Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
94 Reviews
123.8404345
| 1 2 3...10 |
Write A Review
July 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

14 years ago I had the opportunity to volunteer at Pasados Safe Haven with the veterinarian I was working for. Their care, compassion and concern for the well-being of the animals was exponential and impressed me then. They continue to do great work by advocating for animal welfare and to educate the public. Pasados has helped to fill a void that is badly needed, a mobile spay/neuter/vaccine service for people who cannot afford basic veterinary care for their pets. I believe in what they do.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2000

July 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Watching the work done by the members of Pasados is astounding. They care deeply for the neediest creatures on our planet. They do a vital service not just for the animals in their care but for humanity.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them fund raise more to ensure the masses know about Prasado and how important they are to our community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I adore Pasados. I volunteered during the Katrina disaster. While there, I had the opportunity to meet the leaders, staff and other volunteers. The work they do there is solid and with the highest ethics. They truly are a voice for those who have little or none. I only wish I could continue to commit time to volunteer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2005

July 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Pasados is about giving a voice to the abused and neglected animals. I am proud to support this charity that helps so many animals

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 5, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 5, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I spent a few months this summer as an intern at Pasado's, and I absolutely LOVED it. As interns, we worked half the day directly with the animals and half of the day with Dana as our manager. I learned an incredible amount and loved the variety of tasks I was able to help with. All of the staff were very caring and helpful, and Dana especially was wonderful to work with. She set clear expectations and was available for questions if necessary. I would definitely recommend Pasado's to future volunteers and interns!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 9, 2014
7 people found this review helpful

more

March 9, 2014
7 people found this review helpful

There is something deeply, deeply wrong with this organization, and I will no longer be giving my time and money to this place. Animals are being neglected, staff is being threatened, and Pasado's continues to take in donor dollars to pay the ridiculous salaries of the inept people in charge. I recently learned that the ENTIRE animal care and vet staff (eight people!!!) has left over the mistreatment of the animals. This sounds like a heck of a lot more than just a couple of disgruntled former employees to me. Something does not smell right at Pasado's, and the stench is not coming from the barns. I regret giving my time and money to this place, because it was used so inappropriately.
March 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

LOVE Pasado's! I volunteer every Saturday and look forward to my shifts! Pasado's is a great rescue and wish I could volunteer more often! I highly recommend volunteering here!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The BEST decision I've made in a long time is my decision to volunteer at Pasado's Safe Haven!

I have been thoroughly impressed with the level of professionalism and knowledge of all of staff members that I have had interaction with - including, Dana, Sarah, Dani, Carolin, Heidi, and
Brooke. When I am at the sanctuary I can easily see and feel the love the staff has for the animals and think that is phenomenal!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

increase the number of caretaker staff, which I know Pasado's is currently in the process of doing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been volunteering for Pasados since fall. I fell in love with the work and dedication they have for all animals. My first experience with them was over a year ago when my family and I adopted Trooper a dog that was rescued and dying from Parvo. They saved him from death and now he is healthy and amazing. That is what brought me back to Pasados but this time I wanted to give my time and do what they did for my dog and that is cleaning, playing and just caring for the animals. I have started out my time with the cats at Kitty City. I met the cat lead who was amazing and did a great job showing me what I needed to do to help the animals. As a volunteer we don't always have the most fun jobs. But if you know having animals isn't always fun. They need the litter changed, clean beds, clean water, a clean floor. I don't mind doing this work because it helps the other workers and care givers have time for responsibilities that we as volunteers cannot do. I was even taught how to take the blood sugar on a cat who has diabetes because I come in as early as 6 before the care takes can do their rounds. I was taught this because I was there one morning and he was throwing up and I was worried. I was able to reach the lead and she was minutes away. She then showed me what to do if I found him doing this or other symptoms she described and if it was at specific levels what to do at that point. She did a great job helping me be able to help the cats if an emergency happened and I was they only one in Kitty City. I was shown the ER number that I was also instructed to call at that point in time as well.
I was trained to help with a new program that she started for the cats that needed special attention with socializing, I loved this because I learned about animal behavior and how to gain their trust. I saw a cat that has been at Pasados for a few years and would never come to a human, blossom into an amazingly affectionate soul. He just surprised me. Also a cat that has a very special personality got adopted!!!! That is amazing because I thought for sure she would never get a family and home because she was not your typical lovey cat.
Pasados is running their rescue and sanctuary on a small staff and volunteers. They need more help and I can see that some people may think they can do better. Here is the thing, they are doing the best they can and those animals have clean beds, water, and attention and a home with people who love them. They receive medical care and yes I wish there was more time for love to spread around. I think if we looked at this as we are here for the animals then we would see it differently. These animals have a shot at life and love.
I do know that Pasados tries to educate people on the way animals are treated for dairy and slaughter. Because isn't that what they do, they love and save all animals they can. I am not a vegan and I have never been told or made to feel as though I am a bad person or I cannot be there to help. The cat lead who is now the animal care giver has never made me feel like I was unwelcome to help or has tried to make me vegan.
I think the current animal care giver is trying her hardest to make everything work. I will have you know that back a month or so ago that they were understaffed and trying their hardest to do everything they could for the animals. Their mission is to provide these animals with a beautiful life. They are doing their job, but they need help! Help from volunteers and donations.
I have been grateful to have been able to see what these people do. I have witnessed the result of animal cruelty and the love and care the animals get from being saved by Pasados.
Now for everyone who likes to nitpick others for their hard work I would like to say to you. Try working together as a team and create new ideas of how things can improve because we all know that there can always be improvements in what we do. We are not perfect, mistakes are made (by all), and forgiveness and team work needs to happen.
Lets get back to what we all want and that is to help and make a difference in animals lives. For those of you who want to sit in you negative thoughts that is your choice but I will always live to fight for those who can't. Not just animals but people who are being bullied by others. I feel as though a lot of the negative comments those have to say are very much bulling.
This is hard work and it isn't always glamorous, but it makes a difference to those we see when we go and clean, love on and play with at Pasados. Passion and determination for them is what should be in our hearts not being petty and bulling others.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Wish there was more help workers or volunteers. They need more help but are doing their best. :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 3, 2014

more

March 3, 2014

I've been volunteering at pasado's for a few months now and I liked it when I first started. I really enjoyed coming and spending time with the animals, but I never knew what I was supposed to be doing. I could never find any of the caretakers and when I did they always treated me like I was a nuisance or like I was bothering them. I heard that most of the caretakers and the animal care manager left and ever since then I feel like I'm actually learning things and starting to be able to help more. I met the new animal care manager in kitty city and she was very helpful and friendly and told me exactly what I could do to help. The new caretakers are much more friendly and helpful. Overall I really like volunteering at pasado's a lot more now.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I think the changes have already been made recently.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

make a real difference in the daily lives of our animals. You can help by walking and helping to train dogs. Volunteers also work to socialize cats, and groom horses, llamas and sheep. Volunteer