Over 1.8 million nonprofits and charities for donors, volunteers and funders

Claim This Nonprofit

More Info

Add to Favorites

Share this Nonprofit

Donate

Nonprofit Overview

Causes: Philanthropy, Public Foundations

Mission: To Comfort the hurts and hearts of children who are hospitalized and alone.

Results: Since 2010 we have donated over 2,000 Owie BowWowie to hospitalized children all over the United States, but to continue giving... we need your help. Comfort is love in action, and it will take many of us to ensure that not one of the 20 million hospitalized children (per year) are forgotten.

Target demographics: Children who are hospitalized with a life-threatening illness.

Direct beneficiaries per year: Northridge Hospital

Geographic areas served: Northridge Hospital, Loma Linda Medical Center, Childrens Hospital Los Angeles, and many others!

Programs: We have many programs designed for specific needs. Please contact us if you would like to know more about ways in which we can help you to give.

Community Stories

17 Stories from Volunteers, Donors & Supporters

Angie79

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

Gina and I have been friends for twenty years. She was there for me when my 13 year old son died from cancer. Part of owie comes from kyle's story. Gina has more than a heart of gold, she is gold!! What she has developed for hospitalized children is amazing. She has sacrificed so much and given her all to make Owie a loving lasting reminder of good in this world.

1

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

It was my honor to meet Gina Gippner Woods just over 9 years ago at an event which helped to showcase our Snowball Express mission for the children of our fallen. She is one of the warmest most sincere individuals I have ever met. She took it upon herself to hand make 5 quilts showcasing handprints of some of our heroes children which we were able to present to our major sponsors including Oakley Corporation. Her efforts to bring joy and comfort to sick and ailing children through her work with OwieBowWowie is priceless and speaks volumes to her character and passion. I am proud to call her friend. ONWARD! Trisha Marshall, National Gold Star Family Director for American Fallen Warrior Memorial Foundation. AFWMF.org

Comments ( 1 )

profile

owiebowwowie 11/03/2014

THANK YOU for all that you do also!

1 Gina66

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

We all know a stay in the hospital can be frightening. As a grandmother of a toddler who needed an extended stay in the hospital, we found it extremely important to try to create an atmosphere that was friendly and non-intimidating for our precious guy. OwieBowWowie helps to do just that. Not every child has the joy of a family standing by his or her side during a hospitalization. Smiles can be far and few between. Imagine the joy of a cuddly stuffed animal waiting just for you when you least expect it! The tenacious love and dedicated efforts behind OwieBowWowie create magical moments for children in pain. Kudos to this foundation!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

owiebowwowie 10/31/2014

Thank you!

1 Lorri M.

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

My name is Lorri Ann McKinney and I am writing to you today in regard to OwieBowWowie and Gina Gippner-Woods... simply amazing..not only to myself personally but to all the children helped by her totally selfless acts of kindness and generosity. Gina and I have become acquainted through our Pomeranian adoption agency ( The 4legged showgirl society) and hope to do a project together in the future that benefits both the children and dogs..thank you for your time.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

owiebowwowie 10/30/2014

Thank you! Looking forward to working with you!

2

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

Several years ago I crossed paths with Gina. Her personal story and her tenacity both in her own life and her life helping others was nothing short of humbling. It was obvious that her own personal experiences had a profound affect on her life and her future.

To think that something as simple as a stuffed doggie could lift the spirits of a cancer patient in such a profound way. Her faith and her ambition have changed lives......saved lives, and offered happiness in this simple stuffed animal. To realize that loneliness can be eliminated or at least lessened with a new companion, a 'OwieBowWowie' was all it took to set Gina on a path to reach as many children as she could, and she has done just that. She has touched a myriad of lives, the children and their families. She is a blessing to all who know her and come in contact with her. May God continue to bless her in this godly endeavor.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

owiebowwowie 10/30/2014

THANK YOU!

2 Cherie M.

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

Gina is it ambitious and tireless worker for Owie Bow Wowie. Having been a former employee in the medical field I can tell you what a gift she provides. When a child is suffering in the hospital and someone gives them a puppy who has owies like they do, you can't comprehend the good that does. It gives them a reason to smile, a companion and a connection. Anyone looking to donate to a cause this is it. Gina is a woman of Faith and trust worthy your donations go directly to the children. All her energy goes to this cause. Thank you for being such a bright light in a dark world

Comments ( 1 )

profile

owiebowwowie 10/30/2014

THANK YOU!

1 Richard59

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

OwieBowWowie is on a mission of love and compassion. As a former veterinarian I am aware of the beneficial effects of pets for kids development, for health and well-being. Owie is the next best thing to owning a pet - always faithful, loyal, loving, caring, non-judgmental, always there.

My prayer is that more would capture the vision and mission of Owie that he will be an ambassador and healer for kids around the world.

Be Pawsome!
Dr Richard Norris

Comments ( 1 )

profile

owiebowwowie 10/30/2014

THANK YOU!

2

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

It all started with an invitation to an online home business party to raise money for a Marine family stationed in Hawaii. The wife was expecting their third baby. The ordeals, scares, anxiousness, and fears were mounting daily. Due to some unexpected difficulty with the developing baby, Mom was sent to San Diego's Naval Hospital. She was alone, separated from her husband and sons as well as extended family. I thought, how can we help her? We sent care packages, love notes... and then along came Owie! He and his blanket became a source of comfort to the entire family! I will let Mom tell her story should she choose to do so. But!! If you know Gina, my friend and my Cali Sis, not only did Owie come into the picture, but all the love that Owie could hold in his heart! God bless you, Gina and our wonderful Owie! MamaLinda

Comments ( 1 )

profile

owiebowwowie 10/30/2014

THANK YOU!

2 Felicia5

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

I have known Gina the CEO of OwieBowWowie for a very long time. Gina is a very special person with a huge caring & loving heart. She not only sends Owie to children to help with their illnesses but adults as well. Gina has created an amazing & healing thing by sharing Owie with others.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

owiebowwowie 10/30/2014

THANK YOU!

2

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

OwieBowWowie & Friends Foundation is a wonderful. It help children who are sick. Owie comforts them. It is a very compassionate foundation.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

owiebowwowie 10/30/2014

THANK YOU!