Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
78 Reviews
12.69231345
Write A Review
November 17, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
November 17, 2014

Ben Affleck is outstanding on-screen and off. I am so appreciative of his support for PVA. My dear husband was taken from us by ALS two years ago. He was a Vietnam era veteran and the PVA was fantastic in seeing that he got the care and benefits which he so deserved. Thank you forever.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 12, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
1 previous review
July 24, 2014

I see a review here that doesn't seem to add up. I looked at the tax return they filed with the Internal Revenue Service. I did notice that PVA changed their year end to June 30 so the information ... more

November 12, 2014

Our veterans are our heroes for life. After serving our country, serious injury shouldn’t stop them from living the full, rewarding lives they deserve. At Paralyzed Veterans of America, we fight for better health care and benefits, aid in the search for a truly satisfying career, and provide the path to adventure through adaptive sports. What’s more, we are committed to ongoing care by educating clinicians about spinal cord injury, and we’re deeply invested in the future—a cure for paralysis.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 24, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I see a review here that doesn't seem to add up.

I looked at the tax return they filed with the Internal Revenue Service. I did notice that PVA changed their year end to June 30 so the information they filed on the tax return is for a 9 month period.

I could not find any recent
NY Post Aarticle on Paralyzed Veterans.

As part of the tax return I also looked at Schedule O which lists all of what they accomplish with the donations they raise - very informative"

Please visit www.pva.org or www.guidestar.org for accurate information.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

As a young girl I was stricken with encephalitis which has left me in a wheelchair. I had to learn to do everything all over again. Because I know what it's like to live with a disability and because I believe we all need to support our veterans 100% I know my contributions to PVA is the best way to do that.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 10, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
September 10, 2014

The United States of America exists today because of the bravery of countless men and women who have risked everything to protect the freedoms we enjoy. I am proud to say that there are veterans in every branch of my family and many have even laid down their lives for our country. I honor their sacrifice and that of every person in our military. Paralyzed Veterans of America is one of the rare organizations that repays our debt to the men and women of arms. Through the PVA, my family can reach out to those who have lost their hope and help them rebuild their lives. We trust and proudly support this noble organization in its important work.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
August 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

As a volunteer and a donor, I feel my time and money have been put to good use. I've seen first hand how the PVA and their staff interact with the PVA veterans in their sports program like trapshooting, and handcyclying, fishing, and wheelchair games. It is so important to give these veterans the opportunity to see what they can accomplish, especially after being so catastrophiclly injureded. Some of these vets are just out of Rehab and to see the sense of accomplishment that they expierence is fantastic.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My husband and I have been donating to PVA for over 4 years because we care about injured veterans. We have had the pleasure of visiting the DC office and meet the staff and it's important to note that many of the staff are wheelchair-bound and also veterans-they know and understand the plight of those they serve.

Many of the services PVA provides are not visible to the general public, but they are critical to the injured veterans. The advocacy PVA provides to crafting federal legislation and providing adequate benefits is unparalleled - they ARE the paralyzed veterans' advocate in Congress. And they carry this influence because of their Congressional charter and knowledgeable staff. And in addition to this influence on Capitol Hill, they provide services where there would otherwise be a gap - in legal representation, in career development, in achieving a full life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Better communicate what makes this organization different from other charities and explain the discrepancies with other charites in financial disclosures as that seems to be turning a lot of potential donors off of the important and critical work PVA does.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 15, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

more

July 15, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

I donated last year but when I checked their donations compared to what their expenses are ... For get them! They are talking 99% for expenses. So people check these places out before giving. Google ........the ugly business of stealing money mention for vets,.....by NY Post
.....

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My boyfriend is a veteran and I admire what he has done for our country. I also see him in pain from time to time. We try to contribute as much as we can.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 8, 2014

I lost a relative in Afghanistan and to honor him, I make donation to the PVA when I can. I have noticed that the organization lives up to its goal.
I'm very proud to make my contributions.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 27, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 27, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

My husband and I contribute to PVA because we like PVA's approach to helping veterans, its work on spinal cord research, and on issues such civil rights for people with disabilities and making sure they get the benefits they deserve.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers