and conscientious care givers. The facility was well maintained and the animals clearly attended to. Management has changed, and clearly priorities have changed as well. It has become more important to dictate the dietary requirements of the staff on site then to ensure the needs of the animals. As a manager of nurses I clearly do not see the logic in this. What someone eats does not effect their ability to be a compassionate and caring animal caretaker. If you went to a hospital and only wanted vegan nurses you would not receive the optimal care you deserve. Caregivers should be evaluated on skill, honesty, experience, qualifications and ability to work as a team member.
This is an unfortunate and sad event for Pasado’s. I will no longer be contributing to Pasado’s and I would encourage others to do the same.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would reevaluate the management, work with the Board of Directors, and get input from the actual caregivers. I would also find out what similar organizations are doing. Can you actually care for all the animals you are taking in, or are you contributing to their demise?

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 10, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

more

February 10, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

Upper management and the board seem to only care about a few things: Money and good publicity. The only ones who seem to care are the caregivers, and unfortunately, most of them were driven out due to the hostile work environment imposed upon them by the executive director and the new - highly unqualified - animal care manager. Wake up and smell the roses, Pasados. If vegan is the direction you are going, and if you want to try to force the animals and everyone who comes on site to abide by that, then most of the volunteers and many staff members should be eliminated to go along with your new extremist ways. In fact, since you seem so intent on attempting to feed vegan food, then it is my personal belief that you should not have or rescue carnivores or omnivores, as that does not "align with your mission". Thus, no more dogs, cats, pigs, birds of any kind, or horses. Stop making the animals suffer because of your own personal beliefs. If you intend on being voices for the animals, then you must have the correct voice and allow them to do and eat what is natural to them so that they can live long, healthy (as healthy as they can get at Pasados) lives. Also, knock it off with all of the lying. Tinsel the cat, who was said to have broken both of her legs, was 100% healthy! Her only issue was that she needed to get spayed and have updated vaccines. Otherwise, she was a happy, playful, healthy cat! Clearly, nobody on the investigative end or the advertising end did their part there. One look at that cat, and you know she's fine, and yet the investigator insisted that her legs were broken. Is this person so incompetent that they would mistake a healthy, unbroken cat for one with not one, but TWO broken legs? Why has nobody questioned this?! Honestly, I could go on and on and on and on about this corrupt organization and the asinine people who are running it (into the ground), but it would only make me even more irritated. Especially seeing all of the sad, blind people who are giving this place more stars than it clearly deserves. Who knows, maybe all of those ratings and stars were given by the same people who are in charge? With all of the backhanded lies and manipulation I've seen stemming out like toxic smoke from this place, I wouldn't doubt it for a second. Trust me, people, this is only the tip of the ice burg of what Pasados is hiding from you. Do not believe everything you see and hear, no matter how pretty their words are.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change out management with someone competent and open minded. Either knock it off with the vegan propaganda, or go all the way so that no omnivores or carnivores have to suffer under the vegan wrath. Get more qualified staff members. Reveal the truth, and nothing but the truth, to the public.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 10, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

more

February 10, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

As a donor to Pasado's, I am excited to see the organization aligning to its core mission of ending animal cruelty - in all its forms. I know there have been some staffing changes as this alignment takes shape, which I think is healthy for the organization and at the end of the day is the best thing for the animals. I know that the employees who remain at Pasado's are excited about where the organization is headed and are focused on the important work at hand. Keep up the great work!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 10, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

more

February 10, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

Pasado's Safe Haven is dedicated to ending animal cruelty - in all its forms. I applaud work the organization is doing to align to this mission - including ensuring that all staff are onboard as well. I've seen really positive changes at the organization over the last 6 months and I like the direction it is headed. As a donor and a volunteer I can say that this organization has a lean and dedicated staff who are always looking to make things better for animals. I feel good about contributing both time and money to Pasado's and will continue to do so.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 9, 2014
6 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 9, 2014
6 people found this review helpful

I am very disappointed in Pasados. It has a good mission and idea but has completely messed up in the follow through. The people in charge of the overall decisions are completely out of touch with the day to day running of the facility and expect the caretakers to do more work than is physically possible in a day. Because of this some of the animals are kept in substandard conditions. The office staff and board of directors need to come to their senses. Hiring more staff would be a step in the right direction, but they need to hire people who actually have experience working in this field, not just people who care about animals in the abstract.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

hire an animal care manager who has experience in this field and has worked at a rescue before.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 9, 2014
7 people found this review helpful

more

February 9, 2014
7 people found this review helpful

I fully agree with fortheanimals1 on all accounts. I was also was once just like everyone else here who has given Pasados a score anywhere above 1 star. If I could, I would give them no stars. Some may just pass this off and disregard this and others' review as just a singular disgruntled volunteer or employee, but I urge all donators to listen before they shuffle out their money carelessly. I urge them to visit the site and explore on their own without the corrupt executive director on their heals, blinding them with sweet words of manipulation and false truths as she is so good at doing. She, as well as the new animal care manager have no experience with animals, and do not understand what it means to be in charge of so many animals and how much their poor decisions impact the ones who do not have a voice. Even the board of directors, as far as volunteers and most employees are concerned, are faceless shadows in the background that rarely if ever actually visit the site and meet the ones such as the caretakers that work directly with the animals in the mud and feces, and that only ever speak up if they decide that humans should conform to the vegan way of life, whether they or their health like it or not. If those people are the voice for the animals, as it has shown to be - because of course, the pleas and cries of the caretakers are consistently and constantly ignored - then those animals are surely doomed to die. I have recently heard that three kittens, in fact, have died, thanks to the lack of protocol-following on the part of the animal care manager, whose "management experience" was in a Victoria's secret. What? How, in sanity's name, does that make her even a little bit qualified to be in charge of caretakers and 200+ animals, especially when she couldn't even perform the slightest tasks when she was cat lead. Pasados has the potential to be a great rescue, but it has to start from the board of directors and work its way down through so-called management. Again, I urge all donators and anyone who thinks about writing a review for this organization to take a look - a good look - past the lies and manipulation into the truth of what is actually going on there.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Replace the Board with people who have faces and actually visit and care. Replace the Executive Director with someone with experience who won't so comfortably out-right lie to people. Replace the Animal Care Manager with someone - anyone - with animal care experience, who will follow protocols and act as a team member with the other caretakers. Give the caretakers more pull and power so that the animals there no longer have to suffer under the wrath of poor management.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 9, 2014
6 people found this review helpful

more

February 9, 2014
6 people found this review helpful

Like many people, my experience with Pasado’s started off positive. I was impressed with the passion for animal welfare shown by all of the staff, and by how well the animals appeared to be cared for. However, as time went on, I became disenchanted with Pasado’s for many reasons. The number one reason for my disenchantment was the lack of follow through in the life of an animal once it was brought to the organization. All of the focus was on the immediate rescue—the glory of removing an animal from a terrible situation. Once the animal was on the property, however, it was forgotten by everyone except the caretakers who took care of it on a daily basis, often at the cost of taking time and care away from other animals. The caretakers were the ones who had to watch as animals suffered due to inadequate care because there were not enough resources or time to take care of everyone properly, despite putting in hours and hours of overtime every week. Despite being constantly short staffed, animals continued to come in, against the protests of the people who actually knew and worked with the animals every day. Conditions continued to worsen as the number of animals increased and the number of caretakers decreased.
Another reason I became disenchanted with Pasado’s was the enforcement of the vegan policy, even when it led to a direct negative impact on the animals. While already two caretakers short staffed, a perfectly capable and qualified caretaker was “let go” for storing a non-vegan item on site. There were no intermediate steps in the process—no verbal warnings, no written write-ups. She was just fired. How on earth does firing a skilled caretaker who took exemplary care of the animals benefit anyone? In all seriousness, can anyone explain how any animals, onsite or out in the world, benefitted from that action? Is the “mission” of being vegan really more important than providing care for the animals that Pasado’s has taken responsibility for?
The final, and most pressing cause of disenchantment for me, was the promotion of a completely inexperienced, unqualified individual as the Interim Animal Care Manager. As a caretaker, she had already proved herself to be inadequate by failing to provide appropriate care to the animals for which she was responsible. She was not experienced enough to know how important it was to inform the veterinarian that a cat (Harvey Dent) was vomiting and had diarrhea for three days, which resulted in him not being treated for Panleukopenia (kitty Parvo) until he was already critically ill, and very nearly died because of it. She never actually learned how to take care of all the animals on the property, despite the fact that she is now responsible for making decisions about the care of every animal at Pasado’s. Her so-called “managerial experience” supposedly qualified her for the position, but she did not prove to be competent in that area either. She neglected to inform multiple caretakers, on multiple occasions, that she switched their days off, in addition to scheduling people to work six, seven, or even eight days in a row without consulting them first. If she doesn’t know how to take care of animals, and clearly doesn’t know how to manage people, why is she still in this position with a strong potential for a permanent promotion? The only reason I can see is that she is vegan, and therefore “more aligned with the mission” than any of the other caretakers (who all had more professional animal care experience than her,) who are not vegan. Pasado’s may as well put an addendum on all of the new job postings that says, “Non-vegans (no matter how well qualified) need not apply,” because that is where the organization is going.
In addition to the Interim Animal Care Manager having no animal care experience, the Executive Director also has absolutely no experience with running an animal shelter. How does the Board of Directors rationalize putting people with no knowledge of animals into power? What right do they have to make decisions about animal care when they have no notion of the consequences of their choices? Their lack of understanding has already led to a dramatic decrease in standards of animal care, and I can only imagine that they will continue slipping.
Don’t just take my word for it—please take a look behind the pretty picture that Pasado’s paints on its website and on social media. The reality is a much darker image than the one presented to the public.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change the focus back to taking proper care of the animals, not misleading and painting a pretty picture for the public. Stop firing staff over trivial matters, and start firing people for important issues, such as nearly killing animals and failing to perform basic job duties.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 27, 2014
6 people found this review helpful

more

January 27, 2014
6 people found this review helpful

Pasado's is a great rescue and far exceeds my expectations. I would give it a 10 star if I could. It's unfortunate that Beaarthur hasn't had the same experience that I've had at Pasado's. I've had the pleasure of meeting Matt McNaughton, Stacie Martin, Joan Eads and Laura Henderson. Their hearts and minds are in the right place; none of these people are ruthless or not care about the animals. Regardless of previous employees, it's time to move on and continue the rescue work at this amazing sanctuary. Just because one employee leaves, doesn't mean we should discontinue the rescue. I can't take the exemployee or exvolunteer, Beaarthur, comments seriously because this toxic person is only hurting herself and the animals. Beaarthur continues to attempt to poison the well in various media ways and try to bring down Pasado's, which is just plain sad. So her good friends no longer work at Pasado's...that doesn't mean that Pasado's is doomed to fail or should stop rescuing. Beaarthur hopes Pasado's won't exist, and what a sad state of mind to be in. Pasado's started for reason and it continues its mission because of the public. The public, the donors and the people all over the country believe in Pasado's mission and work. And why wouldn't they? This rescue has placed numerous of abusers in jail, convicted and won many cases and has been a safe haven for thousands of animals. Everyone is welcome to tour the grounds and meet the animals. Life is about loving, caring, laughing, smiling, forgiving, helping, and more loving. Life is too short to try to bring the good down. Choose to help those who cannot help themselves (animals, children, the planet). Choose to be a positive influence, not a negative nelly. Choose love. We have one life to live---live it wisely. I choose to help rescue animals at Pasado's safe haven. It's worth it. Pasado's and its animals are inspirational. Come see for yourself and be apart of something awesome.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

make a real difference in the daily lives of our animals. You can help by walking and helping to train dogs. Volunteers also work to socialize cats, and groom horses, llamas and sheep. Volunteer