Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
54 Reviews
1.759262345
Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
January 26, 2014
15 people found this review helpful

more

January 26, 2014
15 people found this review helpful

I have, in the past, contributed several times to this organization. But no longer, after reading comments like these...

"What a scam this is. In 2008, they took in 101 million dollars in contributions. They paid out 26 million in salaries and employee benefits, another 4 million for
conferences and meetings, and a whopping 59 million for fund raising. So what are the paralyzed veterans getting? "

The defenders say we should just listen to reviews of vets that were helped. That's ridiculous! It's what they do with the totality of the money given them, not just to some isolated individuals. I'm sure they help some, but if the director and employees are getting handsome salaries then its still not right! People who work for charities should be examples of selfless individuals and not in the racket to make money. If they want to do that they should be in another field!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

deliver a smaller percentage of donations to salary for staff members and spend less on fund raising.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 15, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more

January 15, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

After reading all this I would send their nickel back but it would cost me 50 cents.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 15, 2014
10 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
January 15, 2014
10 people found this review helpful

63% goes to fundraising and some of their top salaries are in the $100,000+ range with the CFO getting $200,000+. I stopped donating when I found that out and told them I don't want to be on their mailing list, the keep sending stuff. No wonder they spend so much on fundraising.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Take a lesson from the Salvation Army about how to run a charitable organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 31, 2013
8 people found this review helpful

more

December 31, 2013
8 people found this review helpful

When i tried to get off their mailing list, they were very rude to me.
Then i read what vets were saying about how horrible theis ripoff organization is so maybe i'll let them mail me the stuff and have the post office charge them for return/refused mail.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Close shop

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 30, 2013
9 people found this review helpful

more

November 30, 2013
9 people found this review helpful

Wow what a nut I have been. I have been donating to PVA for over 2 years. Have checked out how much my dollar actually goes out to our vets. No more! Im going to find a few local vets and help them! Check it out! Do some research..you will be happy you did!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Send out less frebies and save money. I dont need to be bribed with stuff to donate to worthwhile charity!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 7, 2013
16 people found this review helpful

more

November 7, 2013
16 people found this review helpful

I have read many reviews here, many of them negative about where the money goes, but you must stop and think about any charity, the Red Cross, the director makes over $600,000.00 a year, the United Way, another big money grab by the directors, want to give to a charity that uses your money the right way, give to the Salvation Army, their director makes $18,000.00 a year.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 26, 2013
39 people found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2013
39 people found this review helpful

I too was about to write a check because I have a husband and son-in-laws and many friends that have served our country with honor. I thought "let me see just how much the TRUE veterans are getting and make sure the money goes to THEM. Imagine my shock that the majority of the money goes to FUNDRAISING! In other words the Vet as usual gets little if anything. They bring in over $103,000,000 and when they break down the EXPENSES more than half goes to fundraising and program expenses, so who is helping the Vet? This like everything else smacks our honored men for doing their duty. A veteran in the United States should NEVER EVER GO WITHOUT OR BE HOMELESS!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have it reviewed by folks smarter than myself and investigate money mismanagement.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013
19 people found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2013
19 people found this review helpful

Well thank god I researched this charity before I sent out a check. I, myself, am a disabled vet and I am very thankful for what I have and would love to help out a fellow vet in need. I'm not giving these crooks my money. Matter of fact, I was going to send them back the nickle they glued to the return form, but I think I'll keep it. Why waste a postage stamp?

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

return everyone's hard earned money, you crooks!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 13, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
September 13, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

This is a great non profit that helps out this veterans that are paralyzed. Most moneys go to helping out veterans with getting wheelchairs, mental and financial troubles. They also have a lot of activities for theses veterans to do like shooting sports and scuba diving.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 19, 2013
21 people found this review helpful

more

August 19, 2013
21 people found this review helpful

I wrote out my check and was ready to rip it out of the checkbook and mail it when a little bird on my shoulder said "Check the internet, Google them." So I did. I found this site and what I am reading is sad. I have given for years in the past. I have enough labels to wallpaper a room! My check will be shredded and my money donated elsewhere. I am going to Google the D.A.V., I hope I find better news there!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers