Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
78 Reviews
12.69231345
Write A Review
January 25, 2013
12 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 25, 2013
12 people found this review helpful

I couldn't believe that the PVA had such poor reviews. I was just getting ready to throw a check in the mail tomorrow for their 2013 fundraising drive, but thought I would check out Charity Navigator first. I'm really disappointed in what I've seen regarding this charity on this site. I will be researching other charities for our Veterans and donating elsewhere.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 29, 2012
29 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 29, 2012
29 people found this review helpful

My husband (USAF Ret) and I have been donating to Paralyzed Veterans of America for many years. We were going to make another donation when I remembered the Charity Navigator website. After checking facts and figures, we will NOT be donating. Any charity that spends an excessive amount on fundraising should be closely examined. I'm very disappointed and as another poster stated, I feel duped. With the charity's assets, they could, and should, be helping veterans.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 29, 2012
12 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 29, 2012
12 people found this review helpful

The finanacial data presented here certainly paints a bleak picture of the ration of fundraising to total expenses. I wanted to find out more information on this, so I looked at the 2011 annual report posted on PVA's website. Surprise, it shows fundrainsing as about 21 %. So, is the data used here for evaluations that far off? It looks like it, so I'd be a little more cautious before condemning this organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 27, 2012
12 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 27, 2012
12 people found this review helpful

Having donated several times before, I frequently receive correspondence via US mail. I recently received a cheap electronic calculator. Wow, I thought, they had to get these for pennies! They cut the costs by getting calculators MADE IN CHINA! The thought that my donations are being sent to China infuriated me! There is no excuse for this. I wanted to learn more and found that they have a whopping 60% expense rate, of which at least some is going to CHINA. No more donations to PVA for me!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 18, 2012
9 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 18, 2012
9 people found this review helpful

I have been giving to the Paralyzed Veterans of America for years. I feel REALLY, REALLY duped after having reviewed the ratings and the fact that nearly no money goes to the Vets at all! But, the CEO makes a damned good salary, as do many of the other employees. I learned my lesson and will be giving no more money to this fake charity, that is just a freefall of money to the already rich. DUPED but now wiser. By, the way, there are some good Charities to give to. Navy- Marine Corps Relief Society received an A+ Will be smarter with money in the future. SadToBeScrewedSoSorryVets

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
November 28, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

60% on expensence! You will not repeat not get any donation here after. Plese remove my name and address from you mailing with regrets to the vets. A very poor showingt of benefits to the Paralized Vet. But the big guy gets the bucks. Not a penny more....

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 16, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 16, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

I also have followed the percentage of donation dollars that go to "fund raising" , administrative salaries, and misc expenses and find that these costs are also out of align with what I feel is fair for the receipant and the donor. I also will send f untrue donations to other more responsible veteran charities.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
October 18, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

Why is 60% of all funds spent on "Fund Raising"????????

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 16, 2012
32 people found this review helpful

more

September 16, 2012
32 people found this review helpful

This is an organization whose cause touches me deeply. However, I am shocked to see their statistics: receiving $102 million in contributions, they manage to spend $68.5 million on fundraising--this is outrageously inefficient. Additionally, the organization has four top execs making in or around $200,000. No wonder they get no stars at all. Of the tiny $15 that I was thinking of sending this time, only about $5 will actually help the vets: what a lousy shame!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 1, 2012
18 people found this review helpful

more

September 1, 2012
18 people found this review helpful

Ironically, no matter where I move, Paralyzed Veterans of America (PVA) seems to locate me and start sending me return-address mailing labels. I actually kind of appreciate them and usually send them a $5.00 check here and there because I feel guilty otherwise. But now, after reading these reviews--forget that!! I don't want to line their pockets if they treat our Veterans like they're yesterday's meatloaf. I'm so sorry their long history of being an established 501(C)(3) Non-profit seems to somehow make them "appear" more credible, when in actuality, they are not. I feel as though God has been putting it on my heart to help our Veterans get jobs and now, I'm more committed than ever. Take care and God bless. Amy

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers