Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
12 Reviews
1234.755
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 5, 2013

more

October 5, 2013

I have been volunteering with PAL for over 4 months now and I can say PAL is one of the best places that I volunteered in a while. The management goes out of the way to recognize volunteers (free art classes, best volunteer of the year/month. appreciation ceremonies are just few ways PAL honors volunteers) The staffs & volunteers work in such synchronization that you can seldom differentiate between them. If you have some time to volunteer & you love working with great people & in a refreshing environment PAL is the place !

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

PAL is a terrific center for the visual arts. It is a place to take art classes, show your art, sell your art, and make friends with other artists and aspiring artists. It is a jewel in the heart of Silicon Valley that has been around since 1921.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Donate money or take classes to help the organization thrive.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 20, 2013

more

August 20, 2013

I am a serious amateur photographer, relatively new to the field. The Pacific Art League has given me a place to grow as an artist through the many opportunities to exhibit my work. There are three ways this happens. With juried shows every month, each one provides a structure within which to select and enter my best images, a valuable discipline, whether they get into the show or not. Through the community sites program, where an artist installs an exhibit for a local business or office, I have been able to practice putting together bodies of work and hanging them appropriately, while contributing to the artistic life of my community. The culmination of what I have learned, and the most exciting experience, has been to mount two solo exhibits at the Pacific Art League gallery. Choosing a theme and the photographs that exemplify that theme has made me think hard about what my work is about and what I want to communicate through my art. I would never have had this experience without the Pacific Art League.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The organization is growing in some very exciting ways, and positive changes are happening all the time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 20, 2013

more

August 20, 2013

I took a beginner's drawing class last term and it was a great experience. I am in my mid fifties and never took an art class before this. My teacher, Ray Mendieta, was very clear in his instruction and took us step by step through the basics. He impressed upon us that anyone can learn to draw. It just takes practice and strict adherence to some of the rules of the craft. I bought myself an easel, sketch pad, charcoal pencils, and I am looking forward to the next class. i hope to advance and learn to paint with oils. I've met really nice people in the class and found everyone very supportive and friendly. I love my little routine: drop the kids off at school, drive to downtown Palo Alto, stop by Paris Bagette for a cafe au lait and croissant, park underground on Hamilton, and head to class.

Karen Patou

More feedback...

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help with classroom setup and preparation, help with marketing, help with office support, answer phones and assist members. Also, help with our First Friday event by helping with food preparation, room setup, greeting members and guests Volunteer