Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
84 Reviews
12.79762345
Write A Review
March 5, 2015

more

March 5, 2015

Dad was a strong PVA supporter, then after I was treated for a TBI, I noticed how much support veterans were getting from the PVA. Now I give to them because I want to support my fellow vets.
March 5, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
2 previous reviews - show all
November 12, 2014

Our veterans are our heroes for life. After serving our country, serious injury shouldn’t stop them from living the full, rewarding lives they deserve. At Paralyzed Veterans of America, we fight for... more

March 5, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

Here is Charity Navigator's own letter re: the deficiencies in Charity Navigator's review of non-profits (http://overheadmyth.com/). That's why I go to guidestar.org.
"In 2013, GuideStar, BBB Wise Giving Alliance, and Charity Navigator wrote an open letter to the donors of America in a campaign
to end the Overhead Myth—the false conception that financial ratios are the sole indicator of nonprofit performance. For our second letter, released in October 2014, we invite the nonprofits of America to do their part to focus donors’ attention on what really matters: your organization’s efforts to make the world a better place. We ask nonprofits and the social sector at large to join us as we move toward an Overhead Solution."
November 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Our veterans are our heroes for life. After serving our country, serious injury shouldn’t stop them from living the full, rewarding lives they deserve. At Paralyzed Veterans of America, we fight for better health care and benefits, aid in the search for a truly satisfying career, and provide the path to adventure through adaptive sports. What’s more, we are committed to ongoing care by educating clinicians about spinal cord injury, and we’re deeply invested in the future—a cure for paralysis.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 24, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

I see a review here that doesn't seem to add up.

I looked at the tax return they filed with the Internal Revenue Service. I did notice that PVA changed their year end to June 30 so the information they filed on the tax return is for a 9 month period.

I could not find any recent
NY Post Aarticle on Paralyzed Veterans.

As part of the tax return I also looked at Schedule O which lists all of what they accomplish with the donations they raise - very informative"

Please visit www.pva.org or www.guidestar.org for accurate information.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 1, 2015
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
March 1, 2015
4 people found this review helpful

I am a combat veteran, trained as an analyst by the army.

I looked up this organization, 62% of income goes for fund raising, "Charity Navigator" gives them a no start rating. Like in diving into unknown waters "look before you leap".

I am not happy with organizations feeding
off the veterans.
February 10, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 10, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

One organization or one government can't support the entire veteran population in the way that they need. Supporting our troops is a community responsibility. There are hundreds of non-governmental agencies that provide various veterans services, and all can use contributions of time, money or goods. I choose to support Paralyzed Veterans of America because they are a mature organization nearly 70 years old, and they seem to have a greater understanding of the needs of the general disabled veterans community and the individual needs of service members and their families. They provide a wide variety of programs and services that meet as many needs as they can. A very fine organization.
January 16, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 16, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

What i like about this organization is their willingness to network for the good of their clients; their excellent outreach programs for veterans; and their high-quality publications (PN, Sports 'n Spokes, etc.).
January 7, 2015
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
January 7, 2015
3 people found this review helpful

My son is an Iraqi War Veteran who became paralyzed, and thanks to the PVA he was able to receive all the support possible and the process was very smooth. He received career training from one of their vocational rehabilitation centers at the VA which has the best staff in the world. Without the help from this excellent organization my son would still be in depression and have no quality of life.
November 17, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
November 17, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

Ben Affleck is outstanding on-screen and off. I am so appreciative of his support for PVA. My dear husband was taken from us by ALS two years ago. He was a Vietnam era veteran and the PVA was fantastic in seeing that he got the care and benefits which he so deserved. Thank you forever.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 3, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more

October 3, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

As a young girl I was stricken with encephalitis which has left me in a wheelchair. I had to learn to do everything all over again. Because I know what it's like to live with a disability and because I believe we all need to support our veterans 100% I know my contributions to PVA is the best way to do that.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 10, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
September 10, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

The United States of America exists today because of the bravery of countless men and women who have risked everything to protect the freedoms we enjoy. I am proud to say that there are veterans in every branch of my family and many have even laid down their lives for our country. I honor their sacrifice and that of every person in our military. Paralyzed Veterans of America is one of the rare organizations that repays our debt to the men and women of arms. Through the PVA, my family can reach out to those who have lost their hope and help them rebuild their lives. We trust and proudly support this noble organization in its important work.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 15, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
August 15, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

As a volunteer and a donor, I feel my time and money have been put to good use. I've seen first hand how the PVA and their staff interact with the PVA veterans in their sports program like trapshooting, and handcyclying, fishing, and wheelchair games. It is so important to give these veterans the opportunity to see what they can accomplish, especially after being so catastrophiclly injureded. Some of these vets are just out of Rehab and to see the sense of accomplishment that they expierence is fantastic.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers