Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
45 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have known about OwieBowWowie for several years and have thought extremely highly about the mission and the person(s) behind this fabulous little pup. I am all about children and want to do everything I possibly can to help youngsters, wherever they are and under whatever circumstances. A year ago, while traveling overseas to work with another non-profit in a kids-related mission, I took several Owie pups along, these to share with some of those children. Their hearts burst with joy at the sight.... What could be a better feeling for a parent to see the joy in their child's eyes, or in the eyes of another's child. PRICELESS, as is the mission to share Owie with hospitalized children.
October 30, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Gina Gippner-Woods makes the most amazing little dogs. She sends, or gives, them to children that are facing medical problems. I have known her to drive for several hours to deliver an Owie Bow Wowie to a child in serious medical condition.
I have been a prayer warrior for her for two years.
I have had the privilege of seeing the comfort Owie brings to these precious children.
i know she makes these sweet treasures with love and prayers. She even sends some out with no money being received by her.

Peggy Guyer, Livonia, MI
October 30, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I walked into a store because I was attracted by the merchandise in the window and found out that it was a non-profit. Whenever an item was bought a adorable stuffed animal was given to a child in a hospital. I stayed and bought a present for a dear friend's grandchild. I told Gina about my da.ughter who has MS, she's 37 and in a wheel chair. In addition to the Owie Bowie that' was sent to the hospital, Gina gave me one for my daughter. It was so kind and although my daughter is an adult it was very motivating for her to know someone who didn't even know her cared..
April 11, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 11, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Gina Woods and her foundation
is an inspiration to donors in that we see where
our donations directly end... In an Owie Bowie
Wowie delivered to a child in pain.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Ask for more people to see the benefit and provide donations to ensure Bowie's are available when a child has a need for comfort and support.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 17, 2012

Loved the fact that the doggie went to a critically ill kid that is hospitalized. more

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Great service and feedback. I donated a stuffed dog to a sick child I will never meet. My wife and I also appreciate her updates and photos.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Loved the fact that the doggie went to a critically ill kid that is hospitalized.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 22, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 22, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

My daughter is a Child Life Specialist at a hospital were Owie is a great help in soothing and calming children who are going through difficult medical situations. She is so grateful and lucky to have Owie to help her help her kids. Having volunteered in the PICU of our local children's hospital, I know that sometimes it's the little things that can really turn a child around. Even if it just puts a smile on their face when they see that Owie is bandaged up like they are, that positive energy helps in their recovery. I wish every children's hospital had OwieBowWowie available to them.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

This is the non-profit for anyone with a soft spot in their heart for kids. Especially sick kids! Owie understands the hurdles these very sick little ones face and stays with them 24/7 to comfort and help them on their journey. I have traveled to CA multiple times and met with Owie and his creator, Gina. What a joy it is to be around both of them! I was so impressed I even spent a Saturday as a volunteer with their group. I have seen first hand the effect Owie and his friends can have. If you are looking for a place to invest in the lives of children, look no further. If you are in the SoCal region and would like to volunteer somewhere, look no further. Owie is tops on my list!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seeing the delight on children's faces when Owie brings his special brand of comfort.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help find additional funding to expand Owie's reach nationwide.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

We decided to try doing something meaningful one Christmas instead of just exchanging gifts that would be soon broken or forgotten. We donated to Owie and had family members fill out cards of encouragement to send with Owie to kids who were hurting. It has now become a tradition. What was really special were the thank you notes that came from families who received those cards and Owies. We knew we had made a difference.

What would you tell others about this organization?

GIVE!

October 17, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I have been an online "friend" of Gina's for many, many years while our children were in the US Marine Corps. OwieBowWowie and Friends is a complete labor of love for Gina and the many others who contribute. She shares the wonderful messages she gets from children who have received OwieBowWowies, and stories of their struggles and triumphs. I am also a contributor to the coloring/activity book that comes with Owie. A very worthwhile charity.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 9, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 9, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

You would be hard pressed to find a more heart warming charity. I was an emergency nurse for many years, and there was nothing worse than a sick or injured child. But usually their parents were with them, they would go home and that would be it.

But picture a child hospitalized with a life
threatening disease. They usually end up in specialty hospitals that might not be close to home. They may be alone at night, parents and family may or may not be able to visit. That's where Owie comes in. When you read the story of how Owie came to be, you'll have to donate at least once. A wonderful stuffed doggie, with his own 'boo boos,' a small blanket and coloring book, who couldn't use that! Sometimes these are the only 'toys' a child in the hospital will have, so seriously consider donating TODAY!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seeing the pictures and videos of kids getting their 'Owie kits'--they are priceless.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find more marketing opportunities so more people would know about them

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help us by spreading the word. Attach our web site to your email list. Share our Facebook and Twitter page. Add yourself to our newsletter so you can learn of our upcoming events and fundraisers. Volunteer