Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
31 Reviews
1234.806455
Previous | Next
Write A Review
November 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

PEN was lifesaving for both our son and our family. After our son received his diagnosis of dyslexia, I did not know how to begin navigating the countless issues involved. These included understanding the diagnosis and its ramifications, working with teachers and schools, homework, the psychological effects for our son and our family, tutors, accommodations (how to request and receive them), the law, testing, teaching advocacy to our son and advocating to the larger community, future potential good school matches and so many more. PEN offered a support system of dedicated, kind and thoughtful women who in the process of learning about learning disabilities and advocating for their children decided to form a nonprofit dedicated to sharing their experience and expertise. I found PEN when our son was 6. He is now 20. He is currently attending and thriving at a university he never would have been accepted or gone to without all we learned from PEN. I cannot say enough good things about this organization to adequately express my thanks. PEN allowed our son and countless others to feel good about themselves, to celebrate their learning issues and to be able to achieve what they are capable of. These are not small or temporary skills and lessons. They sre truly life changing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 12, 2012

more

May 12, 2012

I've attended several presentations over the last year. Every one of the speakers has been of the highest quality, dispensing valuable advice. This advice has be extremely helpful to me as I deal with 2 children and a spouse with brain/learning differences. I highly recommend PEN!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2011

more

November 26, 2011

PEN is more than a significant entity in our lives. They offer useful classes on a regular basis on a variety of relevant educational topics. Each year PEN hosts something calles EdRev at Pac Bell Park in San Francisco. We go hear inspirational speakers, many of whom have significant learning differences as well. Parents, kids and people in the profession of learning all come to hear talks, attend smaller seminars and learn about available resources. We are always excited and encouraged after leaving the Ed Rev anual learning event. Pen additionally provides educational talks throughout the year at a nominal fee. The talks are usually given by renoun people in the educational field. PEN always strives to provide the services to the most people at a reasonable price. There is always a way to attend even if you are on a very low budget. I don't know of a group of more caring people who serve a very important segment of our community. I don't know how they do it!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My daughter's great and positive attitude when we leave the Ed Rev conference....and that her mom and dad are again hopeful that she will get the educational help that she needs.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The only thing I would say is that they are located in San Francisco and that most of the classes etc...take place accross the bay from us. But we try to make the effort because the classes are so great and helpful to us.

October 8, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 8, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I am the mother of a dyslexic boy. I had never heard of dyslexia until I experienced my son's struggles in reading and word retrieval. I feel incredibly blessed that Parents Education Network had a presence in my son's school as they have provided my family with "one stop shopping" for all the challenges that we continue to face as we navigate my son's education.
I have attended many lectures and events sponsored by PEN and have met other parents at these events with whom I can swap information, advice and support. PEN also provides resource referrals so that I do not have to re-invent the wheel in isolation while trying to support my son.
As much as I value and appreciate all of the above , by far the most outstanding service provided by PEN is the activities geared to empower the children themselves and teach them to understand their unique ways of learning and advocate for themselves. My son understands that he learns DIFFERENTLY, not poorly, and is pro-active in learning how to attain his goals with his unique strengths and weaknesses. SAFE voices, EdRev and the community that PEN creates have been invaluable in fostering self sufficiency, self-esteem and hope for the future in my son....something we would not have known how to attain without the community and resources that PEN has created. We are so grateful for their good works!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

fostering an empowered grass roots community that supports and understands the challenges of learning differences and can provide guidance and resources for addressing these issues. PEN has also supported us through its work with schools and educators. We have found that often a teacher will understand the challenges of a certain learning difference because they have attended a PEN lecture or event and be more creative and open to working with my son's unique learning challenges as a result.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

How did you find this group?

word of mouth/presentation at school

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

I have a greater appreciation for variability of intelligence and learning in myself, my son and people around me. I see the value in forging a unique path to self fulfillment that may not follow a conventional, previously charted path. My son and I reach out to others with these challenges and understand the value around community building to support different learners.

September 13, 2011

more

September 13, 2011

PEN is a tremendous resource of informaiton for parents. My child was diagnoses a year and a half ago with Learning Differences and then more recently with ADD. The speaker series of PEN has provided me with much needed information and access to resources, which have really helped our family adapt and find the assistance and support that our child needs. In addition, the other parents involved with PEN have been a great help as well. PEN has made a big impact on how I have been able to help our child!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

learning more about the biology of ADD, how to better handle behaviour challenges, and other resources for outside, professional support for our child.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

increase their public outreach to the schools.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers