Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
6 Reviews
123.6666745
Previous | Next
Write A Review
August 9, 2014

more

August 9, 2014

My mom has donated to PRF for sometime. She has been receiving "personal ..intense" letters from the chairman of the board Mr. Hoffheimer. We will no longer contribute to a charity that intimidates donors and victims of Parkensons. You should be ashamed of yourself. Tricia tanguay

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
March 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Parkinson Research Foundation funds Parkinson Place which serves the Parkinson Community around the Sarasota Fl area. I found Parkinson Place by a commercial on tv and decided to try it. It was the best decision I had ever made! The staff was so kind and the free classes help me keep going! I have finally found a place where I feel I belong.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would encourage them to advertise more.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
January 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Please look at Charity Navigator for yourself, but here are the stats from the past year which will be even better this year:
Financial Performance Metrics
Program Expenses
(Percent of the charity’s budget spent on the programs
and services it delivers) 55.0%
Administrative Expenses 13.6%
Fundraising Expenses 31.2% (due to mail as the main fundraising method)
Fundraising Efficiency $0.34
Primary Revenue Growth 0.4%
Program Expenses Growth 32.7%
Working Capital Ratio (years) 0.69

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I truly believe that this organization is moving forward and accomplishing a great deal of good!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 30, 2013

more

September 30, 2013

I visited Parkinson Place which is a project funded by Parkinson Research Foundation. I was very impressed by the kind nature of the staff and the incredible number of free services they provide for Parkinson Sufferers and their caregivers.

I have a dear friend who has Parkinson's and
Parkinson Place takes great pains to help him have better quality of life!

I don't know much about how funding works but I can tell you that this is a tremendous service to the Sarasota, Manatee and Charlotte county Parkinson community.

If you want to see for yourself and not rely on heresy look at their websites www.parkinsonplace.org and parkinsonresearchfoundation.org

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have them brag on their services more.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2013

more

April 15, 2013

73% Fundraising & Admin. 27% Program Expenses per CharityNavigaor. NO THANKS!

Michael J. Fox's foundation may have a bit of "bloat" in exec. salaries, but they ARE in line with most others, and their money goes to the cause. Numerous other Parkinsons charities also seem to "put
their money where their mouth is" as well. One can experience better stewardship in other Parkinsons alternatives.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 30, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 30, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

Since having joined the PRF team a little over 3 years ago I am amazed sometimes how much we have grown as an organization and how far we have come. Every time I participate in one of the educational programs I am overcome with fascination to see how hungry and appreciative the participants. With the help of a great team from all across the country and throughout the Parkinson's community we have been able to provide many Parkinson's patients with a new lease on life. The smiles and chuckles make the countless hours of relentless planning, development and research all worth it.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

After over three years of working with the foundation I have seen countless Parkinson's patients and their caregivers changed by the programs that have been offered by the foundation.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would find a way to reach out to a broader support base that would allow the foundation to support and develop more programs to help the Parkinson's community.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Phone calls to thank donors, edit word documents, place flyers in doctor's offices. Volunteer