Over 1.8 million nonprofits and charities for donors, volunteers and funders

Claim This Nonprofit

More Info

Add to Favorites

Share this Nonprofit

Donate

Nonprofit Overview

Causes: Philanthropy, Public Foundations

Mission: To Comfort the hurts and hearts of children who are hospitalized and alone.

Results: Since 2010 we have donated over 2,000 Owie BowWowie to hospitalized children all over the United States, but to continue giving... we need your help. Comfort is love in action, and it will take many of us to ensure that not one of the 20 million hospitalized children (per year) are forgotten.

Target demographics: Children who are hospitalized with a life-threatening illness.

Direct beneficiaries per year: Northridge Hospital

Geographic areas served: Northridge Hospital, Loma Linda Medical Center, Childrens Hospital Los Angeles, and many others!

Programs: We have many programs designed for specific needs. Please contact us if you would like to know more about ways in which we can help you to give.

Community Stories

9 Stories from Volunteers, Donors & Supporters

2 Gary52

Donor

Rating: 5

I have known about OwieBowWowie for several years and have thought extremely highly about the mission and the person(s) behind this fabulous little pup. I am all about children and want to do everything I possibly can to help youngsters, wherever they are and under whatever circumstances. A year ago, while traveling overseas to work with another non-profit in a kids-related mission, I took several Owie pups along, these to share with some of those children. Their hearts burst with joy at the sight.... What could be a better feeling for a parent to see the joy in their child's eyes, or in the eyes of another's child. PRICELESS, as is the mission to share Owie with hospitalized children.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

owiebowwowie 10/30/2014

THANK YOU!

2

Donor

Rating: 5

Gina Gippner-Woods makes the most amazing little dogs. She sends, or gives, them to children that are facing medical problems. I have known her to drive for several hours to deliver an Owie Bow Wowie to a child in serious medical condition.
I have been a prayer warrior for her for two years. I have had the privilege of seeing the comfort Owie brings to these precious children.
i know she makes these sweet treasures with love and prayers. She even sends some out with no money being received by her.

Peggy Guyer, Livonia, MI

Comments ( 1 )

profile

owiebowwowie 10/30/2014

THANK YOU, PEGGY.

2 Linda325

Donor

Rating: 5

I walked into a store because I was attracted by the merchandise in the window and found out that it was a non-profit. Whenever an item was bought a adorable stuffed animal was given to a child in a hospital. I stayed and bought a present for a dear friend's grandchild. I told Gina about my da.ughter who has MS, she's 37 and in a wheel chair. In addition to the Owie Bowie that' was sent to the hospital, Gina gave me one for my daughter. It was so kind and although my daughter is an adult it was very motivating for her to know someone who didn't even know her cared..

Comments ( 1 )

profile

owiebowwowie 10/30/2014

THANK YOU, LINDA.

2

Donor

Rating: 5

Gina Woods and her foundation
is an inspiration to donors in that we see where
our donations directly end... In an Owie Bowie
Wowie delivered to a child in pain.

Comments ( 2 )

profile

owiebowwowie 10/30/2014

THANK YOU!

profile

owiebowwowie 10/30/2014

THANK YOU!

Review from Guidestar

1 Bob_19

Donor

Rating: 5

Great service and feedback. I donated a stuffed dog to a sick child I will never meet. My wife and I also appreciate her updates and photos.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

owiebowwowie 10/30/2014

THANK YOU!

Previous Stories
1

Client Served

Rating: 5

Loved the fact that the doggie went to a critically ill kid that is hospitalized.

2 Mary111

Donor

Rating: 5

My daughter is a Child Life Specialist at a hospital were Owie is a great help in soothing and calming children who are going through difficult medical situations. She is so grateful and lucky to have Owie to help her help her kids. Having volunteered in the PICU of our local children's hospital, I know that sometimes it's the little things that can really turn a child around. Even if it just puts a smile on their face when they see that Owie is bandaged up like they are, that positive energy helps in their recovery. I wish every children's hospital had OwieBowWowie available to them.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

owiebowwowie 10/30/2014

THANK YOU!

2 Bryan A.

Donor

Rating: 5

This is the non-profit for anyone with a soft spot in their heart for kids. Especially sick kids! Owie understands the hurdles these very sick little ones face and stays with them 24/7 to comfort and help them on their journey. I have traveled to CA multiple times and met with Owie and his creator, Gina. What a joy it is to be around both of them! I was so impressed I even spent a Saturday as a volunteer with their group. I have seen first hand the effect Owie and his friends can have. If you are looking for a place to invest in the lives of children, look no further. If you are in the SoCal region and would like to volunteer somewhere, look no further. Owie is tops on my list!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

owiebowwowie 10/30/2014

THANK YOU!

3 Vicki15

Donor

Rating: 5

I have been an online "friend" of Gina's for many, many years while our children were in the US Marine Corps. OwieBowWowie and Friends is a complete labor of love for Gina and the many others who contribute. She shares the wonderful messages she gets from children who have received OwieBowWowies, and stories of their struggles and triumphs. I am also a contributor to the coloring/activity book that comes with Owie. A very worthwhile charity.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

owiebowwowie 10/30/2014

THANK YOU!

1

Donor

Rating: 5

You would be hard pressed to find a more heart warming charity. I was an emergency nurse for many years, and there was nothing worse than a sick or injured child. But usually their parents were with them, they would go home and that would be it.

But picture a child hospitalized with a life threatening disease. They usually end up in specialty hospitals that might not be close to home. They may be alone at night, parents and family may or may not be able to visit. That's where Owie comes in. When you read the story of how Owie came to be, you'll have to donate at least once. A wonderful stuffed doggie, with his own 'boo boos,' a small blanket and coloring book, who couldn't use that! Sometimes these are the only 'toys' a child in the hospital will have, so seriously consider donating TODAY!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

owiebowwowie 10/30/2014

THANK YOU!