Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
74 Reviews
12.56757345
| 1 ... 3 4 5...8 |
Write A Review
June 14, 2013
11 people found this review helpful

more

June 14, 2013
11 people found this review helpful

I keep getting letters with a nickel in them and a ton of address labels. It's IRRATIONALLY guilt inducing to throw the letter in the trash, a great clue to the fact that the whole deal is a scam.

I gave in the past, but no more!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I am so glad that I could read the reviews from other people, but I don't know how to stop them from using the misery of paralyzed veterans to line their own pockets!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 19, 2013
8 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 19, 2013
8 people found this review helpful

now these bastards have a box in Topeka, ks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 14, 2013
12 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 14, 2013
12 people found this review helpful

i was curious as to the reputation of Paralyed Veterans of America (NH address). Thank God for Charity Navigator!! i tell my friends to check CN on any charity request before donating. shame on these people for collecting so much and using so little for the veterans!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 25, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

more

March 25, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

I have never donated before but as wife of retired military I intended to write a check today after their phone call. Then, I checked the internet! Thank you so much for being there to let us know about these scams - and that's what this outfit it! Shame on them!!!!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 10, 2013
10 people found this review helpful

more

March 10, 2013
10 people found this review helpful

While their 2011 annual report (posted on PVA's website) shows fundraising as about 21 %, I would like to see a breakdown of, at least, the categories of:
Public education
Advocacy, Research
Consumer and Professional Education.

These are popular places to bury
major "fundraising" costs.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 28, 2013
10 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 28, 2013
10 people found this review helpful

The leaders get $800,000???? I get lots of stuff from them in the mail, & from now on will say, "Thank you, Lord" & use them. I sent them a few dollars for some address labels they sent recently, but that will be it. No more money from me to pay these fat cats!!! Our veterans deserve better organizations than this one.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 27, 2013
18 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 27, 2013
18 people found this review helpful

Have been donatting to tis orginization for years. I am retired military and feel it is my responsibility to help injured verterans. Was always upset that they would send me cheep stuph that I did not want. I am more upset now that I know so llittle of what they receive goes to veterans.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 25, 2013
11 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 25, 2013
11 people found this review helpful

I couldn't believe that the PVA had such poor reviews. I was just getting ready to throw a check in the mail tomorrow for their 2013 fundraising drive, but thought I would check out Charity Navigator first. I'm really disappointed in what I've seen regarding this charity on this site. I will be researching other charities for our Veterans and donating elsewhere.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 29, 2012
29 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 29, 2012
29 people found this review helpful

My husband (USAF Ret) and I have been donating to Paralyzed Veterans of America for many years. We were going to make another donation when I remembered the Charity Navigator website. After checking facts and figures, we will NOT be donating. Any charity that spends an excessive amount on fundraising should be closely examined. I'm very disappointed and as another poster stated, I feel duped. With the charity's assets, they could, and should, be helping veterans.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 29, 2012
12 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 29, 2012
12 people found this review helpful

The finanacial data presented here certainly paints a bleak picture of the ration of fundraising to total expenses. I wanted to find out more information on this, so I looked at the 2011 annual report posted on PVA's website. Surprise, it shows fundrainsing as about 21 %. So, is the data used here for evaluations that far off? It looks like it, so I'd be a little more cautious before condemning this organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

| 1 ... 3 4 5...8 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers