Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
94 Reviews
123.8404345
Write A Review
August 8, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

more

August 8, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

Despite the many positive reviews on this page--the vast majority of which were specifically requested from friends and family by current employees--this organization has no business being touted as a "great" anything. It lost its way many years ago and today should serve as nothing more than a warning to other animal welfare organizations, a warning of what you can become if you allow incompetent and selfish people to run an organization intended to benefit anyone but themselves.

Management is disingenuous, ridiculously overpaid (by personal request/demand, no less), and completely without original thought, creativity, or the ability to benefit the field of animal welfare in any meaningful way.

Employees are undereducated, disrespected, and, in turn, under-motivated--any commitment they had to animal rescue or proper animal care wholly shattered within their first weeks at Pasado's; like the organization, they quickly become a shell of their former abilities and ideals, mindlessly and minimally checking the boxes of their duties daily.

And, most disturbingly of all, the animals are just there. What once presented as a reprieve from the cruel world has now, for the majority of them, become nothing but a perpetuation of it. "Rescues" are rarely how they're portrayed, as management's singly most consistent ability seems to be word-play; and, those who are "rescued"--in any real sense of the word--live a life at Pasado's that should cause us to question the meaning of the word itself. Animals in need of vet care go without (like Whalen, the young calf "rescued" last year, who died at Pasado's without ever once seeing a vet); animals develop new health conditions from psychological turmoil (like Tipper, who is now on anxiety medication from being locked alone in a run for the last who knows how many months); animals are allowed to live in far sub-standard conditions (like the cows, who have no meaningful shelter of any kind)...all while donor money, intended to remedy these exact types of issues, goes into other pockets, literally. If any of these residents could talk, they would ask if the term "sanctuary" is being used tongue in cheek.

If you want to help local animals, donate somewhere where both the human and non-human beings are respected and cared for properly and where the goal of reducing animal cruelty is truly a possibility, and not just a fundraising tagline. Check out Pigs Peace Sanctuary and MEOW Cat Rescue for starters, and you'll see the difference immediately...

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 30, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 30, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I knew the donkey named Pasado who used to live in peace at a farm near a city.
I was outraged at his senseless death, but inspired by the group who took his name and changed history.
I am so proud of the ceaseless, selfless work that this non profit has done for my state of Washington.
Crimes against animals are now punishable by real jail time, removal of the abused, and fines to hit places like puppy mills hardest.
I understand completely Pasado's use of the media to spread news of abusers; I am impressed by the Spay Station and ALL volunteers. They get the farm work, educational tours, rescues, court appearances and, fostering, spaying and neutering DONE. DAILY. Dedicated and deserving of any award.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue to encourage volunteers-they are the heart and soul of any non profit

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 30, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 30, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

14 years ago I had the opportunity to volunteer at Pasados Safe Haven with the veterinarian I was working for. Their care, compassion and concern for the well-being of the animals was exponential and impressed me then. They continue to do great work by advocating for animal welfare and to educate the public. Pasados has helped to fill a void that is badly needed, a mobile spay/neuter/vaccine service for people who cannot afford basic veterinary care for their pets. I believe in what they do.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2000

July 30, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 30, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Watching the work done by the members of Pasados is astounding. They care deeply for the neediest creatures on our planet. They do a vital service not just for the animals in their care but for humanity.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them fund raise more to ensure the masses know about Prasado and how important they are to our community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 30, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

July 30, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

I adore Pasados. I volunteered during the Katrina disaster. While there, I had the opportunity to meet the leaders, staff and other volunteers. The work they do there is solid and with the highest ethics. They truly are a voice for those who have little or none. I only wish I could continue to commit time to volunteer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2005

July 29, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

July 29, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

Pasados is about giving a voice to the abused and neglected animals. I am proud to support this charity that helps so many animals

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 5, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

more

April 5, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

I spent a few months this summer as an intern at Pasado's, and I absolutely LOVED it. As interns, we worked half the day directly with the animals and half of the day with Dana as our manager. I learned an incredible amount and loved the variety of tasks I was able to help with. All of the staff were very caring and helpful, and Dana especially was wonderful to work with. She set clear expectations and was available for questions if necessary. I would definitely recommend Pasado's to future volunteers and interns!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 9, 2014
9 people found this review helpful

more

March 9, 2014
9 people found this review helpful

There is something deeply, deeply wrong with this organization, and I will no longer be giving my time and money to this place. Animals are being neglected, staff is being threatened, and Pasado's continues to take in donor dollars to pay the ridiculous salaries of the inept people in charge. I recently learned that the ENTIRE animal care and vet staff (eight people!!!) has left over the mistreatment of the animals. This sounds like a heck of a lot more than just a couple of disgruntled former employees to me. Something does not smell right at Pasado's, and the stench is not coming from the barns. I regret giving my time and money to this place, because it was used so inappropriately.
March 7, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more

March 7, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

LOVE Pasado's! I volunteer every Saturday and look forward to my shifts! Pasado's is a great rescue and wish I could volunteer more often! I highly recommend volunteering here!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 4, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more

March 4, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

The BEST decision I've made in a long time is my decision to volunteer at Pasado's Safe Haven!

I have been thoroughly impressed with the level of professionalism and knowledge of all of staff members that I have had interaction with - including, Dana, Sarah, Dani, Carolin, Heidi, and
Brooke. When I am at the sanctuary I can easily see and feel the love the staff has for the animals and think that is phenomenal!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

increase the number of caretaker staff, which I know Pasado's is currently in the process of doing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

make a real difference in the daily lives of our animals. You can help by walking and helping to train dogs. Volunteers also work to socialize cats, and groom horses, llamas and sheep. Volunteer