Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
80 Reviews
123.787545
| 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review
February 9, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 9, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

I am very disappointed in Pasados. It has a good mission and idea but has completely messed up in the follow through. The people in charge of the overall decisions are completely out of touch with the day to day running of the facility and expect the caretakers to do more work than is physically possible in a day. Because of this some of the animals are kept in substandard conditions. The office staff and board of directors need to come to their senses. Hiring more staff would be a step in the right direction, but they need to hire people who actually have experience working in this field, not just people who care about animals in the abstract.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

hire an animal care manager who has experience in this field and has worked at a rescue before.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 9, 2014
6 people found this review helpful

more

February 9, 2014
6 people found this review helpful

I fully agree with fortheanimals1 on all accounts. I was also was once just like everyone else here who has given Pasados a score anywhere above 1 star. If I could, I would give them no stars. Some may just pass this off and disregard this and others' review as just a singular disgruntled volunteer or employee, but I urge all donators to listen before they shuffle out their money carelessly. I urge them to visit the site and explore on their own without the corrupt executive director on their heals, blinding them with sweet words of manipulation and false truths as she is so good at doing. She, as well as the new animal care manager have no experience with animals, and do not understand what it means to be in charge of so many animals and how much their poor decisions impact the ones who do not have a voice. Even the board of directors, as far as volunteers and most employees are concerned, are faceless shadows in the background that rarely if ever actually visit the site and meet the ones such as the caretakers that work directly with the animals in the mud and feces, and that only ever speak up if they decide that humans should conform to the vegan way of life, whether they or their health like it or not. If those people are the voice for the animals, as it has shown to be - because of course, the pleas and cries of the caretakers are consistently and constantly ignored - then those animals are surely doomed to die. I have recently heard that three kittens, in fact, have died, thanks to the lack of protocol-following on the part of the animal care manager, whose "management experience" was in a Victoria's secret. What? How, in sanity's name, does that make her even a little bit qualified to be in charge of caretakers and 200+ animals, especially when she couldn't even perform the slightest tasks when she was cat lead. Pasados has the potential to be a great rescue, but it has to start from the board of directors and work its way down through so-called management. Again, I urge all donators and anyone who thinks about writing a review for this organization to take a look - a good look - past the lies and manipulation into the truth of what is actually going on there.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Replace the Board with people who have faces and actually visit and care. Replace the Executive Director with someone with experience who won't so comfortably out-right lie to people. Replace the Animal Care Manager with someone - anyone - with animal care experience, who will follow protocols and act as a team member with the other caretakers. Give the caretakers more pull and power so that the animals there no longer have to suffer under the wrath of poor management.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 9, 2014
6 people found this review helpful

more

February 9, 2014
6 people found this review helpful

Like many people, my experience with Pasado’s started off positive. I was impressed with the passion for animal welfare shown by all of the staff, and by how well the animals appeared to be cared for. However, as time went on, I became disenchanted with Pasado’s for many reasons. The number one reason for my disenchantment was the lack of follow through in the life of an animal once it was brought to the organization. All of the focus was on the immediate rescue—the glory of removing an animal from a terrible situation. Once the animal was on the property, however, it was forgotten by everyone except the caretakers who took care of it on a daily basis, often at the cost of taking time and care away from other animals. The caretakers were the ones who had to watch as animals suffered due to inadequate care because there were not enough resources or time to take care of everyone properly, despite putting in hours and hours of overtime every week. Despite being constantly short staffed, animals continued to come in, against the protests of the people who actually knew and worked with the animals every day. Conditions continued to worsen as the number of animals increased and the number of caretakers decreased.
Another reason I became disenchanted with Pasado’s was the enforcement of the vegan policy, even when it led to a direct negative impact on the animals. While already two caretakers short staffed, a perfectly capable and qualified caretaker was “let go” for storing a non-vegan item on site. There were no intermediate steps in the process—no verbal warnings, no written write-ups. She was just fired. How on earth does firing a skilled caretaker who took exemplary care of the animals benefit anyone? In all seriousness, can anyone explain how any animals, onsite or out in the world, benefitted from that action? Is the “mission” of being vegan really more important than providing care for the animals that Pasado’s has taken responsibility for?
The final, and most pressing cause of disenchantment for me, was the promotion of a completely inexperienced, unqualified individual as the Interim Animal Care Manager. As a caretaker, she had already proved herself to be inadequate by failing to provide appropriate care to the animals for which she was responsible. She was not experienced enough to know how important it was to inform the veterinarian that a cat (Harvey Dent) was vomiting and had diarrhea for three days, which resulted in him not being treated for Panleukopenia (kitty Parvo) until he was already critically ill, and very nearly died because of it. She never actually learned how to take care of all the animals on the property, despite the fact that she is now responsible for making decisions about the care of every animal at Pasado’s. Her so-called “managerial experience” supposedly qualified her for the position, but she did not prove to be competent in that area either. She neglected to inform multiple caretakers, on multiple occasions, that she switched their days off, in addition to scheduling people to work six, seven, or even eight days in a row without consulting them first. If she doesn’t know how to take care of animals, and clearly doesn’t know how to manage people, why is she still in this position with a strong potential for a permanent promotion? The only reason I can see is that she is vegan, and therefore “more aligned with the mission” than any of the other caretakers (who all had more professional animal care experience than her,) who are not vegan. Pasado’s may as well put an addendum on all of the new job postings that says, “Non-vegans (no matter how well qualified) need not apply,” because that is where the organization is going.
In addition to the Interim Animal Care Manager having no animal care experience, the Executive Director also has absolutely no experience with running an animal shelter. How does the Board of Directors rationalize putting people with no knowledge of animals into power? What right do they have to make decisions about animal care when they have no notion of the consequences of their choices? Their lack of understanding has already led to a dramatic decrease in standards of animal care, and I can only imagine that they will continue slipping.
Don’t just take my word for it—please take a look behind the pretty picture that Pasado’s paints on its website and on social media. The reality is a much darker image than the one presented to the public.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change the focus back to taking proper care of the animals, not misleading and painting a pretty picture for the public. Stop firing staff over trivial matters, and start firing people for important issues, such as nearly killing animals and failing to perform basic job duties.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 27, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more

January 27, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

Pasado's is a great rescue and far exceeds my expectations. I would give it a 10 star if I could. It's unfortunate that Beaarthur hasn't had the same experience that I've had at Pasado's. I've had the pleasure of meeting Matt McNaughton, Stacie Martin, Joan Eads and Laura Henderson. Their hearts and minds are in the right place; none of these people are ruthless or not care about the animals. Regardless of previous employees, it's time to move on and continue the rescue work at this amazing sanctuary. Just because one employee leaves, doesn't mean we should discontinue the rescue. I can't take the exemployee or exvolunteer, Beaarthur, comments seriously because this toxic person is only hurting herself and the animals. Beaarthur continues to attempt to poison the well in various media ways and try to bring down Pasado's, which is just plain sad. So her good friends no longer work at Pasado's...that doesn't mean that Pasado's is doomed to fail or should stop rescuing. Beaarthur hopes Pasado's won't exist, and what a sad state of mind to be in. Pasado's started for reason and it continues its mission because of the public. The public, the donors and the people all over the country believe in Pasado's mission and work. And why wouldn't they? This rescue has placed numerous of abusers in jail, convicted and won many cases and has been a safe haven for thousands of animals. Everyone is welcome to tour the grounds and meet the animals. Life is about loving, caring, laughing, smiling, forgiving, helping, and more loving. Life is too short to try to bring the good down. Choose to help those who cannot help themselves (animals, children, the planet). Choose to be a positive influence, not a negative nelly. Choose love. We have one life to live---live it wisely. I choose to help rescue animals at Pasado's safe haven. It's worth it. Pasado's and its animals are inspirational. Come see for yourself and be apart of something awesome.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 26, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

January 26, 2014
3 people found this review helpful





My husband and I think so highly of Pasado’s Safe Haven that we recently took an out of town guest to see the facility. Our guest was impressed (as we knew she would be) by the level of care that these animals receive and the professional standards of the sanctuary grounds.
We are inspired by what Pasado's does and how effectively they do it and we will continue to donate to this worthy organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 26, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more

January 26, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

I am a volunteer and donor at Pasado’s Safe Haven. I am so thankful that there is such caring and effective non-profit in our area that takes in and cares for all of these abused and neglected animals. They do such amazing work with a lean, but dedicated staff. I know that Pasado’s depends solely on donations and the help of a whole lot of volunteers to do the difficult work they do, and I am more than happy to do my part.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 26, 2014
7 people found this review helpful

more

January 26, 2014
7 people found this review helpful

I am writing this as someone who works at Pasado’s and feels the truth needs to get out. This is not the “premiere rescue and rehabilitation organization” that it was even 2 years ago. After decline started after Matt McNaughton left and Joan Eads was brought in as the interim director. Between Linda LaMar and Joan they destroyed every great thing this organization had going for it. The Board allowed Joan to get rid of Stacie Martin, someone that that had been with Pasado’s either as a volunteer, a Board member or as their Director of Operations for 14 years. Stacie had made lasting connections with the animals, volunteers, donors and everyone that she came in contact with. Stacie was one of the best things of working at Pasado's.

Upon Stacie’s leaving (we were all told she had decided to move on, but anyone that knew her, knows she would never have made that decision!) Joan was allowed to put in that position someone that had no experience; someone that at one time actually said that he wanted to get rid of the logo because Pasado never lived there.

Shortly before Joan left and the new Executive Director started it was announced that she was a vegan and because of this; Pasado’s was going back to their policy of only allowing vegan food to be eaten on the premise. Another of the many strange things during this time was the interim director was pushing all of us to become vegan-meanwhile she was not and did not practice what she was preaching. After the new director Laura started, she encouraged all employees become vegans to the point that donor money was used to take us on a trip to the local store and show us how we could change our diets. The problem was that anyone who went on this trip received a $15.00 gift card that could be used to purchase any type of food! At the first meeting that the staff had with Laura, she shared her experience with us to show how she was qualified to perform the job. She said that she had done some volunteer work at the Humane Society and become a vegan. So that’s the qualifications needed to become the executive director of a non-profit animal rescue and rehabilitation organization!

Does anyone know that in the last 2 months-9 employees have left? With as small of a staff as Pasado’s this is a huge loss. Anyone that donates, volunteers, or believes that this is an incredible organization needs to stop and think about a few things: #1-why would an employee share this? #2 – why would so many employees leave in such a short amount of time? #3-WHAT’S GOING ON OUT THERE!

I beg you, keep your money and demand answers! Look beyond the smoke and mirrors and help get these incredible animals out of here now. I believe with every part of my soul that Pasado’s will not be here in 2 years, if that long. What will happen to the animals then? We need to find them homes before something bad happens!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Bring back Stacie Martin, get an entire new Board of Directors.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I recently learned about Pasado's in the media last week and was blown away by their activism and compassion. I followed their Facebook consistently for the donkey basketball game and so relieved that they cancelled it in Anacortes. I hated that game when my school had it in the 90s. The donkeys were not enjoying themselves. Thank you Pasado's for standing up and going against the norm. These donkey basketball games have gone on for TOO LONG! I continue to follow your Facebook page everyday and will be ready to write to the next school to cancel donkey basketball. I'm so impressed how much money Pasado's was able to raise in a small time for the food bank. Great job! Keep up the amazing work for these animals and informing the public about them.

Donate here it's worth the cause.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I hope they can rescue these donkeys from donkey sports

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 29, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 29, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

My students and I visited Pasado's Safe Haven twice in October and November for our Volunteer Service Day. The coordinator at Pasado's was very generous to let a second group tag along because their nonprofit organization backed out at the last minute. The 2nd group of kids wouldn't have had a Service Day if it wasn't for Pasado's. The kids had a blast while we scooped poop and cleaned pastures. Thank you Pasado's for the wonderful day! We will be back in January of 2014!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

change nothing

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 26, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 26, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Volunteer for 1 year. Volunteer coordinator has never been disrespectful to me or other volunteers that I’ve seen her talk to. She is always smiling and polite to the volunteers, staff and animals. I don’t know what Anonymously is seeing and probably isn’t volunteering at pasado’s anymore. The VC and staff are phenomenal. I will continue to support and volunteer at the haven. This organization is the most amazing rescue I have ever volunteered for.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

absolutely nothing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers