Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
31 Reviews
1234.806455
Write A Review
November 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

PEN was lifesaving for both our son and our family. After our son received his diagnosis of dyslexia, I did not know how to begin navigating the countless issues involved. These included understanding the diagnosis and its ramifications, working with teachers and schools, homework, the psychological effects for our son and our family, tutors, accommodations (how to request and receive them), the law, testing, teaching advocacy to our son and advocating to the larger community, future potential good school matches and so many more. PEN offered a support system of dedicated, kind and thoughtful women who in the process of learning about learning disabilities and advocating for their children decided to form a nonprofit dedicated to sharing their experience and expertise. I found PEN when our son was 6. He is now 20. He is currently attending and thriving at a university he never would have been accepted or gone to without all we learned from PEN. I cannot say enough good things about this organization to adequately express my thanks. PEN allowed our son and countless others to feel good about themselves, to celebrate their learning issues and to be able to achieve what they are capable of. These are not small or temporary skills and lessons. They sre truly life changing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 12, 2012

more

May 12, 2012

I've attended several presentations over the last year. Every one of the speakers has been of the highest quality, dispensing valuable advice. This advice has be extremely helpful to me as I deal with 2 children and a spouse with brain/learning differences. I highly recommend PEN!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have worked with the Board and staff of PEN for the last several years. What stands out to me is the clarity and purity of their dedication. I seldom see a not-for-profit so focused to simply helping their client population. I have worked with the Board in strategic planning, board governance, and project management. I have volunteered in the SAFE program. Everywhere in the organization I find people of heart and intelligence. PEN grew up attending to the needs of LD kids in San Francisco, but it's clear to me that they will eventually shape the national conversation around learning differences. They have the secret sauce for connecting parents, kids, teachers, and professionals; the momentum of their work will be unstoppable.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 21, 2012

more

April 21, 2012

I have just finished a probono project with PEN and my team (that have all worked with other non profits organizations too) have all been very impressed with PEN's value to the community, and PEN's ability to deliver such impact. I have heard from so many stakeholders that PEN is a critical contributor to society. I have heard numerous real life examples from teachers, principles of schools, parents and most importantly the children that they value PENs work so much, they want PEN to be able to spread the PEN reach throughout the USA. Communities beyond the Bay Area need the PEN service in their community too!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 8, 2012

more

February 8, 2012

I went to my first PEN meeting on behalf of my professional affiliation with the organization, at least that is why I thought I went. I sat in the room amongst other parents who described how a child with a learning difference affected their family. I felt so much comfort when I realized they were describing my child and my situation. The only difference was that they possessed hope and strength, qualities I did not have yet. Knowing there is an organization committed to children who learn differently, and the parents of these children, makes me realize I can have hope! I know the road I will travel with my ADD son may not be easy, but I will be supported! Thanks to the wonderful staff at PEN who have chosen to walk this road with me! Taylor stilwell

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 3, 2012

more

February 3, 2012

Fantastic information, targeted and immediately useful for me as a wife of a dylexic and mother of another dyslexic. Totally surpassed my expectations. Thank you!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2011

more

November 26, 2011

PEN is more than a significant entity in our lives. They offer useful classes on a regular basis on a variety of relevant educational topics. Each year PEN hosts something calles EdRev at Pac Bell Park in San Francisco. We go hear inspirational speakers, many of whom have significant learning differences as well. Parents, kids and people in the profession of learning all come to hear talks, attend smaller seminars and learn about available resources. We are always excited and encouraged after leaving the Ed Rev anual learning event. Pen additionally provides educational talks throughout the year at a nominal fee. The talks are usually given by renoun people in the educational field. PEN always strives to provide the services to the most people at a reasonable price. There is always a way to attend even if you are on a very low budget. I don't know of a group of more caring people who serve a very important segment of our community. I don't know how they do it!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My daughter's great and positive attitude when we leave the Ed Rev conference....and that her mom and dad are again hopeful that she will get the educational help that she needs.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The only thing I would say is that they are located in San Francisco and that most of the classes etc...take place accross the bay from us. But we try to make the effort because the classes are so great and helpful to us.

October 16, 2011

more

October 16, 2011

As a speech/language pathologist who supports many students with language-based learning disabilities every day, I appreciate & use PEN resources, & have shared contacts & information with my students, teachers, parents & colleagues. And - as a parent of a student with LD, I've found the support & collaboration invaluable.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the resources and contacts made by attending PEN conferences & presentations have had lasting impact. I've participated as a professional and as a parent, attending w/ my students & w/ my own son

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Add events that are more accessible to people in other parts of the bay area - east bay, peninsula.

More feedback...

What is unique about this organization?

It is for professionals, students & parents. It strives to support the full "team" or "community" of people that it takes to support our students in need.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 9, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 9, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a volunterr with PEN for the last three years, primarily assisting with the Lecture Series and writing a blog on each of the lectures for the PEN website and mine: dyslexiadiscovery.com.

The care given to the selection of speakers results in a broad specturm of topics that are
germane to dyslexia, ADHD and other learning challenges. Parents, teachers and others have a unique opportunity to listen and learn from specialists. I have found it fascinating how lecturers on the topic most often have a unique approach to the topic. Parents who commit to attend many of lectures have an opportunity to asses what might work for their child.

I am dyslexic and hyperlexic and learn each time so much more about my challenges. This is a unique group of serious minded leaders providing excellent resources to a very challenging field.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

from 2008 - 2011

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

help them get professional fund raising onboard

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

none, they are great to volunteer for

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I learn all the time from their lectures

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

satsified

October 8, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 8, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I am the mother of a dyslexic boy. I had never heard of dyslexia until I experienced my son's struggles in reading and word retrieval. I feel incredibly blessed that Parents Education Network had a presence in my son's school as they have provided my family with "one stop shopping" for all the challenges that we continue to face as we navigate my son's education.
I have attended many lectures and events sponsored by PEN and have met other parents at these events with whom I can swap information, advice and support. PEN also provides resource referrals so that I do not have to re-invent the wheel in isolation while trying to support my son.
As much as I value and appreciate all of the above , by far the most outstanding service provided by PEN is the activities geared to empower the children themselves and teach them to understand their unique ways of learning and advocate for themselves. My son understands that he learns DIFFERENTLY, not poorly, and is pro-active in learning how to attain his goals with his unique strengths and weaknesses. SAFE voices, EdRev and the community that PEN creates have been invaluable in fostering self sufficiency, self-esteem and hope for the future in my son....something we would not have known how to attain without the community and resources that PEN has created. We are so grateful for their good works!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

fostering an empowered grass roots community that supports and understands the challenges of learning differences and can provide guidance and resources for addressing these issues. PEN has also supported us through its work with schools and educators. We have found that often a teacher will understand the challenges of a certain learning difference because they have attended a PEN lecture or event and be more creative and open to working with my son's unique learning challenges as a result.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

How did you find this group?

word of mouth/presentation at school

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

I have a greater appreciation for variability of intelligence and learning in myself, my son and people around me. I see the value in forging a unique path to self fulfillment that may not follow a conventional, previously charted path. My son and I reach out to others with these challenges and understand the value around community building to support different learners.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers