Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
94 Reviews
123.8404345
Write A Review
December 13, 2014

more

December 13, 2014

I volunteer for Pasado's mobile spay/neuter clinic intended to assist the low income residents of King County. There is also one for Pierce County. I have extensive experience with medical care for animals from working at a vet and owning a farm, so I thought I'd try out offering some hours as a volunteer. My supervisor/trainer is very sweet and very good at dealing with the public, I have learned so much from her and am very thankful for each opportunity I'm given. The amount of patience she has is astounding because I normally dislike working with the public. It can be very nice when you are thanked and appreciated but when you are on the receiving end of rudeness or someone doesn't listen to instructions or what have you, it can really bring you down and make you want to quit. Yet the employees continue on with their life's passion. I have no doubt that they could be making more money with a different medical facility but I have to admit, it 's kind of fun assisting with surgeries inside the back of a custom mobile home, so there are perks!
So I've read some other reviews including negative ones and wanted to tell others of my experience with this organization. I have worked with only educated, intelligent professionals that are caring and helpful. If there is any comment to be had of volunteer turnover, it is only that it is the nature of volunteers to come and go. It is amazing how our volunteer coordinator can schedule that many volunteers not truly knowing if they might flake out and not show up. She deserves a medal!
As to any comments about the earnings of board members or whatever, considering the amount of work it takes to run a company - let alone, a nonprofit, several animal medical clinics, rescue facilities, and forge then KEEP relationships with other animal welfare services and donors.. they deserve a hell of a lot more than $63K or even $100K, whichever it is in 2015.
I look forward to many more hours volunteering with these great people at a great nonprofit. Thank you to everyone there and the other volunteers that give their time, as well as those who cannot offer their time so they offer monetary donations instead.
October 5, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 5, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I support this wonderful organization, Pasado Safe Haven. If anyone deserves higher salaries it is people like them.They bear witness and is a voice to animal suffering, they take action to end it forever, and send out an energy field of love and compassion to comfort these Farm Animals. I support them because what they do must transform the hearts and souls of those who support the cruelty of all animals. I donate when i can, because i am humbled for the work they do.
August 14, 2014
8 people found this review helpful

more

August 14, 2014
8 people found this review helpful

Just some quick, but important clarifications, for previous posters:

The $63,000 figure you report was the salary of Pasado's Interim Executive Director; if you dig a little deeper, you'll find that the organization's current Executive Director makes over $100,000. Not quite as comparable
with other rescue organizations...

As a past insider, I can assure you that the vast majority of employees were not "pushed out" due to the organization's vegan policy. Although this policy remained somewhat contentious among the staff, the mass exodus of employees from late 2013 to early 2014 stemmed from animal care failings and management wrongs committed against fellow employees--the type of people who recognize that equality campaigns lack tenacity and integrity if lacking inclusivity (i.e., that the humans involved in the campaigns must also be treated with respect and fairness), often refuse to continue working in environments that have not yet grasped this fundamental concept. And, even those who overlook this hypocrisy, simply cannot stand by and watch rescued animals receive sub-par care from an organization that claims to and can afford to do right (in fact, goes so far as to claim itself a "premier" national animal rescue organization).

Finally, I think it's unfair to claim that those critical of this organization have an "axe to grind". This site is about bringing to light things that those outside of organizations would not know, which, unfortunately in the case of certain non-profits, are ugly; but that doesn't make them less true and, by some accounts, makes them even more important to voice. It's great for you if you're a supporter of the organization, but reporting false information and directly relaying the hollow words of current management, while criticizing those who have important information to share, doesn't help the animals or support the purpose of this webpage...except from Pasado's perspective, given management's adoration of easily-achievable accolades that require no proof of fitness (like the "Great Nonprofits" stamp, earned by positive comments from unidentifiable members of the public, who are too often current employees and their family members).

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 14, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

August 14, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

Before starting to volunteer at Pasado's, I read about the trouble its founders (no longer there) had with the state and found that its new CEO's pay ($63K/year) was the same or less than that of other sanctuaries this size. I also saw a few negative comments here and so read further. It seems the new CEO pushed out some people who insisted on eating animal flesh and secretions while on the grounds of a sanctuary that's attempting to save animals from that exact fate. Good for her! So I started volunteering -- and I have loved it and seen the new management make the most wonderful changes for the animals in terms of space, the expertise and passion of employees, and the overall quality of care. I'm surprised the critics continue to grind their axes here. Very selfish. I hope they'll move on, for the sake of the animals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Wish that prior management hadn't chosen workers and volunteers who are so proud and hellbent on having their way/eating meat that they can't see they're ultimately hurting the animals.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 13, 2014
9 people found this review helpful

more

August 13, 2014
9 people found this review helpful

Yesterday, Pasado's asked its supporters to post positive sentiments on this site, its go-to tactic to obscure those candid, know-too-much reviews that expose this organization for the sham that it is. I used to support this organization before seeing behind it's elaborately constructed and aggressively guarded veil, and I only wish that I had come into the know before devoting so much of my time and money to it. So, if you're just like me, and want to help local animals, please consider the following.

There is no denying that its supposed mission is a worthy one: rescuing animals and preventing animal cruelty. Almost no one would oppose this goal. But, unfortunately, it's exactly this kind of visceral support that greedy, soulless organizations like Pasado's rely on to maintain their presence. What members of the public need to focus on is not the words of Pasado's, not the organization's hollow expression of intent, but it actions. Because the reality is that, in today's world, every legitimate animal rescue is overcompensated for by scores of bogus ones, and those of us who truly wish to help the animals through the donation of our limited time or money must look deeply into and think critically about with whom we keep company. As a person with in-depth and varied experience in the local animal rescue world, including as a past contributor to Pasado's, I urge you do some research on this organization.

Take a look at the state investigations that have been launched against them...not to mention the lawsuits, past and present.

Take a look at the salary of their Executive Director and compare it to other non-profits with a proven track record of fidelity to the cause.

Take a look at employee and volunteer turn-over and ask yourself why so many employees have quit within the last year. How much longer can anyone believe that the issue lies with each of these individuals, not the organization's management? The notion is an absurd diversion...right in the organization's wheelhouse.

Take a look at the animal care at an organization that can afford to pay the salaries it does and ask yourself uncomfortable questions like why the Foxhounds have not been socialized (the fosters are responsible for all of the progress these dogs have made), why the equines had their nutritional supplements cut (their past vets would be happy to discuss this with you and share their frustrations), why the cows and horses don't have barns, why and how all their hens died in a short period of time. I could go on.

Take a look at the circumstances they call "rescues". Like the kitten named Tinsel, whom Pasado's fund-raised with, based on the report that she was abused and suffered immense physical trauma; it was later learned that she was in good health. Like the "Fab 5" kittens, who were actually pulled from neglect by a good Samaritan, who then turned them over to Pasado's, but about whom Pasado's contacted the media and alerted its supporters to a big-time "organizational rescue". Like the overweight cat Drew, who Pasado's touts as a major success story, without telling its supporters that Drew has been at Pasado's for years, languishing for much time before beginning to make progress.

Finally, think about how you define animal rescue and compare it to what you see, once you invest the time and energy to be a critical and engaged observer. Without doubt, I'll see those of who who invest the time and energy at the local organizations worthy of using the "animal rescue" moniker.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 13, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 13, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I volunteered in Kitty City for about a year-and-a-half. Great place! I only stopped because of time constraints (It's a 45 minute drive each way for me). I miss it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 13, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 13, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Years ago I found Pasados online by accident. It quickly became a place I wanted to visit in person! As a resident of Washington State I am thrilled a place like this exists here in my own back yard! I finally got to go attend one of the tours and was treated to a joy-filled afternoon of visits with the animals who are lucky enough to call the sanctuary home. Each and every person I met who was employed there was professional, friendly and had so much information to share. They shared the animals stories of rescue and recovery, they were compassionate and absolutely devoted to the welfare of animals everywhere. In the last several years I have called them for resources when I've seen or heard of abuse in my community and they call right back if you don't get them on the first call. They were willing to share whatever information they could help me with and never act like its an imposition. The facility is clean, the animals very happy and well taken care of. Its such a beautiful place and I cant thank them enough for their zero tolerance to animal abuse. They don't just say that - They embody that. They work for the animals and work very hard. From life saving help to educating the public, providing food and mobile spay/neuter services for low income pet owners *these folks never rest. I am so thankful for Pasados Safe Haven. ♥

Alison Meyer

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing I can think of.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 13, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 13, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I know one of the staff members of Pasado's Safe Haven personally, and cannot think of a better advocate for animals. There is an extremely high level of integrity and professionalism at Pasado's, or my friend would not work there.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 13, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 13, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Pasado's spade my dog free because I am low income senior. While they had her out they noticed she had some puppy teeth that hadn't fallen out and her new teeth where coming in. So they extracted them. That was very nice Thank you.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 12, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 12, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

They were wonderful a very helpful getting my cats fixed. I could not have gotten them fixed any other way. I appreciate their help very much.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

make a real difference in the daily lives of our animals. You can help by walking and helping to train dogs. Volunteers also work to socialize cats, and groom horses, llamas and sheep. Volunteer