Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 16, 2014

more

October 16, 2014

Panther Ridge is a fantastic place. It is a beautiful sanctuary for big cats that have been abused, confiscated, and even retired from zoos and circuses. Many of the cats suffer from ailments derived from their previous owners. Panther Ridge pledges to care for them until the end. Each of the cats has their own personality and mannerisms. Amos, the black leopard, is a laugh a minute when he runs around his enclosure trying to startle guests. Macho, an ocelot, is a vision of beauty as he sunbathes while lying on a branch of his own personal tree. Charlie cheetah is a beautiful specimen, and his love and admiration for his care giver Judy is a bond that is visual.

Panther Ridge is also a fantastic photo opportunity for photographers to photograph these amazing animals without having to travel to their native lands. Ocelots, Servals, Jaguars, and Clouded Leopards are just some of the species Panther Ridge cares for.
October 15, 2014

more

October 15, 2014

Panther Ridge is a fantastic place to be!!! Whether as a volunteer or visitor, you will never be as close to these incredible animals. as you will at Panther Ridge. I spent over 10 years at a similar facility in Nevada & Arizona, you will not find a better place in South Florida.
October 13, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 15, 2012

Panther Ridge is my heaven on earth. It is a beautiful property filled with unique cats that are seldom seen in such a close setting. I have been blessed to volunteer there for 7 months, rebuilding... more

October 13, 2014

Panther Ridge is an amazing and pristine sanctuary for abandoned, abused, and retired big cats. I have spent many years volunteering with these glorious felines and have felt blessed to be in their presence. I have brought many groups of college students to help rebuild habitats and everyone of them has been moved to tears to have been of service to such marvelous spirits. For many students, it has been a once in a lifetime opportunity for them to see and get to know these rare felines as souls with value, unique personalities, and meaning as opposed to a "just" a beautiful cat in a cage. Their enclosures are beautiful and natural and NO cat has to sleep on hard concrete like many places I have visited. Judy Berens works tirelessly to provide them with not only the proper food and medicine, but loving enrichment and activities. These well adjusted and happy felines are a testimony to the loving care that they receive from the staff and volunteers. The tours provide tremendous opportunities for education about the issues facing these animals in the wild by developing a one on one connection with each feline. I have been to many other facilities and this one is the best.....by far! It's well worth a visit!
November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Panther Ridge is my heaven on earth. It is a beautiful property filled with unique cats that are seldom seen in such a close setting. I have been blessed to volunteer there for 7 months, rebuilding some of the decking and structures in the cats’ enclosures. It has been a life changing experience to communicate with and assist such noble animals and the dedicated people that take care of them so well. I can’t begin to explain how rewarding it is to raise a roof on the den for of an old, wise, loving, and very arthritic cougar. Then to see that cougar realize that he no longer has to stoop down to enter his den, and in his joy, approaches me at the fence and thanks me with his precious vocalizations and a dance of love. After re-decking the lock out enclosure for Amos the black leopard, he rubbed on the fence between us trying to hug me and vocalized his gratefulness. The world would be a more compassionate place if everyone was lucky enough to have the experiences that I have had while working with these big cats. Many of the animals were abandoned by their original owners and came to Panther Ridge feeling unloved and filled with anxiety. To witness their recovery and capacity to trust again is truly remarkable and gives me hope for the world. Judy, the director, has given so much of her time and love to ensure that these animals know their own worth and you feel that as soon as you enter the place. The staff is very knowledgeable about all the cats and their individual personalities and they work very hard at maintaining a healthy, clean, and loving environment for them. I recommend that everyone tour the place or spend some time volunteering. You will definitely receive more that you give!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 7, 2014

more

October 7, 2014

This is by far the best place I've Volunteered. Attention to animal care is the number one priority. The facility and dietary need of each animal are catered to with attention also to enrichment for the cats. I would recommend everyone to call for a tour, I can guarantee you'll be amazed, Judy is amazing and the cats are extraordinary.
October 6, 2014

more


1 previous review
May 16, 2013

Having volunteered at several facilities across the Country, I have to put Panther Ridge Conservation center at the top of my list. Habitats, diets and enrichment plans for the cats go way above ... more

October 6, 2014

This is the most beautiful facility I've ever volunteered for. Attention to the dietary and enrichment needs of each individual cat make Panther Ridge CC stand out as an exceptional Conservation Center.
May 16, 2013

Having volunteered at several facilities across the Country, I have to put Panther Ridge Conservation center at the top of my list. Habitats, diets and enrichment plans for the cats go way above standard and resident felines receive a level of exceptional care. Tours for guests are unparalleled. Fully guided, visitors never need to walk past an enclosure wondering "did they see all there was to be seen." At the end of an approximate two hours, guests leave with an expanded knowledge of not only each species but each individual cat's special story.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

......like to find more people who love it as much as I do to lend their support.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 6, 2014

more


1 previous review
May 5, 2013

I have had the privileged also of beeing a volunteer in the past, and I now help with fundraising and its a wonderful place. Everyone that visits can see how well they take care of cats, how clean and... more

October 6, 2014

Panther Ridge is a wonderful place where abandon and abused wild cats find a caring, clean, loving, safe home. I have seen changes in the demeanor of many cats that now know that they found a home where they can live the rest of their lives being just a cat. PantherRidge don't just feed, house and take care of their residents medical need, they have many enrichment programs and volunteers that spend time with each resident. Its a wonderful place to visit, where adults and children get a education on conservation, and become passionate about this magnificent creatures . The fate of this cats would be unthinkable if not for this corner of Cat heaven. Panther Ridge defines the word Sanctuary!
May 5, 2013

I have had the privileged also of beeing a volunteer in the past, and I now help with fundraising and its a wonderful place. Everyone that visits can see how well they take care of cats, how clean and beautiful it is! A paradise for abused, abandoned cats! Judy is a special lady and Panther Ridge is a place were you can be sure your donations is going towards the cats well beeing!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 6, 2014

more

October 6, 2014

Outstanding sanctuary. The respect the staff has for the large cats is immense. The facility is impeccably kept and does a fantastic job in community outreach, education and conservation. It is humbling to see the love for these animals and their love for Judy and her staff.
October 3, 2014

more

October 3, 2014

Panther Ridge is a true sanctuary for the animals that live there. It is probably the cleanest animal sanctuary I have ever seen. The director, Judy Berens, and her staff and volunteers truly care about these animals and the cats are healthy, happy and social. What a great place for big cats that have been neglected, abused, or abandoned to live out the rest of their lives.
September 5, 2014

more

September 5, 2014

Last Saturday, four of us gals went you to visit Judy Berens and her fabulous facility. Her staff was extremely, knowledgeable, friendly and gave us a wonderful tour, introducing us to each of the exquisite exotic cats they have at their facility. The facility is kept immaculately and the cats are truly loved by all, and extremely healthy and happy. Judy is passionate about her 'babies' and it truly shows! She has truly devoted her life, not only to her own cause, but to other similar causes around the world, never ceasing to pursue further knowledge. She truly lives for her cause. I will most definitely take other friends out to see the beautiful world she has created for those very lucky cats.
April 28, 2014

more

April 28, 2014

On Saturday afternoon a few high school students and myself visted Panther Ridge and had the opportunity to see the cats Scott gave our group the tour of these beautiful animals; it was an enjoyable experience being so close to them and hearing their different stories. The grounds and their cages were clean and free of any kind of debris. Judy and her staff were all welcoming, friendly and very informative, an afternoon well spent.
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers