Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
80 Reviews
123.787545
Previous | 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review
April 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I spent a few months this summer as an intern at Pasado's, and I absolutely LOVED it. As interns, we worked half the day directly with the animals and half of the day with Dana as our manager. I learned an incredible amount and loved the variety of tasks I was able to help with. All of the staff were very caring and helpful, and Dana especially was wonderful to work with. She set clear expectations and was available for questions if necessary. I would definitely recommend Pasado's to future volunteers and interns!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 9, 2014
6 people found this review helpful

more

March 9, 2014
6 people found this review helpful

There is something deeply, deeply wrong with this organization, and I will no longer be giving my time and money to this place. Animals are being neglected, staff is being threatened, and Pasado's continues to take in donor dollars to pay the ridiculous salaries of the inept people in charge. I recently learned that the ENTIRE animal care and vet staff (eight people!!!) has left over the mistreatment of the animals. This sounds like a heck of a lot more than just a couple of disgruntled former employees to me. Something does not smell right at Pasado's, and the stench is not coming from the barns. I regret giving my time and money to this place, because it was used so inappropriately.
March 7, 2014

more

March 7, 2014

LOVE Pasado's! I volunteer every Saturday and look forward to my shifts! Pasado's is a great rescue and wish I could volunteer more often! I highly recommend volunteering here!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The BEST decision I've made in a long time is my decision to volunteer at Pasado's Safe Haven!

I have been thoroughly impressed with the level of professionalism and knowledge of all of staff members that I have had interaction with - including, Dana, Sarah, Dani, Carolin, Heidi, and
Brooke. When I am at the sanctuary I can easily see and feel the love the staff has for the animals and think that is phenomenal!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

increase the number of caretaker staff, which I know Pasado's is currently in the process of doing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been volunteering for Pasados since fall. I fell in love with the work and dedication they have for all animals. My first experience with them was over a year ago when my family and I adopted Trooper a dog that was rescued and dying from Parvo. They saved him from death and now he is healthy and amazing. That is what brought me back to Pasados but this time I wanted to give my time and do what they did for my dog and that is cleaning, playing and just caring for the animals. I have started out my time with the cats at Kitty City. I met the cat lead who was amazing and did a great job showing me what I needed to do to help the animals. As a volunteer we don't always have the most fun jobs. But if you know having animals isn't always fun. They need the litter changed, clean beds, clean water, a clean floor. I don't mind doing this work because it helps the other workers and care givers have time for responsibilities that we as volunteers cannot do. I was even taught how to take the blood sugar on a cat who has diabetes because I come in as early as 6 before the care takes can do their rounds. I was taught this because I was there one morning and he was throwing up and I was worried. I was able to reach the lead and she was minutes away. She then showed me what to do if I found him doing this or other symptoms she described and if it was at specific levels what to do at that point. She did a great job helping me be able to help the cats if an emergency happened and I was they only one in Kitty City. I was shown the ER number that I was also instructed to call at that point in time as well.
I was trained to help with a new program that she started for the cats that needed special attention with socializing, I loved this because I learned about animal behavior and how to gain their trust. I saw a cat that has been at Pasados for a few years and would never come to a human, blossom into an amazingly affectionate soul. He just surprised me. Also a cat that has a very special personality got adopted!!!! That is amazing because I thought for sure she would never get a family and home because she was not your typical lovey cat.
Pasados is running their rescue and sanctuary on a small staff and volunteers. They need more help and I can see that some people may think they can do better. Here is the thing, they are doing the best they can and those animals have clean beds, water, and attention and a home with people who love them. They receive medical care and yes I wish there was more time for love to spread around. I think if we looked at this as we are here for the animals then we would see it differently. These animals have a shot at life and love.
I do know that Pasados tries to educate people on the way animals are treated for dairy and slaughter. Because isn't that what they do, they love and save all animals they can. I am not a vegan and I have never been told or made to feel as though I am a bad person or I cannot be there to help. The cat lead who is now the animal care giver has never made me feel like I was unwelcome to help or has tried to make me vegan.
I think the current animal care giver is trying her hardest to make everything work. I will have you know that back a month or so ago that they were understaffed and trying their hardest to do everything they could for the animals. Their mission is to provide these animals with a beautiful life. They are doing their job, but they need help! Help from volunteers and donations.
I have been grateful to have been able to see what these people do. I have witnessed the result of animal cruelty and the love and care the animals get from being saved by Pasados.
Now for everyone who likes to nitpick others for their hard work I would like to say to you. Try working together as a team and create new ideas of how things can improve because we all know that there can always be improvements in what we do. We are not perfect, mistakes are made (by all), and forgiveness and team work needs to happen.
Lets get back to what we all want and that is to help and make a difference in animals lives. For those of you who want to sit in you negative thoughts that is your choice but I will always live to fight for those who can't. Not just animals but people who are being bullied by others. I feel as though a lot of the negative comments those have to say are very much bulling.
This is hard work and it isn't always glamorous, but it makes a difference to those we see when we go and clean, love on and play with at Pasados. Passion and determination for them is what should be in our hearts not being petty and bulling others.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Wish there was more help workers or volunteers. They need more help but are doing their best. :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 3, 2014

more

March 3, 2014

I've been volunteering at pasado's for a few months now and I liked it when I first started. I really enjoyed coming and spending time with the animals, but I never knew what I was supposed to be doing. I could never find any of the caretakers and when I did they always treated me like I was a nuisance or like I was bothering them. I heard that most of the caretakers and the animal care manager left and ever since then I feel like I'm actually learning things and starting to be able to help more. I met the new animal care manager in kitty city and she was very helpful and friendly and told me exactly what I could do to help. The new caretakers are much more friendly and helpful. Overall I really like volunteering at pasado's a lot more now.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I think the changes have already been made recently.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 12, 2014
6 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 12, 2014
6 people found this review helpful

As a donor to Pasado’s Safe Haven I am deeply distressed by recent events. It is disingenuous to take in animals when you don’t have the resources and staff to care for them. Inadequate and untrained staff are not a part of the mission statement.
I have toured Pasado’s in the past. I
was impressed by the hard working and conscientious care givers. The facility was well maintained and the animals clearly attended to. Management has changed, and clearly priorities have changed as well. It has become more important to dictate the dietary requirements of the staff on site then to ensure the needs of the animals. As a manager of nurses I clearly do not see the logic in this. What someone eats does not effect their ability to be a compassionate and caring animal caretaker. If you went to a hospital and only wanted vegan nurses you would not receive the optimal care you deserve. Caregivers should be evaluated on skill, honesty, experience, qualifications and ability to work as a team member.
This is an unfortunate and sad event for Pasado’s. I will no longer be contributing to Pasado’s and I would encourage others to do the same.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would reevaluate the management, work with the Board of Directors, and get input from the actual caregivers. I would also find out what similar organizations are doing. Can you actually care for all the animals you are taking in, or are you contributing to their demise?

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 10, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more

February 10, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

Upper management and the board seem to only care about a few things: Money and good publicity. The only ones who seem to care are the caregivers, and unfortunately, most of them were driven out due to the hostile work environment imposed upon them by the executive director and the new - highly unqualified - animal care manager. Wake up and smell the roses, Pasados. If vegan is the direction you are going, and if you want to try to force the animals and everyone who comes on site to abide by that, then most of the volunteers and many staff members should be eliminated to go along with your new extremist ways. In fact, since you seem so intent on attempting to feed vegan food, then it is my personal belief that you should not have or rescue carnivores or omnivores, as that does not "align with your mission". Thus, no more dogs, cats, pigs, birds of any kind, or horses. Stop making the animals suffer because of your own personal beliefs. If you intend on being voices for the animals, then you must have the correct voice and allow them to do and eat what is natural to them so that they can live long, healthy (as healthy as they can get at Pasados) lives. Also, knock it off with all of the lying. Tinsel the cat, who was said to have broken both of her legs, was 100% healthy! Her only issue was that she needed to get spayed and have updated vaccines. Otherwise, she was a happy, playful, healthy cat! Clearly, nobody on the investigative end or the advertising end did their part there. One look at that cat, and you know she's fine, and yet the investigator insisted that her legs were broken. Is this person so incompetent that they would mistake a healthy, unbroken cat for one with not one, but TWO broken legs? Why has nobody questioned this?! Honestly, I could go on and on and on and on about this corrupt organization and the asinine people who are running it (into the ground), but it would only make me even more irritated. Especially seeing all of the sad, blind people who are giving this place more stars than it clearly deserves. Who knows, maybe all of those ratings and stars were given by the same people who are in charge? With all of the backhanded lies and manipulation I've seen stemming out like toxic smoke from this place, I wouldn't doubt it for a second. Trust me, people, this is only the tip of the ice burg of what Pasados is hiding from you. Do not believe everything you see and hear, no matter how pretty their words are.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change out management with someone competent and open minded. Either knock it off with the vegan propaganda, or go all the way so that no omnivores or carnivores have to suffer under the vegan wrath. Get more qualified staff members. Reveal the truth, and nothing but the truth, to the public.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 10, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

February 10, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

As a donor to Pasado's, I am excited to see the organization aligning to its core mission of ending animal cruelty - in all its forms. I know there have been some staffing changes as this alignment takes shape, which I think is healthy for the organization and at the end of the day is the best thing for the animals. I know that the employees who remain at Pasado's are excited about where the organization is headed and are focused on the important work at hand. Keep up the great work!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 10, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

February 10, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

Pasado's Safe Haven is dedicated to ending animal cruelty - in all its forms. I applaud work the organization is doing to align to this mission - including ensuring that all staff are onboard as well. I've seen really positive changes at the organization over the last 6 months and I like the direction it is headed. As a donor and a volunteer I can say that this organization has a lean and dedicated staff who are always looking to make things better for animals. I feel good about contributing both time and money to Pasado's and will continue to do so.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers