Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
21 Reviews
1234.904765
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
March 26, 2014

more

March 26, 2014

Wonderful counselors at PDAP, I recommend Ms.Lorene personally. Not only was I inspired I overcame obstacles by choice with guidance. If your looking for change this is the PLACE, just remember change STARTS from within.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 19, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
November 19, 2013

It is a good place to come and to vent to counselors. I am very comfortable with them, and they encourage you. PDAP has also helped me to realize that there is more to life than to drink and do drugs. We can come together like a family, I enjoy coming here.

I feel when I am going to
fall, I come to PDAP and I leave here with high spirits and I don’t make bad choices when I leave. The counselors are always willing to stop whatever they are doing and help. We are all one step from falling. We need to be around positive people, and we get that here.

I have been sober since the 29th of July 2013, and I have my 10 year old and my 7 year old back, and my husband and I are enjoying being parents – Thanks to Palmer Drug Abuse Program!

Julia S

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Add more counselors.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 2, 2013

more

February 2, 2013

I have been a Client,volunteer,and employed. My first encounter was a shock never had so many people love and accept me for ME. That's what I found at every PDAP I have been at. I was at my bottom in 1987 and they saved my life. Wish I could say I have been sober this whole time I have fallen a few time but by God's grace and my family in the program I have gotten back up and started living again.That's what I have done in the program I learned to live.they helped me see i am important My children were raised in the program and don't always make decisions like I would like them to again PDAP has helped me let go I Love my PDAP family Thanks for being there when everyone had given up on me because PDAP never will

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I came to Pdap sent By Cps and I fell in love with the program!! it became more of a program to me it became my family and it taught me about God. It helped me further my skills and gave me the tools and knowledge I needed to further my relationship with God. Now I am attending a missionary school! Pdap rocks and I will recommend it to anyone who asks about it. The staff there are great and they are an awesome family to have. Because Pdap i was able to get that foundation I needed and God has taken me so far since then!! Thank you!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 3, 2012

more

November 3, 2012

My son's addiction brought me into PDAP. PDAP has saved my son's life, twice. PDAP invited me and my sick family system in for help. I was on Family Death Watch. That is no longer true. PDAP has gently healed my failures and shame. My counselor and sponsor listen to my fears and hurts and provide me comfort, perspective and wisdom. That has included my "panic" phone calls to them when I was alone at day-time or night-time. They have helped me through the Twelve Steps, with endless love and patience. I have gone through many terrible fires of hurt - and the grace of transformation. PDAP continues to hold me in their loving embrace even with all my warts and weaknesses. They really know who I am, and its okay. The Twelve Steps really work, even in spite of my best efforts. My life has changed in ways I thought impossible and hopeless. I still have a ways to go. I'm amazed that I'm a sponsor now (the 12th Step). That was another brave and healthy surrender to my Higher Power, and it's been good for me. Thank you for reading my story.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2004

March 30, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
March 30, 2012

I was not interested or motivated to participate in the activiites and program. I was angry and pissed off at the system and saw PDAp as just another part of the system that was placing all these restrictions and hardships on my life. But after going to a few of the meetings, classes, and counselings I was able to see and experience the love the people there possessed and expressed to me and others. This helped to take away my anger and allowed me to actually listen to what was being said and start to make changes in my thinking and behavior. The people at PDAP have a genuine love for us all and it shows in the way they treat you and I can not thank them enough for doing what they do for all of us.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 11, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
March 11, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Anyone who’s been around recovery for a while has at one time or another probably heard someone say something like, “It does not matter where you get recovery. What matters is that you get recovery.” For those living in or near a city, there are usually a number of programs, groups, and various meeting to choose from, and for those lucky enough to be living in or near San Antonio, there’s PDAP

I tried other programs, different groups within a program, and even different meetings within a particular group, but none seemed to take hold. I cannot put my finger on it, but something seemed to be missing. Then, while I was drying out at a detox center (again), my wife-to-be took to the phone book and found PDAP.

We discovered that PDAP had more to offer than the more established recovery programs. We immediately appreciated the counseling, convenient meeting times and locations, and the sudo-mandatory social events. We also liked the fact that PDAP is a 12-Step program, something we were both were already familiar with.

PDAP was quickly and easily integrated into our life, something we found to be very important. Between the meetings and events, there was always something “recovery focused” to do. The immersion in recovery worked very well for us, to the point that PDAP played a significant part in our wedding.

I believe PDAP worked for me for three reasons. First, PDAP showed me how to have fun without drugs and/or alcohol, something I had forgotten how to do. Second, I was never made to feel guilty if I missed a meeting or social event. And lastly, something that is foreign to some other programs, while I “worked” PDAP, I still felt as though I had the freedom to work “my program”.

I no longer live in San Antonio, but while I am not an active “member” of PDAP, it stills plays an active role in my life. I’ll be 18 years sober on September 1 of this year (2012), and I own those 18 years to the foundation of recovery that was built in PDAP.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

setting me on a solid course of recovery

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

The telephone book

November 1, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
November 1, 2011

I came to the program in January 2011. I was resisitant and hesitant to get help. While I rebeled the staff kept reaching out to me and made me feel welcomed. Eventually I decided to actually work the program rather than just "attend" the program.
My experience has been positive. I am sober and
have learned how to deal with everyday life rather than turning to drugs. The new coping skills I have gotten will last a lifetime.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My everyday life. These people are always here for me

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more staff and advertise more so more people can get help

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

How did you find this group?

Child Protective Services sent me.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

My attitude, coping skills, as a parent and my faith.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 18, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
August 18, 2011

I have only been her a short time but so far it has proven to be way better than I expected. When my mom told me I was going to a drug program I did not expect to be cared aboput and accepted as I have been here. Not only am I learning but I'm also having sober fun.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

younger group.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have more stuff available so I can learn the steps.

June 27, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
June 27, 2011

PDAP has been an intrigal part of my recovery.
The staff has always gone above and beyond to make sure our needs are met. Everytime I show up to the program I am welcomed with open arms.

the program has not only given me a positive sober community but has also given my daughters a
safe place to heal from the destruction my substance abuse caused.

If I were limited to only one word to describe this program it would have to be "Redeeming".

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My new way of living.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help grow the steering committee.

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers