Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
30 Reviews
1234.966675
Write A Review
October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I had the wonderful opportunity to go Honduras in late August . I can tell you that paramedics for children is a great charity and is one of the best run charity that I know. Rodger has a unique way to stretch every dollar and maximize the donations for Gods glory. I look forward to seeing the entire team in march

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I was lucky enough to spend a week in Honduras with Paramedics For Children, and it was an amazing experience. PFC is a great organization and Roger does an awesome job at keeping that way. The work they do is truly amazing and I am so happy that they continue to work hard. Ever since I left, I have been getting consistent emails from Roger and I am always impressed with the work they are doing. I hope I can go back and visit again.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I have been amazed at the work Rodger Harrison has accomplished for the Children in Honduras and Guatemala and in Indonesia. He started when he had been studying Spanish in Copan Riunas, Honduras. When Hurricane Mitch hit he learned that many of the friends he had made there were greatly devastated by mud slides and flooding. He went back to see the horrible devastation first hand and realized that there would be no medical help from the government. Not even nurses were there to help and certainly no doctors. It was then that he started Paramedics for Children. Being a paramedic in the states he started his one man charity helping the children in Copan Ruinas. He started small by bringing school supplies to the schools in the area. He had to ride horseback and travel in rivers and up mountains to reach them. Then he started bringing them vitamins. Then he started training paramedics in many towns across Honduras and Guatemala and then shipped in donated ambulances. Finally there was medical care and transportation to the hospital that was hours away. He then built a medical clinic with a doctor on staff. Families walk for miles over mountainous terrain to reach him. He has many volunteers from time to time but mostly he has done it all on his own. I had the honor to be his Point of Contact in the states when the international team he formed went to Indonesia after the great tsunami. There he helped hundreds of children in the remotest and hardest hit region Bonda Ache. He and his team had to endure many hardships with death all around them but they didn't complain. They were honored to help the children. Rodger has been faithful in his pursuit to help the families in Honduras. He thinks only of helping the people and the children. It only proves that one person can make a difference.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change anything but would hope he had more volunteers to help him.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

My husband, daughter, and I volunteered with PFC last year. This was our first time both volunteering for a nonprofit and visiting a third world country. We had the heart to volunteer, but not much education or experience. PFC exceeded all hopes and gifted us with a more compassionate and healthier world-view.
Their extraordinary hospitality combined with the genuine humanitarian effort they do make them the true example of a nonprofit. If they expected profit for themselves the organization would never have been founded in the first place. Their constant focus is on the well-being of the people they serve. They give and give and teach that level of glad servitude. I have never known an organization to be so purely-motivated. Doesn't everything these days have an agenda? Not for PFC. They seek to love, to care, to serve. They seek to embody kindness and educate and help the people they encounter learn to sustain themselves. They are not a hand-out, but they offer a hand-up in this frightening world of poverty and disease. And yet, during our time with PFC and the people who guided us around, we saw hope and life in the middle of the worst circumstances. That should be the litmus test that ought to be used to pick the best nonprofit. Hope and life in what would have been despair and death.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more exposure so more people would be more aware of them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I stumbled upon Paramedics for Children in September, 2008. Little did I realize my work with them would lead to a 5 year relationship. In the spring of 2008, I was in Honduras for a WHO training. Just by chance I took a 2 day trip to Copan Ruinas....One night, and I was in love. I ama Nurse Practitioner in Family Practice, and I knew I had a lot of skills and knowledge that would help the people, as well as myself. I went home and started planning my return, and not wanting to be part of a giant brigade, I came across Paramedics for Children. I worked in the clinic in the morning and studied Spanish in the afternoon. Some of the time I spent in the Aldeas delivering school supplies to hundreds of small children. I loved my experience so much I would go at least twice a year.
During that time, I met Silvana Ayuso, Vice President of Paramedics for Children, Guatemala. I began to expand into Guatemala where I began a one woman brigade to provide PAP smears to the under-served indigenous women in the high, rural mountains. With the generous donations of all the necessary equipment, along with Silvana, a nurse and a few women from the area, I was able to provide this service to more than 100 women. Some of these women had had 15 children, but had never had a PAP Smear. I have to say this experience was one of the best of my lifetime.
Additionally, I had the pleasure of working alongside the REDS Team from North Carolina doing a week specialty rescue training with the Guatemalan Military and volunteer Bomberos from around the country.
This year I have been able to fulfill a 40 year dream of serving in the Peace Corps, and I am currently a Peace Corps Volunteer for the next 27 months in Belize. Before I left, I was able to enhance the services Paramedics for Children will be providing in both countries. The Doctor I had worked for over the last 7 years was retiring and I was able to get her to donate the entire office to Paramedics for Children. Her extremely generous donation will allow Paramedics for Children to place small clinics, like the one in Copan, all over impoverished areas of Guatemala and enhance the services in Copan.
Without a doubt, once I complete my Peace Corps service, I will return to my, "volunteer roots" and Paramedics for Children. Because Paramedics for Children is a small organization, you have a huge chance to make a memorable impact, not only to those you serve, but for yourself. It is a life changing experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

Because I am a paramedic, I went searching for an organization to share my gifts. What I found was Paramedics for Children, an incredible organization. It is well organized, with so little overhead and yet with an incredible reach. It touches children and even adults in a small corner of the world, Copan, Honduras where there is so much poverty. Rodger, the creator and director of this organization started with one small vision and just let it grow and evolve, involving aid to school children and medical help. His heart is so big and he walks the walk, parenting, loving and adopting a young girl who struggles with seizures to keep her from being forgotten and lost due to her problems. Now she knows about love, safety and clean sheets. He has inspired so many people with his capacity for helping others, especially children that many of us return to help him in his work.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

nothing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I had an amazing time with Roger and PFC last year during my summer break from college. My school typically goes to Honduras every year, when I decided to go I had no idea what to expect. Little did I know my whole life would change from the week I spent working with the organization.

Everyday we experienced a new aspect of the culture and we got to really see Copan and help others. I would recommend this organization to anyone looking to volunteer in Central America

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make the organization larger so that more people could stay at the facility

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I've been a supporter of Paramedics for Children for many years because of the work they do and because of the way they talk about that work and the people they work with. I made a small regular donation and as I followed the organization I became even more impressed. in 2011 I had the opportunity to bring a group of 12 college students to Copan to work directly with the organization. We had been volunteering with children's homes in several locations in Honduras for over a decade and finally decided to seek out a new community partner for our group. I suggested Paramedics for Children, and we were approved for travel thanks to the details and information provided by the Director Rodger Harrison. It was an amazing trip and we were so impressed we returned the next year.

They have a bed & breakfast in a walled compound--with a beautiful garden--so visitors and volunteers alike are safe and well cared for. Best of all, profits from the B&B support the organization. On both of our trips we found the team members to be organized, knowledgeable, and dedicated to helping volunteers help the local community, recognizing that the volunteers are changed even more than the people we work with and gently helping the students work through their experiences. They used our talents and desire to work hard, and between physical work and school visit we felt our time was very well spent. I would recommend this volunteer location and organization 100%.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing--unless I could get them more money.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I volunteered with Paramedics for Children for 2 years in a row.. each time was an incredible experience and left me wanting to do more for the children of this world! Roger Harrison is an incredible man! I met him through Rod Ward a fellow paramedic with British Columbia ambulance service. I was interested in doing the volunteer work from the day i met rod and spoke to him about what he and Roger were doing.. sadly it took me until 2011 to get there... Well I haven't stopped! These people ar in it for the long haul.. there is no flash in the pan lets build a school and smile and go home! these people are KEEPING the schools going with their continuos supply of donated school supplies... medical check ups and providing a medical clinic for the people in the Copan Ruinas region! If you want to find your heart and refresh your soul... go work witht them and watch the love for the community and care for its children... all while keeping the future of the wonderful country of Honduras.. educated healthy and in it's own country!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

I worked with Rodger in May of 2012. In college I was a member of a group that travels to Honduras annually to do volunteer and service work ('the Honduras Project'). There was a bit of turbulence scheduling a trip because some of our previous sites were deemed unsafe for various reasons. When the group found out that the sites we intended to work at were no longer an option it was something of a scramble finding Paramedics for Children. I was somewhat wary of the place going into the trip, simply because we hadn't worked with this organization.

I must say this trip exceeded my expectations and stands out as my favorite volunteering experience when compared to the other trips I've made with my college group. Just being there I could see that the clinic itself was well organized. Rodger was very hospitable and truly made our group of 12 feel welcomed. The staff was also very welcoming and friendly.

The actual work we did was exactly what the Honduras Project was hoping for. The group aims to be immersed in the life of the community as best we can. We don't aim to simply pass through or to be tourists. While Rodger was somewhat wary about giving us too much work, he graciously yielded to our requests. As a result our group really had the chance to provide some aid to a family in need.

Additionally the Honduras Project likes to work with children, and Rodger gave us plenty of opportunities to interact with kids. He accompanied us to almost a dozen different schools where we played with kids and handed out supplies. We had a chance to truly engage with young people and get some insight into the culture.

Overall I think this is a top-notch nonprofit organization. They have plenty of structured activities that could meet all of their volunteers' needs. Additionally there is flexibility; room to wiggle around; room that Rodger used to cater to each group's unique needs and concerns. It was moving to see all of the good things this clinic and Rodger is doing in the community. I would highly recommend anyone to seek this clinic out if they are looking for a meaningful/ significant experience.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The only changes I would make to this organization would be whatever Rodger felt he needed to better serve the people in Honduras.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Join us on any number of missions to help the poor of both Guatemala and Honduras Volunteer