Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
20 Reviews
1234.95
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
November 11, 2013

more

November 11, 2013

My son and I began volunteering almost a year ago. PFP is the only organization where I have volunteered and made to feel so welcome from the first minute.The staff is absolutely amazing, they love and care for each and every child who rides in the program. My son, who is 15, has completely emersed himself in the organiation and with the staff. He volunteers there every minute he can. This is due in large to how the staff makes you feel like family. I look forward to volunteering every week. I really love seeing the kids every week and gain such a feeling of pride when a rider you have been working with accomplishes a goal. I have told many people about this organization and have had a friend start their own child in the program. I can't say enough about how wonderful this organization is and how fantastic staff is.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Spread the word about all the wonderful things they do!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

My son has been riding at Partners for Progerss for six years. He enjoys his weekly rides along with volunteering in the barn. The supportive atmosphere and calm environment along with a warm and understanding staff make the experience so positive for him. My son continues to make gains and always looks forward to the days when he rides. The staff work very hard and are committed to enriching the lives of all of the participants they serve. A wonderful organization!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 27, 2013

more

October 27, 2013

My son is 20 months old and has been attending hippo therapy at PFP since May 2013. Everyone at PFP are wonderful, understanding, caring and most importantly supportive. My husband and I have seen significant improvement since starting hippo therapy. My son has low muscle tone and was unable to crawl / kneel /pull to stand / or attempt going up stairs and within months he was able to do it all, along with gaining more self confidence. He absolutely loves it!!!! I would highly recommend PFP.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would make no changes …. we are so happy with PFP.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

I'm a volunteer at PFP and am very impressed with the work they do. It's exciting to be part of this wonderful program. I work with both children and adults. They are very caring and totally professional.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

My daughter has been riding with PFP for 6 years. The gains she has achieved are nothing short than amazing! Mind you, the gains physically have been plentiful but you really cannot discount the changes she has experienced socially and emotionally - her ability to attend grows daily and her self confidence has increased tenfold.

The staff at PFP are skilled at identifying both strengths and weaknesses. That is one of my favorite things about this organization. They totally "get" that you cannot take a square peg and shove it into a round hole. Sure, many of their processes are similar but they take that extra step to truly customize a program for each participant.

My child has achieved skills that I could never do! She is so brave and determined. PFP encourages her continually and shares in each and every success. Make no mistake, this is hard work! But with all the support I think she forgets that this is "therapy" and not just fun!

The atmosphere is one where it feels like home. As you view your child working, you also have the opportunity to network with other parents. Both my daughter and I have made long lasting relationships that we truly cherish. I have gladly shared our experiences with other that I thought might benefit from their services and am thrilled to say they have found success with PFP as well! I also love volunteering there and have seen some fantastic results!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

A therapy my son looks forward to! My 15 year old son has ridden @ Partners For Progress since 2008. Besides improving his motor coordination and muscle strength, riding @ PFP has increased his ability to take direction, filter out distractions, and become more patient. The incredibly supportive PFP staff provide a safe environment for my son to improve his social skills and confidence to the point of being able to volunteer at the barn!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

I learned about Partners for Progress in January 2013 and what they do for children as well as adults and immediately became a side walker. I love helping the kids so much because you can see how hard they try and the great results they get from the therapists, teacher, of course the horses and everyone who helps. It is like seeing miracles happen before your eyes. I was raised with horses as a child, so I can see the great communication that results from the horse to its rider. The horse takes its job very seriously and really is in tune to the precious cargo (the human) it carries.

I also have a handicapp. When I was 11 years old, I was hit by a car while getting off the school bus. The doctors told my parents that I would never walk right again and that they should not put me into sports. etc. At that age, I told my parents that was unacceptable! I was going to prove them all wrong! We lived on a horse farm and so my brother who was only 14, picked me up and placed me on the back of a horse. As children, we did not know that the horse's gate is the same as a humans. What miracuously occurred is that I was able to walk again and live a somewhat normal childhood, thanks to the horse. Who knew that just being on the back of a horse could bring wonderful results.

As time went on and we started growing up, well life changed and I was no longer riding a horse. Sure I did other exercises and activities, but over the years (40) the pain just became exceedingly worse in my knees. You see I developed arthritis at a very young age due to the accident. Not only do I have constant pain in my legs, but I must have been compensating my gait because now my hip was popping out and back in every morning. I am a mom and also work and because your life is filled with your family, work and volunteering, pain just becomes a way of life. Kinda sad, huh?

One day as I was volunteering at Partners For Progress, I was asked if I was having a tough time walking in the sand of the arena? I then told them my story. They immediately suggested I see their therapist to find out if they could help me.

I went to see her and as we were wallking and talking in the arena, she mentioned that my hips were out. Wow, she could see that! We talked for awhile and then she suggested I get on Rupert (the beautiful Shire horse) and see how it goes. She thought I could be helped. It had been a long time (about 40 years) since I had been a horse, and one that was soooo tall. When I reached the top of the mounting block, I got scared and said I couldn't do it, but the kids, staff and everyone started cheering me on, and so I got on.

Let me tell you, it is a lot different being a side walker and then being the rider. I too had a leader for the horse and 2 side walkers. I felt very secure and after 10 minutes I started to relax and could really feel my hips start to loosen up and rock in tune to the movement of the horse (Rupert). It was wonderful! I felt like I was a kid again! After about an hour we went back to the mounting block where everyone helped me to get off. When I reached the ground I was asked how I felt? I said "I may be in a daze, or I am really pain free!" I could tell from just 1 session that I was standing straighter. In the morning, my hip didn't pop out! OMG! I cannot even begin to tell how wonderful it is to be pain free!! You see for me, it was a way of life for many years now. Who knew that something I had done as a child would now help me as an adult.

I have now had 3 sessions. My hip has not popped out since the first session. I am pain free for about 3-4 days after the session, so I know how important it is to have this therapy each and every week.

Partners For Progress is truly a blessing to sooo many people, including myself. I am not only a volunteer (which I still do), but also a very happy client. I use to thank God for the opportunity in being a side walker to help others, but now I also thank God for all the help everyone (including Rupert, the horse) gives me each week. If I never knew about this wonderful organization, I would still be walking funny with my hip out and in constant pain. The pain I do experience after 3-4 days is still no where near as bad as it use to be and for that I am so blessed.

Thank you Partners for Progress for giving me my life back!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I really can't think of any changes I would make. For me, everything is perfect! I would love for more people to know about this wonderful place and the miracles that happen each and every day!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

My son has been riding with Diane since 1997. The riding has increased his tone and his stability. What started as therapy has turned into a lifelong hobby.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

I am a 67 yr old with numerous physical problems, including cerebral palsy. I started about a year ago and have been delighted to ride again after some 40 yrs. The riding has improved my muscle tone , posture, and other physical aspects. I was so happy to find a place that accepted adults. The staff and volunteers there are great; all are friendly and helpful. I look forward to my ride every week. I have done a little bit of volunteering also and enjoyed working with staff and volunteers there.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Can't think of anything except moving it closer to where I live [35 miles away].

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 14, 2013

more

August 14, 2013

I have been a volunteer at PFP for almost 3 years and I just love being part of this wonderful program! I am so impressed with the quality of therapy that each participant receives and it has been a wonderful experience to witness first-hand how far many participants have improved both physically and emotionally. The staff and other volunteers are wonderful and the horses are phenomenal!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Change lives by assisting 3 riders with their sessions; help keep our horses happy with grooming; make new friends; help make each visit by a family more enjoyable by attending to our garden or viewing area; & change their own life with the gift of time! Volunteer