Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
12 Reviews
1234.755
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 5, 2013

more

October 5, 2013

I have been volunteering with PAL for over 4 months now and I can say PAL is one of the best places that I volunteered in a while. The management goes out of the way to recognize volunteers (free art classes, best volunteer of the year/month. appreciation ceremonies are just few ways PAL honors volunteers) The staffs & volunteers work in such synchronization that you can seldom differentiate between them. If you have some time to volunteer & you love working with great people & in a refreshing environment PAL is the place !

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

PAL is a terrific center for the visual arts. It is a place to take art classes, show your art, sell your art, and make friends with other artists and aspiring artists. It is a jewel in the heart of Silicon Valley that has been around since 1921.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Donate money or take classes to help the organization thrive.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

I just moved to the area and really wanted to find a way to get involved in the community. I found Pacific Art League of Palo Alto and signed up for an Oil Painting class with Jared Sines. I had a wonderful experience - I learned so much about different oil painting techniques, and I really enjoyed the small class size and getting to know the other students. We would often bring snacks and wine to class to enjoy our evenings painting together. I just began my second class - Watercolor with Steve Curl - and have already learned so much in just two classes!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 31, 2013

more

August 31, 2013

There are very few community places in Silicon Valley where artists can work, learn, display their work and interface with other artists. The Pacific Art League is an oasis in the middle of an ever increasing concrete jungle! People of all ages will find interesting art classes to explore.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 22, 2013

more

August 22, 2013

Since retirement art has become a passion. I discovered PAL as a unique community resource. Learning how to paint and then to create art was just the beginning for me. PAL offered the early courses and workshops, but there was more. This organization that has been around for nearly 100 years offered the opportunity to meet like minded people, to share experiences, and to contribute to the organization to make it stronger. Helping PAL grow and most recently making the new building a reality has been extremely rewarding. Sure there have been frustrations, but life is full of them. Seeing the progress has been equally rewarding with creating a new piece of art.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Add more social experiences/opportunities to make PAL a destination.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 21, 2013

more

August 21, 2013

The Pacific Art League has been a cultural asset for many years, not only to Palo Alto but also to the South Peninsula area as well.
As an artist and an “aficionado”, I have benefited from the offerings presented by the talented and hard working artists and volunteers of the PAL
membership.

Their efforts have never been more appreciated than at the present as they continue to mount excellent and diverse exhibitions under the current difficult circumstances created by the major construction work being done on their primary headquarters. Kudos, PAL!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 20, 2013

more

August 20, 2013

As an attorney in a very mentally and emotionally taxing field of work, my time at Pacific Art League (PAL) is invaluable. The classes offered are intimate, with individual attention and instruction, and I learned a great deal in a short period of time. The facilities are comfortable, and my classmates were diverse. Because our class was small, I was able to produce a good amount of work and also become friends with some of my classmates. Outside of class, I took advantage of our studio use privileges and found solace in the studio outside of class. PAL offered me a way to use my brain differently, improve my mental health, and learn a new craft. I was very satisfied with what I produced, and very grateful for the class and the space to make art. I can't wait to take my next class!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide a larger space for some of the classes and offer more evening and weekend classes.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 20, 2013

more

August 20, 2013

Pacific Art League is a wonderful organization that offers wide range of fine art classes, workshops and resources. Instructors are very helpful to students. I benefit from Fine Art training from Pacific Art League. It helps me to start my journey to become an oil painter.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 20, 2013

more

August 20, 2013

As a local art teacher I am always drawn to great art spaces and Pacific Art League is one of the best. Their gallery and exhibitions are inspiring. A course I took with my husband with printmaker Tom Killion helped us achieve one of our lifelong dreams - an art studio in the country. We are now neighbors of Tom's in Inverness because of the experience at Pacific Art League - where artistic dreams DO come true!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 20, 2013

more

August 20, 2013

I am a serious amateur photographer, relatively new to the field. The Pacific Art League has given me a place to grow as an artist through the many opportunities to exhibit my work. There are three ways this happens. With juried shows every month, each one provides a structure within which to select and enter my best images, a valuable discipline, whether they get into the show or not. Through the community sites program, where an artist installs an exhibit for a local business or office, I have been able to practice putting together bodies of work and hanging them appropriately, while contributing to the artistic life of my community. The culmination of what I have learned, and the most exciting experience, has been to mount two solo exhibits at the Pacific Art League gallery. Choosing a theme and the photographs that exemplify that theme has made me think hard about what my work is about and what I want to communicate through my art. I would never have had this experience without the Pacific Art League.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The organization is growing in some very exciting ways, and positive changes are happening all the time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help with classroom setup and preparation, help with marketing, help with office support, answer phones and assist members. Also, help with our First Friday event by helping with food preparation, room setup, greeting members and guests Volunteer