Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
70 Reviews
12.48571345
| 1 ... 4 5 67 |
Write A Review
October 18, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
October 18, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

Why is 60% of all funds spent on "Fund Raising"????????

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 16, 2012
31 people found this review helpful

more

September 16, 2012
31 people found this review helpful

This is an organization whose cause touches me deeply. However, I am shocked to see their statistics: receiving $102 million in contributions, they manage to spend $68.5 million on fundraising--this is outrageously inefficient. Additionally, the organization has four top execs making in or around $200,000. No wonder they get no stars at all. Of the tiny $15 that I was thinking of sending this time, only about $5 will actually help the vets: what a lousy shame!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 1, 2012
17 people found this review helpful

more

September 1, 2012
17 people found this review helpful

Ironically, no matter where I move, Paralyzed Veterans of America (PVA) seems to locate me and start sending me return-address mailing labels. I actually kind of appreciate them and usually send them a $5.00 check here and there because I feel guilty otherwise. But now, after reading these reviews--forget that!! I don't want to line their pockets if they treat our Veterans like they're yesterday's meatloaf. I'm so sorry their long history of being an established 501(C)(3) Non-profit seems to somehow make them "appear" more credible, when in actuality, they are not. I feel as though God has been putting it on my heart to help our Veterans get jobs and now, I'm more committed than ever. Take care and God bless. Amy

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 17, 2012
55 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
August 17, 2012
55 people found this review helpful

I am a 100% service connected disabled veteran with a severe spinal disease combined with gun shot wound and reconstructive surgery issues. I was initially represented by the DAV in applying for service connection for my combat injuries and found their service and support to be a self-serv type group. They point you in the right direction but fall short at giving direct assistance. Frustrated, I sought patient advocate care through the PVA Mountain States Chapter. The representative that assisted me was much more helpful in filling out my appeal for the associated issues that accompanied my combat injuries, but the entire process took over 4 years to get 100% permanent rating. The PVA rep told me they provide life long support and care, but after my initial appointment, I ceased hearing from the PVA except for a monthly onslaught of unsolicited junk mail and a monthly magazine oddly just filled with corporate advertising. Their absentee approach didn't cause harm, after all, I am a grown man and shouldn't need an organization to hold my hand through the fog of military processes. It is nice getting any help when you are on 15-20 meds from drooling on the forms. The staff that ran the office I went to were nice people and I was impressed with their level of professionalism. Their rep that talked with me knew more then any other volunteer I had talked to and can say made a great difference on my decision to switch PVA over as my VHA patient representative.

3 years later I got a letter from a PVA 'NSO' who claimed she was my representative and the letter stated they were checking up on me and asked if I needed anything. Surprised, I called her back and told her of my compound needs and her response was - we are just checking in. Zero follow-up and no help was offered or given. Another year passed and I received the same letter. I wrote PVA back so I was clear in expressing my medical needs they said they would help with and again was ignored. Their response or lack of made me think the PVA only helps us initially to get signed up to report to congress and donors they are serving the most injured vets. They sure made me believe in their offers for assistance but I can affirm that I received no additional assistance other then a couple minutes of their time on the phone getting signed up with them and a couple more minutes of answering basic questions to get help filling out my appeal for my service connected injuries.

I recently discovered leaked sensitive what I thought to be private information I only shared with the Mountain States Chapter reps being shared with part time employees at the VA. I found it very inappropriate this info was shared, but apparently I signed away my privacy rights when I made them my VHA rep. That information being with people that had no intent of ever helping me and god knows who else made that the final straw. The PVA was fired in my case for negligence, ignoring my privacy demands, total failure to follow any issue up and for abandoning me, the veteran when I needed help the most. The PVA promised help getting me back to work, they promised help with adaptive sports for physical therapy, they promised help with my spinal disease with access to specialists, they promised help getting adaptive equipment,.. I received zero assistance with vocational therapy, zero adaptive sports involvement, zero help getting to the spinal injury specialists, zero help getting adaptive equipment, zero help in my home - I had to get my wheel chair, crutches, knee braces and adaptive devices directly from the VA on my own. The PVA is full of hot air and promises.

If there was a rating below the F they received by charitywatch and charity navigator I would say they earned well below that. They should be put out of business for fleecing donors, ignoring veterans and pretending to be govt associated using military titles and military nomenclature to fool donors, vets and Congress about their level of service. They put a couple wheelchair bound vets in pictures and a couple positions on their staff to make everyone think they are ran by vets for vets. Nothing could be further from the truth. In what world does a charitable staff need a 200k+ paycheck while offering nothing but a few minutes on the phone to veterans and a yearly party to waste more donor funds? My direct experience with the Paralyzed Veterans of America organization over 8 year period is that they are as close to frauds as you can get in what they appear to offer veterans. A person off the street that gets PVA advertising receives more financial help then veterans do, I hear they get a nickel in the mail each year. This is only my experience with one chapter, but I don't know how donors can put up with organizations that disguise charity expenses with annual trips to expensive resorts claiming to get together to benefit veterans. The PVA is a sham as my advocate. [sham] noun. 1. something that is not what it purports to be; a spurious imitation; fraud or hoax. The volunteer advocates that worked at the VA were more effective patient advocate then the PVA could ever be and they take two months to answer a response with usually a non-responsive answer that makes you scratch your head. Results can vary so greatly though from person to person, many people in the health business have no business being there. Kind of like how business has no place in charity. I couldn't find one thing that the PVA accomplished in Washington DC to justify going there, other then its a great excuse to have an executive salary with paid expenses, or be an attorney and we all know how much DC lobby attorney's are hurting for money.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

applying for VA services over an 8 year period as a 'life-time member'

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Fire the entire staff and start over offering real assistance programs to veterans instead of filling corporate pockets. Executive staff should volunteer their time or donate their salary back into the charity. No charity should spend so little on the people they claim to help while filling their own pockets and corporate advertising agencies. The best advertising comes from satisfied veterans, not corporate sponsors. Encourage every charity to fulfill their promises or stop making them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A little

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Somewhat badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

I found this organization by mistake.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

This group has caused me to lose trust for any 'non-profit' organization and fostered a deep distrust for charity and has encouraged me through their deceptive practices and false promises to never believe in people like these again. My depression and stress levels over my declining health and lack of support I thought I had have destroyed my faith in asking others for help.

August 7, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
August 7, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

Their left hand doesn't know what the right hand is doing. They are soliciting me under the name of another family member who doesn't live with me, and never has. Communicating with this organization has done no good - yet. Money is being wasted that could otherwise be used to help the Veterans they are raising money for.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 5, 2012
9 people found this review helpful

more

August 5, 2012
9 people found this review helpful

I just received a letter in the mail from PVA asking for a donation. Since my husband is a disabled vet, I immediately went for my checkbook, but my prudent nature forced me to do a little research first. Yes, I discovered that the CEO makes a bundle, and that this organization spends a decent amount on fundraising, but the testimonies here on this site of the actual vets it helps have convinced me to make out that check. Good job, vets, for telling your story!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 8, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

July 8, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

I wrote this charity, explaining that I could not contribute in the near future and suggested that they could try again in two years. It had no effect. Well, I tried. If they persist, I will keep any gifts received and throw everything else away.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 15, 2012
17 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
June 15, 2012
17 people found this review helpful

After reviewing this charity, on charitynavigator. org, I have made my one and only contribution to this organization. From now on, I will keep the nickels they send. I cannot believe that "Paralyzed Veterans of America" would have $111,579,401 in revenues (2010) and expenses totaling $110,639,918 (2010). How much is actually spent on these wonderful men and women who served in our Armed Forces? As the daughter of a Vietnam Veteran, I am appalled! Never again will this organization get a dime from me.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 5, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

June 5, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

PVA keeps sending my wife more junk mail and she does not donate to them. Any one know how to stop their junk mail? I am a disable Veteran and get my support from the VA.

The US Government should put a stop to these people.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 4, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 4, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

This charity does not respect its donors and will flood your mail with solicitations. I wouldn't recommend them to anybody. I've asked to be removed from their mailing list three times in the last six months and am still receiving mail. Also, they give out too many free gifts. (I gave money to them once a year and a half ago and am still receiving all kinds of junk. Last year, they sent me at least two 2012 calendars!) I have no confidence that they actually put my donation to good use. Too much "fundraising"...

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

stop distributing so many free gifts. Additionally, I would respect when donors ask to be removed from their mailing list-- and also just not send out so many mailings in general. It starts to feel like harassment.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

I had made a decision to start contributing a fraction of my paychecks to charity, and PVA was one of the first solicitations I received.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

Naivety.

What would you tell others about this organization?

Stay away from these guys. If you want to help veterans, I'm sure there are tons of other organizations that will actually respect both you and your donation-- instead of incessantly sending you crap in the mail. Sometimes I give to the Shepherd Center's SHARE Military Initiative, and I feel a lot more confident that those donations are being put to good use: http://www.shepherd.org/patient-care/care-for-us-service-members

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers