Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
78 Reviews
12.69231345
Write A Review
January 15, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more

January 15, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

After reading all this I would send their nickel back but it would cost me 50 cents.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 26, 2013
43 people found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2013
43 people found this review helpful

I too was about to write a check because I have a husband and son-in-laws and many friends that have served our country with honor. I thought "let me see just how much the TRUE veterans are getting and make sure the money goes to THEM. Imagine my shock that the majority of the money goes to FUNDRAISING! In other words the Vet as usual gets little if anything. They bring in over $103,000,000 and when they break down the EXPENSES more than half goes to fundraising and program expenses, so who is helping the Vet? This like everything else smacks our honored men for doing their duty. A veteran in the United States should NEVER EVER GO WITHOUT OR BE HOMELESS!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have it reviewed by folks smarter than myself and investigate money mismanagement.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013
21 people found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2013
21 people found this review helpful

Well thank god I researched this charity before I sent out a check. I, myself, am a disabled vet and I am very thankful for what I have and would love to help out a fellow vet in need. I'm not giving these crooks my money. Matter of fact, I was going to send them back the nickle they glued to the return form, but I think I'll keep it. Why waste a postage stamp?

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

return everyone's hard earned money, you crooks!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 14, 2013
12 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 14, 2013
12 people found this review helpful

i was curious as to the reputation of Paralyed Veterans of America (NH address). Thank God for Charity Navigator!! i tell my friends to check CN on any charity request before donating. shame on these people for collecting so much and using so little for the veterans!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 7, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
August 7, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

Their left hand doesn't know what the right hand is doing. They are soliciting me under the name of another family member who doesn't live with me, and never has. Communicating with this organization has done no good - yet. Money is being wasted that could otherwise be used to help the Veterans they are raising money for.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 5, 2012
9 people found this review helpful

more

August 5, 2012
9 people found this review helpful

I just received a letter in the mail from PVA asking for a donation. Since my husband is a disabled vet, I immediately went for my checkbook, but my prudent nature forced me to do a little research first. Yes, I discovered that the CEO makes a bundle, and that this organization spends a decent amount on fundraising, but the testimonies here on this site of the actual vets it helps have convinced me to make out that check. Good job, vets, for telling your story!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

ripping off people while pretending to help vets! pretty bad. High salaries little over half of the money going to programs. nasty people with no morales.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 9, 2011
26 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
September 9, 2011
26 people found this review helpful

It saddens me to read the negative comments people like to share on sites such as this one. People are so quick to judge an organization before ever asking one of its members what their opinion is of the organization. Personally, the veterans served by the organization are the only opinions that matter when it comes to judging the worthiness of the organization as a whole.

My husband is a life member of the PVA. He broke his neck while serving his country in the Air Force. The PVA has provided many invaluable services to him. The PVA serves as our paralyzed veterans' voice to Congress. They provide assistance with obtaining benefits from the Dept. of Veteran Affairs, which has a lot of red-tape involved. They cut through that tape faster than any individual has ever been able to. They provide countless adaptive sporting events throughout the year that gives the veterans a chance to live again. They have provided millions to research & development for new therapies and treatments for spinal cord injury. The list goes on and on, but hopefully you see the point I'm trying to make. My husband sacrificed so much while serving his country and is still paying that price today. How could you honestly post a comment on here complaining about the fundraising tactics and "nickels" wasted when that very same fundraising campaign not only brings in valuable donations but heightens the community's awareness of the organization.

Before you criticize an organization based solely on their "fundraising tactics," salaries, etc., please speak directly to one of the hundreds of thousands of paralyzed veterans in America and get their opinion.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

As a wife to one of our country's paralyzed veterans, I've witnessed first-hand the wonderful benefits this organization provides to its members. The organization requires a large staff to support its functions across the nation. People shouldn't be so quick to judge or make condescending remarks. The services of this organization are worth every penny of the support staff required to make it happen.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue doing what you are doing. You are making a difference in our veterans' lives and you are appreciated tremendously. Thank you!

March 7, 2011
6 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 7, 2011
6 people found this review helpful

This organization frequently sends me "gifts" that I do not want or need, but which must be expensive to mail out with their solicitations. What a waste. Today I received a solicitation with a cloth tote bag included. I'll donate it to another charity rather than throw it away, but it seems like a very inefficient way to collect funds.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

receiving unwanted gifts.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Stop spending money on cheap tote bags and address labels.

December 10, 2010
32 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
December 10, 2010
32 people found this review helpful

What a scam this is. In 2008, they took in 101 million dollars in contributions. They paid out 26 million in salaries and employee benefits, another 4 million for conferences and meetings, and a whopping 59 million for fund raising. So what are the paralyzed veterans getting?

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My elderly aunt receives mail from this organization and/or its state subsidiaries at least once a month.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Require they spend more money on paralyzed veterans.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers