Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
9 Reviews
1234.444445
Write A Review
May 4, 2014

more

May 4, 2014

My name is John Miller. I have been an online volunteer for the P.Luna Foundation, since mid-2013. My duties include maintaining the PLF pages, on Google+ and Youtube. Prior to this, I had been a follower of the PLF since the early days, on Myspace. The P.Luna Foundation is an organisation that I have much respect, regard and appreciation for.

The PLF is a wonderful organization, dedicated to fighting abuse in all its forms, with an emphasis on assisting male survivors of abuse, an area of abuse that has been neglected and ignored, for far too long. The PLF fights child abuse by educating and guiding survivors of abuse to local help services, aiding law enforcement, and building awareness about the growing epidemic of child abuse, in our society. During 1st December - 8th December, we hold Male Abuse Awareness Week.

On Google+, we have an ever growing world-wide following of friends and supporters. The PLF also operates on Facebook, along with several other social networking sites.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 20, 2012

more

November 20, 2012

i am a survivor of sex abuse i was raped by a man when iwas 7 in the bronx new york i remained silent and sick for over 40years i broke the silence i got help iam sober over 11 years iam 55 i have been in group for survivors there is a great book it helped me its called beyond the darkness linda kurbetin its for sex abuse recovery ialso have my book it came out in january of2012 the bronx street kid into 12 step recovery i bless all with peace love and harmony richardkane24@yahoo.com

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unsure

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2012

more

April 10, 2012

I also volunteer at the PLF. I admin PLF’s Facebook page: Male Abuse Awareness Week, Dec. 1-8. We aid survivors with information on where to get help, information on abuse, and survival, as well as shed light on the issue and its effects. Our first commitment is to the victims and survivors of abuse and helping them find the answers they are looking for. This is bigger than any one person’s own hurt feelings. This is about a problem that exists for 1 out of every 6 males. I am proud of the work we do helping survivors and fighting child abuse. From the time I started, I was told this is a war on abuse. In any war the front lines are usually the most challenged and this is no different. If we have caused uproar then so be it. The louder the roar the more likely someone is to hear it.
Stop the cycle.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 25, 2011

more

November 25, 2011

I began volunteer work with the PLF in late 2005. We were an activist group at that time led by singer Petra Luna. We relied tremendously on the internet (mainly around 100 MySpace sites) to spread awareness about the various types of abuse. Our main focus was ferreting out active sexual predators using the internet. During 2008, two things happened:

1) The internet vastly changed, spurred forward by technology and thus the PLF had to adapt. New social online venues were emerging and MySpace was becoming stale. Face Book, Twitter, etc were becoming the new sites to use for our foundation.

2) The PLF had become a legitimate 501c3 Foundation. Petra was attending tedious courses on how to establish and run a 501c3.
The PLF is now also focusing more on abused males and generating awareness of their silent suffering and plight. Below is the PLF mission statement:

"The P. Luna Foundation fights child abuse by creating innovative programs to educate, aid law enforcement, and build awareness about the growing epidemic of child abuse and exploitation with an emphasis on young males who have been abused."

Social mores say abused males should "snap out of it," and "be a man." This has created a closely guarded, "don't ask, don't tell," code within society. The PLF is now focusing on breaking the code and cycle of sexually abused males. Sexually abused males need therapy but rarely get it. Many go on to to become addicts and abusers, themselves, when they become adults.

The PLF recognizes the plight of abused males through Male Abuse Awareness Week (Dec 1-8). The PLF has developed a caricature called "MAA," named for Male Abuse Awareness. The MAA caricature is an anime-styled male child figure with an "X," over one eye, symbolizing a black eye, and tape over the mouth symbolizing silence under societal duress. The MAA caricature is exclusive to the PLF and can be placed on a doll, T-Shirt, or coffee mug to be sold for funds for the PLF. This has already been put in place.

The PLF is also starting therapy sessions for sexually abused males.
These sessions are costly and the money for them comes out of PLF Funds. It is hoped that, in time, the PLF can get even more therapy for sexually abused males.

The PLF is operating now on Facebook sites along with several other internet sites. The official site is www.plunafounation.org. Within the main site is help4guys.org.

We shall continue to persevere with education, awareness, and prevention of violent sexual acts against male children and continue to adapt our cause with the internet as new social media is introduced. The PLF will continue to expand nurturing programs offline as well. I have been very proud to be a volunteer of the PLF.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have been able to unleash repressed memories of things that have happened to me as a child and deal with them on an adult level.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I do not see a need for any changes at this time

More feedback...

How did you learn about this organization?

Through a political organization

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

Generating awareness about male abuse/sexual abuse, and trying to find ways to address the problem. Also getting abused males to break the silence and urge them to seek counseling.

What is its top priority in the long run?

Addressing Male Abuse

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 16, 2011

more

November 16, 2011

The PLF mission is to make a difference for one abused child today, prevent one from being abused tomorrow, and make sure the world knows when our system fails to protect our children.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 15, 2011

more

November 15, 2011

The PLF is a wonderful organization, dedicated to fighting abuse in all its forms. As a long-time volunteer and friend of the Petra Luna, I can honestly say I've never met somebody quite as dedicated to the cause fighting the war on abuse as she is and it shows within the organization itself. The PLF works to spread awareness, to educate and to prevent child abuse and I feel blessed to be a part of this organization.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My experience with them is ongoing and results come in many ways, from working on our Male Abuse Awareness Week (help4guys.org), to getting the word out about Petra's music.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand it. If I had the money to do so, (and God willing, someday I will) I would drastically increase funding and help the organization grow throughout the world.

September 12, 2011

more

September 12, 2011

Our Mission
The P.Luna Foundation fights child abuse by creating innovative programs to educate, aid law enforcement, and build awareness about the growing epidemic of child abuse and exploitation.

Our Vision
We aspire to end the anonymity of child sexual predators and to prevent
future abuse through intellect, logic and virtue.

What do we do?
Child Abuse EDUCATION, AWARENESS AND PREVENTION

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The Male Abuse Awareness Week Awareness Campaign & the Male Abuse Awareness Website Male Abuse Awareness Week is an awareness campaign held every year from Dec 1st through 8th and the website is the extension of that program. It is a program dedicated to the special needs of young boys and men who have been abused, in an attempt to stop these young males from growing up to abuse others and repeat the cycle of abuse. To see this amazing web site, go to http://help4guys.org/

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Start PLF Chapters in every state to bring awareness to child abuse, domestic violence, male abuse awareness issues in that state.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 4, 2011

more

August 4, 2011

Child abuse is a growing issue, that has more and more prominence in public. Yet there is little done about actually protecting our children. Many other child activist groups are awareness campaigns. While that is great, the P. Luna Foundation goes much beyond that. the PLF now offers support groups for male abuse victims as well as sponsors many different aspects that deal with helping children and families deal with abuse issues.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I'm getting forward in passing April's Law Wisconsin, as well as getting more experienced in other aspects of running a foundation.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Encourage more men to speak out on male abuse awareness. All in all, a great organization.

July 26, 2011

more

July 26, 2011

Before the founding of the P Luna Foundation, Petra saw a need - a need to help those who have no paid lobbyists, no direct defenders, no protections - children and adult victims of abuse.

From Megan's Law, April's Law, and other advocate work, Petra continued on - expanding one activist's
war against abuse on a simple social network.

I watched as the P Luna Foundation expanded to include key speakers, specialists, communications assistants,therapists, business associates, law enforcement officers, scientists, survivors - and other people of every walk of life and collaborating with other organizations with the single-minded goal to end abuse.

I not only watched these things form - I now volunteer.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've watched out contribution to various causes come to effect. In Florida, in regards to DNA evidence and in regards to child sexual abuse, there is no statute of limitations. I've watched one powerful musician turn around and build an army against abuse, and I'm watching it grow now.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Set divisions within to place focus groups in specialized areas - whether for press, for law designation, for counseling referral assistance, etc. The thing of it is, there is not enough funding at this point in time to establish individual task forces to complete the oftentimes overwhelming jobs that need done.

Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Be an advocate for abuse victims online. Volunteer