Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
24 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

I found PEP literature in my daughter's school in 2012 and decided to take a free class. I have taken PEP 1, PEP 2, and currently taking PEP 2+ and a PEP leadership class. The knowledge, wisdom, and information presented by the PEP leaders and parents is undeniably the BEST form of "education" for anyone with children in their lives. The Adlerian approach is a much needed source of encouragement for parents while providing the tools, instruction manual, and over all philosophy in a culture desperately seeking for more practical answers.

PEP also does a great job of bringing in expert authors to add additional information for those interested in learning more. Below are some of the authors that I was fortunate enough to hear their presentations and currently reading some their books.

Vicki Hoefle is a professional parent educator and the creator of the Parenting On Track™ Program. She began teaching more than 20 years ago, while running a daycare center in Seattle, WA.

Kenneth Ginsburg, M.D., is a pediatrician specializing in Adolescent Medicine at The Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia and a Professor of Pediatrics at the University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine. He also serves as Director of Health Services at Covenant House Pennsylvania, an agency that serves Philadelphia’s homeless and marginalized youth.

Rosalind Wiseman is an American parenting educator and author of several publications. Her New York Times best-selling book Queen Bees and Wannabes: Helping Your Daughter Survive Cliques, Gossip, Boyfriends, and Other Realities of Adolescence, released in 2002, was the basis of the hit comedy film Mean Girls (2004).

I HIGHLY RECOMMEND PEP to those seeking real answers.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would find ways to engage and recruit a diverse population to become more involved with PEP and also use technology to better enhance the overall content. I would also provided certifications once PEP leaders move forward in their mastery to go out and teach in their own environments. I would also partner with faculty members at all different levels of education to implement Adlerian methods to their students while using research to demonstrate impact using short vs. long data.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

I found PEP when my twin girls were 2. Two very different temperaments and PEP was the resource I needed. I loved my classes so much I went on to lead classes and I have never looked back. It was just the approach I was looking for...respectful and caring and everything about it felt right. I highly recommend this organization for any parent who is looking to better their relationship with their children. I loved PEP then and I love it now.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more classes in Virginia!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I came to PEP when my oldest children's sibling rivalry had reached a point where I was "pulling my hair out" and I had no idea what else to try. It took awhile, but the PEP philosophy really turned my family around. My youngest benefited the most as he was only 3 when I started classes. He's grown up with a PEP mom and what a difference that makes! I read and still read a lot on my own, but our family is stronger, more efficient and happier because of what I've learned in my classes at PEP. My relationships with my boys are stronger and will remain so. PEP classes, truly, are the best investment you can make as a parent.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 24, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 24, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

PEP came to the rescue when my son was 3 years old and I was at the end of my rope. After my very first 2-hour workshop, I came away with effective strategies for dealing with problems in the moment and a new mindset that enhanced my overall approach to parenting. The atmosphere of our household became so much more cooperative and pleasant--I was stunned! At last I was able to be the kind of parent I wanted to be, and my son responded so positively that I just kept coming back for more classes. Eventually I trained to be a parent educator myself and I have found a second home among the warm, supportive, and engaged community of PEP volunteers. It is deeply fulfilling to work with people who share a dedication to being the best parents they can be, and who are committed to helping other parents by volunteering their time to provide peer-to-peer training and guidance. PEP is an inclusive organization that provides a warm welcome to all kinds of parents and families. We are so lucky to have this unique resource in our area, with a 30-year track record of success and a vibrant program of classes, workshops, and other services provided by an all-volunteer workforce. Anyone involved in raising, teaching, or caring for children would do well to get involved with PEP and learn about an approach to child-rearing that has helped thousands of families enjoy more pleasant, harmonious and mutually supportive relationships.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 21, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 21, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I discovered the Parent Encouragement Program (PEP) in 1986 when my son was 4 years old and within 2 years both my husband and I took all the core classes they offered. The philosophy, techniques and skills that we learned had a profound impact on our day-to-day parenting. We finally had a road map. Both my children have learning and behavioral challenges. We honestly could not have navigated through all of those ups and downs without PEP. We came to a clear understanding of what it truly meant to be a positive encouraging parent even when strong misbehavior presented itself. Attending the classes is an investment of time and money that has truly paid off big time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers