Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
24 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 26, 2013

more


1 previous review
March 21, 2013

As a client of PEP and a professional counselor, I would recommend PEP to all of my clients and friends. My parents were not the role models that I would choose. PEP helped me develop and work towar... more

October 26, 2013

Professional counselors, doctors, psychiatrists and other health care professionals send parents to gain practical skills and support for a wide variety of parenting issues. I came to PEP when my children were very young, just to find some direction and a road map for parenting since I wanted a different approach form my parents punitive style of parenting. I have remained involved ever since. PEP changed my life.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 21, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

As a client of PEP and a professional counselor, I would recommend PEP to all of my clients and friends. My parents were not the role models that I would choose. PEP helped me develop and work toward a vision for my family that made sense to me. We worked toward improvement, independence, respect and responsibility, not perfection. They are happy, well adjusted adults. I think it worked!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

I started taking PEP parenting classes 17 years ago when my son was two and my daughter was a newborn. I have continued taking all levels of PEP classes as my children grew older and also participated in several workshops. I have found every PEP class incredibly valuable and helpful to me as a parent. PEP taught me how to be a thoughtful, caring parent who encouraged her children instead of my natural inclination as a strict authoritarian parent (which is how I was raised). It was not an easy process for me, and I retook several classes. I found all PEP instructors to be empathetic and encouraging and most of all, patient. In the 17 years of taking these classes, I have never heard any words of criticism or judgment by any PEP instructor to anyone in any class. I have also felt supported by the other class participants, and in one case, several of us decided to continue meeting informally. Everyone in my family has benefited greatly from PEP.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

like to see awareness of its program increased in the Northern Virginia area.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

I found PEP literature in my daughter's school in 2012 and decided to take a free class. I have taken PEP 1, PEP 2, and currently taking PEP 2+ and a PEP leadership class. The knowledge, wisdom, and information presented by the PEP leaders and parents is undeniably the BEST form of "education" for anyone with children in their lives. The Adlerian approach is a much needed source of encouragement for parents while providing the tools, instruction manual, and over all philosophy in a culture desperately seeking for more practical answers.

PEP also does a great job of bringing in expert authors to add additional information for those interested in learning more. Below are some of the authors that I was fortunate enough to hear their presentations and currently reading some their books.

Vicki Hoefle is a professional parent educator and the creator of the Parenting On Track™ Program. She began teaching more than 20 years ago, while running a daycare center in Seattle, WA.

Kenneth Ginsburg, M.D., is a pediatrician specializing in Adolescent Medicine at The Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia and a Professor of Pediatrics at the University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine. He also serves as Director of Health Services at Covenant House Pennsylvania, an agency that serves Philadelphia’s homeless and marginalized youth.

Rosalind Wiseman is an American parenting educator and author of several publications. Her New York Times best-selling book Queen Bees and Wannabes: Helping Your Daughter Survive Cliques, Gossip, Boyfriends, and Other Realities of Adolescence, released in 2002, was the basis of the hit comedy film Mean Girls (2004).

I HIGHLY RECOMMEND PEP to those seeking real answers.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would find ways to engage and recruit a diverse population to become more involved with PEP and also use technology to better enhance the overall content. I would also provided certifications once PEP leaders move forward in their mastery to go out and teach in their own environments. I would also partner with faculty members at all different levels of education to implement Adlerian methods to their students while using research to demonstrate impact using short vs. long data.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

I found PEP when my twin girls were 2. Two very different temperaments and PEP was the resource I needed. I loved my classes so much I went on to lead classes and I have never looked back. It was just the approach I was looking for...respectful and caring and everything about it felt right. I highly recommend this organization for any parent who is looking to better their relationship with their children. I loved PEP then and I love it now.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more classes in Virginia!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Parenting is the hardest thing I've ever done. Whether you had good role models for parenting or not - to me, parenting education is as normal and necessary as Drivers Education. Who would send their teenager out to drive their car with no instruction other than watching them drive it for years? PEP is a life changing organization as it has so much to offer. The "old" methods of parenting don't always work now and PEP empowers you with new strategies to interact with your child to get to the root of issues, manage your reactions and teach the child positive, encouraging ways to respond. I am still not always the parent I want to be (and PEP teaches it takes courage to accept that no one is perfect), but I have strategies to fall back on and guide me which gives me unbelievable peace of mind and has helped my entire family.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Stronger leadership to guide finances and fund development

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

PEP has been an incredible influence on the life of my family. When I was in the throes of parenting two children under age 3, I found myself repeating patterns of yelling that I experienced in my childhood. I took PEP's course on managing anger and my entire perspective on myself, my parenting and my relationships changed...for the better. I have been taking courses with PEP throughout the last 10 years, and I feel continually better equipped to be an encouraging parent through the ups and downs of life. The greatest things is, PEP has provided many community PEP talks in my children's schools and for other community groups. We have been able to spread their message of encouragement and provided needed training to many parents. PEP is absolutely life-changing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Like every other PEP volunteer, Leader, Board member I know, PEP classes made profound changes for the better in our family. My husband and I learned how to understand our children when they misbehaved and how to respond with respect, encouragement and love to help our children do better. Not only did this help our kids grow more kind, helpful, and responsible--it also made our home a happier and more affectionate one.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I started taking PEP classes when my now 15 year old was 2. I felt I was a lousy parent and I wanted to learn a better way. Fast forward 13 years - after having taken every single class and workshop there was to take not once but 2 or 3 times, I felt that the only way to "stay with the program" was to start teaching the classes (yes - to some people things come a little harder than others!!!). It has changed my parenting, it changed my marriage, I changed my profession as a result of my learnings at PEP and it truly changed my entire life. My family would not have survived the trial and tribulations life threw at us if it hadn't been for the COURAGE we learned at PEP. PEP is definitely a gift that keeps on giving and that everyone who comes in contact with it wants to pay forward.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not ...

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 20, 2013

more

October 20, 2013

PEP has given me powerful strategies to use with my child and in our child based business. I use the concepts as often as I remember with my son and they work beautifully. I also teach my instructors many of these strategies & concepts so they can apply in the classroom and camp setting. PEP's presentation of Adlerian Theory is on target and pragmatic, now I can respond with a loving message vs an emotional reaction or threat.






Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Offer a weekly or biweekly support group, at a cost, to help parents get to the Loving place faster and to deal with the with the emotional effects of their own upbringing.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2013

more

October 19, 2013

PEP was recommended to me when we had our son. When we was about 3 I started taking classes. Have taken most of their classes. Great and wonderful program! Can't say enough good about the classes, can do fair, special lectures etc.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers