Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
56 Reviews
1234.964295
Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
September 11, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 11, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

When I first volunteered to be apart of PA'LANTE Harlem I was not aware of what I was getting myself into. It was a way for me to get off of the streets and focus on something more useful. I went from being in the streets in a negative way to a more positive way. Never in a million years did I imagine myself advocating for people living in terrible conditions. I made a great decision by sticking to PA'LANTE. PA'LANTE isn't just any organization: PA'LANTE Harlem is a family. Elsia Vasquez is one of the most hardworking women that I have been fortunate enough to meet and work with. She gives her volunteers an opportunity to emerge themselves into the organization by assigning roles.The faith she has in her people is incredible and gave me the incentive to not let her, the organization, or myself down. PA'LANTE not only has a great environment, but its purpose is blessing to those who stumble upon it.

The only reason that I am not there now is because I've gone away to college: however, when I get back to the city I will surely be paying PALANTE Harlem a visit!
September 10, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 10, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

April 15, 2014 will be a day my family and I will never forget. That horrific night where I woke up to huge flames and dark black smoke thinking that my family and I were not going to survive still brings chills and terrible flashbacks. Thankfully I was rescued and brought out by the firefighters and rushed to the emergency room for smoke inhalation not to mention the fact that I have bad asthma. It turned out we experienced an electrical fire in our apartment in which the entire apartment was burned down along with all of our clothes, furniture, documents, priceless pictures, yearbooks and the list goes on in which we did not even have renters insurance. My family and I were left homeless and with nothing at all. We contacted 311, The Red Cross, and other agencies but they were just not very helpful and did not seem to really care. The landlord of our building was even worse, he not only did not provide for shelter but also threatened to throw us out out of the apartment because he wanted to maximize rent profits from a new tenant because my mother has lived there for over 30 years and the rent was low. This was when I was referred to P.A.L.A.N.T.E HARLEM and it was like a gift from God. From the very first day we went in we felt like someone actually cared and took time to really find out what was happening. P.A.L.A.N.T. E Harlem gave our family hope and strength to keep fighting against our landlord and to get our apartment back. On August 1, 2014 my family and I went to court in which the judge ruled the case in our favor stating that there is no reason for us to be evacuated from our apartment and that the landlord has 30 days to fully renovate the apartment. Today we our back in our apartment and we are starting a new life and we owe it all to the constant help from P.A.L.A.N.T.E Harlem. We do not know how to thank this non-profit organization enough and the least we can do is to spread the word that there is actually help out there for us and thank God we found P.A.L.A.N.T.E Harlem when we needed it most! Thank You P.A.L.A.N.T.E Harlem!
July 30, 2014

more

July 30, 2014

I am impressed by the tireless work of Palante Harlem. A few months ago I needed advice to deal with a Landlord. I reached out to Palante and was listened to promptly, given great advice and set up with an appointment with Housing in the Bronx. I got the answers to all my questions. I would highly recommend using Palante Harlem for any housing inquiries or problems. Many Thanks to Elsia Vasquez and her well trained staff.


Sincerely,

Raymond Cordero

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 29, 2014

more

July 29, 2014

Sometimes I wasn't really greatful of what I had until I started to volunteer at this non-profit organization. Coming from the south, there's nothing but wide open spaces, big houses, and apartments here and there.There was nothing wrong with that but, when I came to New York and started to volunteer at Palante last summer my attitude towards my living conditions have changed. I started to appreciate my home more because there are people living in apartments far more worst than mine with higher prices. If it wasn't for this organization I would probably be an ungreatful person by now. I love what I do here because it feels good to know that what I am doing is helping make a big impact on the Harlem community. I am going to keep on volunteering here until this organization is apart of history and makes a big impact world wide.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

find more people who has the same knowledge as Elsia and make this organization nation wide

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This non-profit organization inspired me to become a better man, witnessing the impact this organization has on the upper Manhattan society i feel like there should be an expansion of palante through all 5 boroughs being that many new york city citizens go through similar issues.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

expand the oranization

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Elsia Vasquez never falters in her work. She makes it her job to make sure a whole building is in top notch condition, and the tenants are truly satisfied . I know that she is also an amazing mentor for her interns.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 28, 2014

more

July 28, 2014

Palante Harlem is a great nonprofit organization.This organization help people with their housing problems; they fight against to abusive landlords.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Pa'lante Harlem is a non-profit company that helps tenants fight against abusive landlord. A non-profit company that changed the life of hundreds and hundreds of tenants. Elsia the founder of the company is tough on the skin, intelligent, fearless, and straight forward. She had helped so many people, without her and Pa'lante Harlem, Harlem wouldn't be the same.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unsure

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 28, 2014

more

July 28, 2014

Palante is here to help every tenant by making them feel more comfortable with their apartment. With the help of elsia and the palante organization tenants dont have to worry about there landlords kicking them out.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

PA'LANTE Harlem, is a great nonprofit organization founded by Elsia Vasquez, that strives to change for the better. Not only helping the community in NYC but, gathering a community together and fighting the corruption in housing and slum lords in housing today. Without good people like Elsia Vasquez, corruption in our country will continue on with no say. PA'LANTE helps those who seek for help.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers