Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
66 Reviews
1234.893945
Write A Review
October 6, 2013

more


1 previous review
February 28, 2011

Pandas International is an internationally recognized champion of the very endangered Giant Pandas. They don't just talk about what could be done but rather they identify needs and are then dedicated... more

October 6, 2013

In April 2006 I fell in love with my very first panda. He was the panda cub born at the Smithsonian National Zoo in Washington, D.C. named Tai Shan. From that love grew my passion for Giant Pandas and a desire to help in any way I could to help conserve and preserve these magnificent bears. And then I found Pandas International (PI). I first began interacting with PI by helping with fundraisers, panda adoptions and helping promote their events. Then, in 2010, I traveled to China with a tour group related to PI and met Suzanne Braden, the Director of PI, and saw firsthand how passionate and dedicated she is in supporting Giant Pandas in so many ways. Since then I've been back 3 more times with PI. One of the most inspiring part of PI is that Suzanne is a volunteer" Director who operates PI out of the basement of her home. Suzanne, along with 3 other hard working staff members, is able to literally move mountains in terms of getting the Giant Panda Reserves in China what they so desperately need in terms of baby formula, medical supplies, vaccines, GPS tracking collars, and so much more. I not only believe in what PI stands for and all that they accomplish but I am proud to be a volunteer doing what I can to help both PI and our magnificent Giant Pandas. Thank you PI for all of your hard work and dedication towards the conservation and preservation of our beloved bears.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 28, 2011

Pandas International is an internationally recognized champion of the very endangered Giant Pandas. They don't just talk about what could be done but rather they identify needs and are then dedicated to making sure the needs are fulfilled through their tireless fundraising efforts and by traveling to China to help in any way possible.

I have always loved Giant Pandas but it wasn't until Tai Shan was born at the Smithsonian National Zoo and I fell in love with him and his parents that I started to learn about just how endangered Giant Pandas are. From there I learned about Pandas International and about all the great work they do and their many accomplishments. Their motto is:
"Endangered means we have time
Extinction is Forever!"

I was so inspired by their efforts that I took a trip to China, organized by Pandas International, in September 2010 to get to see them in action as well as meet a great many pandas - and of course visit Tai Shan who now lives in China. I have also gotten involved with various fundraisers to support their efforts.

Suzanne Braden, the director of Pandas International, and her staff are both very knowledgeable and passionate about saving our beloved Giant Pandas. Suzanne's efforts are a good example of how a charity does it right and makes a difference in this world. Suzanne and Pandas International have inspired many people to join the cause to ensure that extinction and Giant Pandas are never used together - ever.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have watched as Pandas International has made great strides in spreading the word that Giant Pandas need lots of financial support so ensure that they will be around for a very long time. I read about their efforts, on the ground in China, right after the 2008 earthquake that was incredibly devastating. Their efforts have supported purchasing milk and supplies for newborn baby pandas as well as helping to repopulate the land in China with more bamboo (that was cleared out for future building sites.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

October 6, 2013

more

October 6, 2013

Pandas International has been instrumental in providing much needed support for the raising, protection and conservation of giant pandas. Among other things, they have helped with providing special milk formula for new born pandas, incubators in which to raise orphan new born pandas, educational displays at the research center, planting bamboo for pandas in the nature reserve.

I know first hand how much the China Conservation and Research Center for the Giant Panda and other wildlife rescue centers have benefitted and appreciate the support of Pandas International.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2013

more

October 5, 2013

I met Suzanne and Diane the other founder of Pandas International in 2001 and was so impressed by what they were doing that while on a vacation to China that September we (4 of us) contacted them about seeing the reserve in Woolong. I had always been a lover of the bear since the USA received in 1972 the great gift of the adorable black and white bear. Spending time at the reserve made me aware of how important the preservation of this great animal is and how little monies are actually being received at the reserve from the other very well-known animal support organizations. I have been dedicated ever since to helping promote awareness and money to a special species and love the fact that what Pandas International does is received at the reserves. Please support this great organization which is dedicated to getting supplies and funds to the place where it makes a difference! Just 1600 remain on the planet.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 1, 2013

more

October 1, 2013

I have volunteered with Pandas International, since joining one of their 2010 tours in China, and adopted a cub Hu Xiao, since 2010. I also support the work of Pandas International by bringing enrichment toys to the pandas. I assist in fundraising through donations of items and attend their annual dinner in February in Denver.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Establish a sub branch in Australia where I live.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

As the Volunteer Director and Board member of Pandas International, going to China once a year to observe how our support is being implemented at the Panda Centers is one of the greatest times of the year. Hand carrying supplies in heavy luggage and long flights is quickly forgotten at the sight of Giant Pandas. Seeing the staff caring for the pandas and knowing Pandas International is having an impact by providing formula, incubators, vaccines, basic hospital supplies, advanced training for staff, etc. is a wonderful feeling. Doing all I can to help save this magnificent species is extremely fulfilling. Seeing cubs in incubators PI has provided and getting formula PI has provided and staff helping the cubs to nurse is just truly inspirational. So as we say- Endangered means we have time- Extinction is Forever!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 23, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 23, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

My daughter (18 yrs) and I were travelling in China for a month and volunteered at Bifengxia Panda Center for a day. It took us 2 hours by private car to get there from Chengdu and we spent the most wonderful day at the Centre. We looked after a Panda breeding enclosure with Ebu and Chengdu our pandas.

We mucked out the outdoor area as well as their indoor sleeping and eating area. Break up the bamboo and replace it in the outdoor area. We got to cut up apples, carrots and 'Panda cake' for their morning tea, lunch and afternoon tea and hand fed them with the trainer close by. What an amazing experience. Lots of photo opportunities.

We ate lunch with all the Chinese employees and spent about an hour when the park was closed over lunch watching the baby pandas play in the Kindergarten enclosure!

We would definitely go back for longer than a day next time!

Cherie and Maddi Whan from Australia July 2012

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 16, 2012

more

April 16, 2012

I have supported PI from it's inception volunteering for events... PI helps with donations of milk for panda babies and bamboo for all pandas! without PI's support and dedication we wouldn't be able to love all of these wonderful bears!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 29, 2010

more

April 29, 2010

This organization helps educate anyone that has become a GPF (Global Panda Fan) of all the work being done to hopefully allow the Pandas to not become extinct in our lifetime... All one has to realize that every 20 minutes a species of plant or animal becomes extinct on our planet...We all must be concerned before we also join that list because without our intervention in slowing or halting this fact one wonders will manking join this list of extinct life on earth ?

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Helping turn around the fact that a species of plant or animal goes extinct every 20 minutes on our planet

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

The news of Panda Research around the world to save and prevent the extinction of this species

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Help with the research to find a cure or reason for Panda Infertility as well as the continued care of supplies needed to maintain the research worldwide

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Could do a Pennies4Pandas Project in their home town
www.pennies4pandas.org Volunteer