Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
12.92857345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
February 22, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 22, 2011

I was a former volunteer helping out a fellow employee that was , not to an extreme degree, overworked on weekends. I aided her countless times in a professional and timely manner. Dogs and cats alike were treated very well on the outside looking in. My review is more for the leadership of pals. From the moment I heard about kathi she was portrayed as a very cold boss. When I first met her I was not met with a greeting but a cold stare as if I was not wanted. My first instinct was to leave but the employees workload was very high and I personally had the time. As time went on I saw number of times the employee I helped come in tears from the reprimand kathi gave her. In all honesty I saw nothing wrong with her work ethics. The employee met and even exceeded her job. But it was never good enough because kathi seemed to have a personal vendetta against her. Even the other employees and volunteers understood it. My main point is that the management isn't what you would consider a management place. Instead of acting like a boss kathi and even some of the workers made it as a like based notion. Disregarding hard work but in turn if you were her friend you were treated with some form of respect. Pals mission is a great one. Management tactics must change for the sake of that mission or the ones who suffer will be the animals.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Plain sight

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not so much remove management but put them in a crash course of proper business conduct

February 19, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 19, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

This review is not being written with the intent to do harm to PAL. It is intended to provide a volunteer's perspective and hopefully constructive criticism. I have read all of the posted reviews and would like to make one thing absolutely clear. I am writing this review of my own volition. No one has asked or coerced me into doing so. I have no ax to grind. I have nothing to gain and nothing to lose. Let me start by saying that volunteering should be an intrinsically rewarding experience. There is no monetary compensation but we want to do it because it feels good to help others be they two-leggers or four-leggers. However, I would have to give my volunteer experience at PAL mixed reviews. This is due to a number of reasons. First of all, I would like to express some positives. I met some great people that also love animals and that gave 100% plus in their efforts to assist PAL with it's goals. The Senior/Pet Connection program, in my opinion, is one of the most effective and impactful programs that PAL offers. Livia does a great job keeping it organized and functional. With regard to the animals in PAL's charge, I never saw any that were mistreated, intentionally neglected, etc. Staff members and volunteers kept areas as clean as possible and were affectionate with the animals. I honestly believe that they were caring and compassionate caregivers that did everything in their power to give the animals a home away from home and a chance at finding a permanent home. Getting animals adopted was exciting. However, there are many areas that could use some major improvement. One of my biggest concerns for the future of PAL is how resources are managed--both financial and human. I don't have access to PAL's financial status, records, etc. so I cannot really comment too much on that area but I have many questions. Is it really just a bad economy? What are the priorities? Is there really transparency with regard to how funds are spent? When there are limited funds, shouldn't the animals be the first priority? I know there are long term goals for organizational development but sometimes you have to go back to basics. In some ways, I think they have tried to do just that but there is a complete lack of focus. It is onto the next big idea without thinking things through. Unfortunately, that speaks to lack of leadership. There is a vision but the follow through is weak. There are people that love animals, are passionate about saving them, but are not equiped to be in a leadership role. Which brings me to management of human resources. Like it or not, it takes people to make an organization successful. It would be impossible for one person to perform all of the necessary tasks. When you have good people working for you, you need to try to retain them. Turnover is costly in many ways. It can be financially expensive, it causes problems with morale, it can really affect overall performance of an organization. It is difficult to feel sorry for someone that complains about being shorthanded but makes little effort to keep people there. I realize that there are constraints on a non-profit as far as being able to pay a competitive wage but there are other ways to keep people around. One is showing true appreciation for their efforts and not using an authoritarian leadership style. People need and want to be inspired to work for you. Fear of reprecussions is not a good motivational tool and will eventually (if not swiftly) lead to turnover. Another issue that I had a problem with was how the Herdina Grant was handled. I don't know the financial details--whether there was or wasn't money in the account, etc. I just know that there were people in need of assistance and they were given excuses not straight answers. Many filled out applications, left messages, waited for a response and got none. Why? Why should they have to call back several times and not get some definitive answer so that they can decide what to do? Dodging calls was a pervasive pattern. And it was the volunteers that had to speak to these people over and over again trying to explain why they had not received a response. I just got to the point where I didn't want anything to do with the phones. This practice was not only ineffective but unethical and unprofessional. That is why I gave this organization the lowest rating. Unethical behavior toward clients is not acceptable in my book. And when you see a breech of ethics in one area, chances are good that things are not as they should be in other areas. As a volunteer with a conscience, you want to distance yourself from that whole situation. In closing, I want to reiterate that this is not meant as a personal attack but it is difficult to address these issues without questioning leadership. It does seem to be the common denominator. Ultimately, that is where responsibility lies. Leadership doesn't have to be warm & fuzzy but it needs to be effective. And people deserve to be treated with dignity and respect regardless of how one feel's about them. It is in the best interest of the animals. I would love to see PAL succeed and have more of a positive impact on our community. The concept is great but the execution needs a lot of work. With the high number of negative reviews, one must lend credence to these concerns. They aren't just disgruntled former employees/volunteers. I personally observed many of them putting their heart and sole into PAL. But there is only so much one can give or put up with before they have to save themselves. Maybe that is what has happened to Kathi. Maybe she is burned out or overwhelmed and needs to turn PAL over to someone that can breathe new life into it.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my family and in person.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make several improvements with regard to organization, follow through, how clients are dealt with, transparency, and management of human resources.

February 11, 2011

more

February 11, 2011

PAL Humane Society I will admit is a great concept, it may seem like everything is great there but that’s what people think until they get closer to its director. Cathi Schlintz is a manipulative control freak that does not know how to run a business properly. I volunteered at PAL at twelve years old in their Explorer Post 156. At first it seemed awesome because this was the only animal shelter that I could volunteer at, not to mention the only no-kill shelter in our area. But this program was not run properly at all, it was disorganized, and disappointing. How is this a no-kill shelter when Cathi euthanized the remaining dogs they had in their care that were deemed, “unadoptable.” There is no such thing as an unadoptable animal! The rest were sent to a shelter on Zooney Road, which they had where the dogs had three days to get adopted until they were euthanized. My parents took over running the Explorer Post that allowed kids to interact with animals cleaning cages, training the dogs, playing with the animals, and walking them. We had to go through all the regulations first, of course but after several children were finished with the training, including me, all we got to do was clean up after the animals. I am a strong supporter of the motto “poop time before play time.” But when would we get to have our much deserved playtime? We cleaned cages, scooped litter boxes, swept floors, and cleaned windows. When it was time for us to be able to play with the dogs, or pet the cats they told us that we weren’t allowed. Every day after we had our meetings we vacuumed the floor of the office we were using, picked up the chairs we used, cleaned the windows, and dusted. But in the mornings when we arrived to have our meetings, there were chairs and tables out, and the desk was always a mess. We cleaned up after ourselves, but when the other people who worked there used the room they always left it a mess.

My parents were trying to get the Explorer Post on track and they were doing an awesome job. They got us through all our training but every time that they tried to do something to get us up and running, Cathi fought them every step of the way. They were accused of stealing money from the Explorers. Although every time they needed to make a purchase they sent them to the office.

We adopted three animals from PAL Humane Society, one cat, and two dogs. The dog we had fostered, he is an extremely sweet dog. But Cathi hadn’t even tried to find him a home all she did was use him for their “Prison PAL Program.” Which is a good program, it uses dogs from the shelter that live along side in-mates and they have to take care of the dogs and train them. But we had to keep taking him back to PAL, where he had to stay overnight. Every time we grabbed the leash for him to go in the car he ran and hid. It was very sad for us, because every time we grab the leashes the dogs we had before we got him lost their heads because they knew that they got to go for a car ride. So we decided that we couldn’t do that to him anymore and adopted him.

We kept fighting and fighting with Cathi. Cathi just shut down the Post without any warning or notification. All the kids were extremely disappointed, because we went through all the training, rules and regulations for practically nothing! Yes, we at least got to be around the animals, but doing what? We were picking up poop, scrubbing floors, sweeping, and cleaning. Like I said I am an extremely strong supporter of poop time before playtime. But we earned our play time, what happened to it? PAL Humane Society is a good concept, and it could be more than a good concept if it were under different direction. But as long as it is under the rule of Cathi Schlintz, it will be run down into the ground.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Explorer Post 156

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would change the leader of the organization, and the location of the Humane Society.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

To give volunteers what the organization promised volunteers, the leadership, and location.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Yes, I did meet some new friends and I was able to learn how to handle animals a lot better.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Some what good, at least I was able to make animal's lives a little bit better. But mostly my experience made me angry at Kathi.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

February 10, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 10, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I volunteered for PAL for 4 months during the spring and summer. I was so excited to find a no-kill shelter in my area and when I first started to work there, I was thrilled. At first I worked in the cat rooms doing the morning clean ups.

For the most part, the cleaning was not a problem
but the treatment of the volunteers was. Any time one volunteer made a mistake, Kathi took it out on ALL of the volunteers. More then once I heard her threaten to let go of all the volunteers because of a mistake from one volunteer and she generally talked down to them.

I did not get to really see how terrible it was until I started working in the gift shop, answering phone and assisting guests.
We got a lot of calls from seniors with sick pets and who needed help from the Herdina Grant. When we got these calls we were told to tell them that the program was on hold for now but would be back in about a month and to call again then. Other times they called because they already submitted an application for the grant and wanted to know what was going on with their application. We were told to tell those people that their applications were still being reviewed. We always took down the callers name and number and reason for their call so that Kathi could call them back regarding the grant. A few days later, they would call back, and tell us that Kathi never called and that their pet still needed vet care and they wanted a real answer. Sadly, the volunteers who worked the phones could never give them the real answer and all we could do was take another message for Kathi that would be ignored.

To this day I don't know why those people were never helped or why we had to keep running them in circles when they were in need of help, but it was a major factor in my decision to leave.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

person.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

reevaluate management.

February 10, 2011

more

February 10, 2011

I worked at PAL with my wife trying to run the Explore program for Kathi after she asked me if I would like a job there as the Humane Education person and I accepted. Any time that I asked for any kind of training and for direction I was told we need to schedule time and when I tried to schedule time I was brushed off. Over the course of 7 months my wife and I donated well over $300.00 a month to PAL and none of the money we donated was used for what it was intended...this include money we donated for a friend's dog who passed away and we bought him a leaf on the "Tree of Life"...when I asked Kathi point blank about the "Tree of Life" she said that it was not her responsibility to finish this project as a board member started it so the board member should finish it...but when I asked her about where it was going to be put she said that she did not have time to deal with it right now she need to run to Home Depot to buy paint for the cattery. So we donated money for a project that never come to be...what happened to the money? If you look at my wife's post she has the emails that go back and forth between PAL and ourselves about the Explore program and it states that if we require a refund to make a request for one and they would ensure we received it...well almost a year later and still no refund. People like Kathi are the biggest reason people do not go out into their communities and help. She gives Non-Profits a bad name and disheartens many people who just want to help.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

as a volunteer

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

FIRE KATHI!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Audit PAL's books!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Appreciation would be nice.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Yes taught me not to trust someone just because they work for a Non_Profit.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

unappreciated and useless...that the work I did held no value.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

February 9, 2011

more

February 9, 2011

PAL Humane Society is a noble concept; however, Kathi Schlintz at the helm has run its course. PAL needs to put someone in charge that is more intelligent, thrifty, resourceful, able to manage funds, generate funds, monitor and audit funds accurately with purpose.
Our family found the PAL
organization looking for a cake for our dog’s birthday, soon found out about Yappy hour and the Explorer Post program for kids. We have been involved with numerous humane societies from San Diego up to Apple Valley for years. When we found PAL and the Explorer Post with a daughter of 12 who wanted to volunteer and work at all of the humane societies, but due to legalities was unable to, we thought we found the perfect organization in PAL and the Explorer program for kids.

We signed our daughter up, attended our first meeting October 2009 and within a week were receiving calls from PAL staff asking us what to do with new Explorer Post member paperwork. Without asking we were put in charge of the Explorer Post. We were all too willing to help with time, money, whatever we could do. After a couple of weeks attempting to run the Explorer Post meetings with no direction, we asked Kathi Schlintz for direction and she said she was waiting for money and would my husband be interested in being the Education coordinator? The money never came in when we were there supposedly and the job never came through. We did continue for months investigating what an Explorer post was, should be doing, attending the Learning for Life training, setting up fund raisers, crafts, training sessions for what the kids were advertised to be allowed to do as an Explorer for PAL, etc… After a few months of telling parents that T-shirts were on order (which Kathi Schlintz continued to communicate to us each time we asked that the T-shirts were on order) we were advised that PAL had been collecting the entrance fee for the Explorer Post members and did not retain the money to provide the T-shirts as advertised. When we had several Explorer Post members trained we attempted to establish sessions with employees and soon found out that to our faces Kathi Schlintz was saying to schedule with the employees and then telling the employees to say they did not have time to work with the kids or would schedule and then some emergency would happen and we were told to cancel the session for the kids scheduled. The kids showed up month after month, cleaning, pulling weeds, doing everything but working with the animals as advertised and trained. So my husband and I composed the following to Kathi Schlintz:
“Date: Thu, 22 Apr 2010 16:30:48 -0700
From: pal_education156@yahoo.com
Subject: Fw: Explorer Post Leadership
To: kathi@palhumanesociety.org
Kathi-

As you have not responded to my email should I assume that it will be a waste of your and my time to come out on Friday to go over any training the kids might participate in? Let me know.

Thanks

Chris Baker
PAL Humane Society
Humane Education Coordinator
Explorer Post 156 Advisor

--- On Sat, 4/17/10, Pal Humane Society wrote:

From: Pal Humane Society
Subject: Explorer Post Leadership
To: "Kathi Schlintz"
Date: Saturday, April 17, 2010, 8:32 PM
Kathi-

I would really like to understand why you formed the explorer post? Up to this point, you have given nothing to these kids to look forward to except empty promises.

Today was ridiculous plain and simple. I understand that Cindy is in the hospital and therefore Sarah and Cassie could not work in the grooming salon. However there was no excuse as to why I was called and told that the girls are wondering around and making the dogs bark and they needed to either get picked up or someone needed to come out and take control. I am a volunteer not an employee. I do not appreciate being told that I need to get out there and find something for the Explorer Volunteers to do. That is not my job. I coordinate between the Explorers and your staff members for the Explorers to volunteer, set up learning experiences, and ensure the children are able to learn and grow from their experiences.

The same thing happened when Darleen quit, Mary had to cancel going out to Petsmart so the Explorers I had scheduled had to be called and told, no once again. What do you do with the rest of your volunteers when something like this happens? Do you tell them that they can either go home or pull weeds? NO you do not! They are trained so therefore they know what they are supposed to do. How do you expect these children to learn any thing if no one is willing to take the time and teach them.

When I came out to pick Cassie up and was told by Gina, that well Cindy was suppose to be responsible for them today but since she is not here Gina would take the responsibility for the day and they could stay with her and pull weeds or go home. Sarah and Cassie both have completed all of the training. If Gina was going to take the responsibility to watch the girls anyway why could they not work with the animals? She is a staff member right? She is supposed to be the resident trainer right? Why couldn’t they have been assigned to another volunteer or staff member, to help with the morning chores? Or take them up to the cattery and shown how the room is cleaned physically, since they completed the verbal training? Or allowed out in the play yard to throw a ball for the dogs? There is more to taking care of animals and the animals need more then just cleaned up after and feed. If Gina is so busy taking care of the animals when the explorer meetings end that there is no time for her to work with the Explorers; but she has time to sit with the kids while they pull weeds, seriously, there is something wrong with this situation.

Just like you told me last time we talked; “I did my part now do yours”. These kids have all signed up so that they could work with animals not to do manual labor. Dawn and I have invested a lot of time and money trying to get the explorer post up and running. We have done nothing but attempt to create a successful Explorer program, but because Dawn voiced an opinion that we cannot keep telling these kids no, you are ready to kick her off of your property? Your staff member may have been offended by the comment, but the comment was not directed at a single staff member. Then you attempt to threaten me with not hiring me if you have to deal with Dawn? If this is how you and your staff treat volunteers, it’s no wonder volunteers never return. I will say now that if things do not change for the better, then you can find someone else to keep telling these kids NO they can’t work with the animals. Dawn and I will not continue to deal with the frustration and anger from the kids and parents with no definitive solutions to give

Chris Baker
PAL Humane Society
Humane Education Coordinator
Explorer Post 156 Advisor”


After the above request / complaint was sent to Kathi Schlintz, this was sent to the Explorer Post members and parents:
“Date: Sat, 1 May 2010 13:58:04 -0700
From: edpost156@palhumanesociety.org
Subject: Re: Update on Post 156
To: CC: cindy@palhumanesociety.org; kathi@palhumanesociety.org
To the Parents of Explorer Post 156;

The Explorer program was suspended after PAL staff and the Board of Directors reviewed the program as a whole. The explorers were not benefiting from the program in the way it was designed, which was to educate and involve them in animal-related careers. The Explorer Post is a Learning for Life program, which has regulations and guidelines that were not being met. We were previously informed by the Explorer leader that he was considering leaving the program, as it was taking up a great deal of his time. And due to the economy, PAL has been cut back to only three staff members, so therefore would not have the staff to run the program. PAL was also informed that the Explorers that were participating in meetings had decreased and that Explorers were losing interest in the program. After reviewing all of the information we had received, PAL felt the Explorers would benefit a great deal more by being allowed to come to PAL and volunteer as individuals, rather than coming as a group. This would allow them to have more training on a one-on-one basis.

Funds were sent in to Leaning for Life to cover the Explorer insurance. We have contacted them and were told that the money was sent to their national office and refunds would not be given. PAL is currently auditing the finances of the Explorer Post to discover which Explorers paid their yearly dues. Those who wish to get a refund may contact Cindy at PAL, so that PAL can issue a refund to you.

For those of you who turned in AVON orders, those orders should be in by Friday, May 7th and we will call the people from the lists given to come in and pick them up.

PAL does understand that some of the Explorers are disappointed by the suspension of the program, however, PAL will do everything it can do ensure the explorers can volunteer at PAL and continue to learn animal care.

Please contact Cindy with any questions or concerns. You may reach her at (760)240-6848 Ext.225 or email her at cindy@palhumanesociety.org.

Again, thank you for all of your hard work and we hope to see you soon at PAL!

We had parents and Explorer members reach out to us asking why, what happened, when will it start up again, what about the crafts scheduled, the Avon sold, etc…Since we were never advised we directed everyone to Kathi Schlintz. We continued to send emails to Kathi Schlintz asking how the Explorers would be allowed to volunteer when they were not allowed when we were getting them trained and attempting to schedule time with no success. We also requested a Board of Directors meeting to discuss the inappropriate handling of the kids in the Explorer Post and never received a response. As this is a rule/regulation of a Non-Profit Organization this is in direct violation and I have reported PAL Humane Society to the IRS and Apple Valley Chamber of Commerce.
Until PAL Humane Society has a new Board of Directors who gets involved with the CEO/President to insure that the CEO/President is executing proper Non-Profit rules, regulations, funds, etc…I will not have anything to do with this organization.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

PAL Humane Society is a noble concept; however, Kathi Schlintz at the helm has run its course. PAL needs to put someone in charge that is more intelligent, thrifty, resourceful, able to manage funds, generate funds, monitor and audit funds accurately with purpose. Until PAL Humane Society has a new Board of Directors who gets involved with the CEO/President to insure that the CEO/President is executing proper Non-Profit rules, regulations, funds, etc…I will not have anything to do with this organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Remove Kathi Schlintz and get Board of Directors who are involved in every accept of PAL Humane Society. Audit the books.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unlikely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Unlikely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Replace Kathi Schlintz

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Yes, but could of had a much bigger impact if managed differently and appreciated for what we were doing.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Mad at people like Kathi Schlintz getting away with advertising as a good organization and behind the curtain is an evil two faced twisted person who should not be allowed to interface with the public.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

February 9, 2011

more

February 9, 2011

I started with PAL Humane Society as a foster volunteer years ago. Over the course of about 2 years I fostered dozens of dogs & a couple of cats. While I was a foster volunteer I did not interact very often with the founder Kathi but with the employees of which were awesome. The employees worked there tails off to make this organization work while Kathi was usually off shopping or coming up with some "new idea". I was then offered a job with PAL, that I was very excited about even though I had been told about Kathi's attitude & the way she ran things. I soon realized what it really meant to work for PAL & really got to see behind the scenes. While I worked there full time I also always had a foster animal in my home and was told I still did not due enough even though I worked for free several times a week (as she did not pay overtime). The employees who worked at PAL along with the volunteers had to come into work everyday hoping Kathi was in a good mood. It was very common for her to yell & belittle her staff, as she says she isn't a people person so deal with it. She has been open since 1993 but for all those years she hasn't been able to make PAL what it should be because she doesn't know how to run a business. In 2007 PAL was given half a million dollars and the money was wasted on renovating rented buildings that she decided would become such great things (they all sit empty now full renovated & were never used for what they were suppose to). She would come in every week & have a new idea & just do it & spend the money without thinking about it. She hand picked her board members so she could control them & what ever she says goes. She did "lay off" the Humane Officer when she was on medical leave from giving her mother a kidney. Her excuse was she didn't have the money to pay her but she turned around and hired somebody else at a high pay & gave her right hand man a raise at which combined was higher than the Humane Officers pay. I wish the community could see what PAL is really like. Yes they have helped animals & seniors but if the money had been used like it was suppose to be it would have helped so many more animals & people. Kathi is a master at putting on a great face to donors & the public & then turning & doing whatever she wants with it. I ask donors & the community to look at her & this organization carefully & really know what you are giving to.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

2007

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Close it down

February 9, 2011

more

February 9, 2011

I would not reccomend this organization to anyone. I have donated my time and my aeroplane for fund raising activities and will never do so again. PAL is totally mismanaged and funding is not spent how it should be. Animals have died from lack of medical treatment. My wife played a key roll in the Prison Dog Program and finally left after not being paid for 2 months. She was extremely dedicated to the cause and was very much torn between staying and leaving. There were times when she would come home almost in tears because of what she saw. As far as I am concerned PAL is there for the money not the animals. I have two words to discribe one individual who has been working for PAL for a number of years: lazy and self centered. She does not deserve to be there. This is a harsh review but, it is honest. As stated the best thing that could happen to PAL is replace the managment.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Person.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change management.

February 5, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 5, 2011

Thanks to PAL, once a month I deliver donated pet food and supplies to the elderly who need assistance because of financial hardship. Without this assistance, many of the elderly would have to give up their pets. This would be a tremendous loss as these animals often are viewed as "family" to them. Their cat(s) and/or dog(s) provide the love and companionship in too often very empty lives. I have delivered supplies for almost two years. During this time, I have come to know each of them and their wonderful animals, and it has absolutely enhanced my life with new friends, both in the elderly and their pets. I look forward to my monthly Saturday deliveries when I can catch up with them all; it enhances my life. Thanks, PAL, for providing very necessary support for seniors and a rewarding experience for me.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The contact I have with senior citizens who otherwise may not be able to keep their pets.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

win the lottery and give them the money they need to continue.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

None.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I have developed friendship with both the seniors and their pets.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I feel extreme gratitude for the new people and animals I have met, for what I have in life, for the wonder of both humans and animals that share this world with me.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 3, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 3, 2011

Awesome Place that LOVES it's animals. Have know of this organization for many years and the strugles it has just to stay open. Their love for the animals always suvives.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Boarded my cat their many years ago. Vollenteered for them when we had wild fires in the area. Donate when I can

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make them more known.

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers