Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
7 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
September 24, 2014

more

September 24, 2014

Parkinson's Resources of Oregon is an excellent resource for the newly diagnosed as well as for those of us who have had the disease for several years. The staff are all very knowledgable about Parkinson's and if they don't have the information you need, which is highly unlikely, they know where to refer you to obtain the answers you require. All staff members are a joy to work with....all very caring and supportive. I have personally been involved with PRO for three years and have been assisted by them many times. They are invaluable to all people living with this disease.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Do nothing different!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 10, 2014

more

February 10, 2014

Hi My name is Kevin Mansfield.
I was diagnosed with Parkinson's in 2001. All my Dr. told me was that I had Parkinson's and to come back in 6 months. I had no idea what it was or anything about this daises .I started to look on line and that was to overwhelming so I started to look for other
help. I found Parkinson's Resources of Oregon and started to ask questions. They answered all of my questions and asked me if I would like to go to a support group and about two months latter one was formed. One year latter I became a Facilitator and still am 12 years latter. PRO has a very good staff that will help you in any way they can. They have a wonderful lending library, support groups all over Oregon and SW Washington. They go to health fairs to give out information to many newly diagnosed people that do not know where to turn. They have a great conference on time a year where they bring in Doctors, and other professionals to help us understand some of the feeling we are having as well as problems we may be facing. Some of the great services they provide are: Education Programs, Lending Library, Support Groups, Exercise and/or Speech Classes, Social Services.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 25, 2013

more

November 25, 2013

After my diagnosis of PD in January, 2008, I was referred to PRO as a place to find out what I would be facing. I found out !! PRO is an excellent resource for education and support for PD patients and their families. The short version is this --- I can either be VERTICAL or HORIZONTAL in my approach to my future. Horizontal is giving up & sliding into the couch cushions. Vertical is daily exercise, attending & helping facilitate support groups, helping fund raise, trying to eat right & get sleep as best as I can...
Being involved in my life as much as possible. PRO has helped me develop the courage to do these things. "I can't stop the waves from breaking, but I can learn to Surf !!" John Watson

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 22, 2013

more

November 22, 2013

I found PRO when trying to find a way to support my mother who has Parkinson's Disease, and also as a way to educate myself on the subject. After attending two fundraising events, I realized how compassionate the staff was about their cause, and also how important PRO is for the PD community. I decided that I wanted to be a part of this, so I became a volunteer for PRO. It has been more than 6 years since I found PRO, and I couldn't be more proud to be affiliated with such a wonderful organization. My family has found support when needed, whether it be a listening ear or education on how to live the most positive life with Parkinson's Disease. Thank you to the PRO staff for always going above and beyond for those you serve!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would love to see them grow and be able to serve more people with PD in rural areas.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 15, 2013

more

November 15, 2013

I've had the opportunity to have some type of involvement with PRO since the late 90's when it was called Will Cope. At the time, it was a one woman show, Holly Chaimov was the Executive Director doing everything! Over the years, I have watched Parkinson's Resources of Oregon grow into an incredible organization with wonderful, caring staff that touch many lives. I am a Personal Trainer who works primarily with people with Parkinson's. So many of my clients benefit from the services provided by this great organization. The resources run the gamut from education, one on one work with clients helping them navigate the disease, Aware in Care, and Support Groups. As a co-faciiltater of a support group sponsored by PRO, I've seen the difference it can make! If one of my clients hasn't heard of PRO, I always put them in contact with one of the staff. I can't say enough good things about Parkinson's Resources of Oregon.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 9, 2013

I was diagnosed with PD in 2004. After the shock of the diagnosis, I spent two years in denial. However, I joined an exercise class geared specifically for people with PD,started by Nancy Nelson dba PDEX. When I attended the first class, it was a real eye opener. As I viewed my classmates and their various stages with PD, and heard them using terminology related to PD that I wasn't familiar with, it made me aware that I basically had little or no understanding of this disease at all and I had already WASTED two of the most important years of learning about PD.

Through PRO, I was able to obtain numerous books and attend several PRO sponsored lectures and conferences presented by some of the top people in the their field of research. The staff at PRO is just amazing. They are very knowledgeable, bright and upbeat!

If you have been recently diagnosed with PD, PLEASE contact PRO today. They can and will help you realize that you can live a productive life with PD.

NOW GET GOING, Please!


Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The PRO staff is presently occupying two small offices. There isn't enough space for storage or staff expansion. However, it is important that they be able to fund expansion. The frustrating thing is that the media has been active in raising a general awareness about PD and in order to accommodate more inquiries, PRO may need to hire someone who knows about fundraising on a full time basis.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My involvement with this organization began over six years ago, first by volunteering, then donating, and eventually becoming a Board member. Having had family members with Parkinson's disease gives me a deep understanding of the needs of not only the client, but their families and caregivers as well. The services provided by Parkinson's Resources of Oregon reach deep into the community, providing much needed support and guidance for those affected by this disease. The staff is amazing, and the entire group is focused on providing the best support possible for the people they serve.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to find additional funding sources to allow for expanded services to the client base.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers