Over 1.8 million nonprofits and charities for donors, volunteers and funders

Claim This Nonprofit

More Info

Add to Favorites

Share this Nonprofit

Donate

Volunteering Oportunities

Nonprofit Overview

Causes: Philanthropy, Public Foundations

Mission: To Comfort the hurts and hearts of children who are hospitalized and alone.

Results: Since 2010 we have donated over 2,000 Owie BowWowie to hospitalized children all over the United States, but to continue giving... we need your help. Comfort is love in action, and it will take many of us to ensure that not one of the 20 million hospitalized children (per year) are forgotten.

Target demographics: Children who are hospitalized with a life-threatening illness.

Direct beneficiaries per year: Northridge Hospital

Geographic areas served: Northridge Hospital, Loma Linda Medical Center, Childrens Hospital Los Angeles, and many others!

Programs: We have many programs designed for specific needs. Please contact us if you would like to know more about ways in which we can help you to give.

Community Stories

8 Stories from Volunteers, Donors & Supporters

1 Suzetta V.

Client Served

Rating: 5

When my son came home after major brain surgery, to reduce a tumor in his brain stem, and Owie dog was there waiting for him! Seeing Owie gave our 16 month old baby his first smile after a month in the hospital recovering. I cannot express the joy in our hearts we felt that day, it was a ray of pure sunshine!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

owiebowwowie 10/30/2014

Thank you, and continued prayers for Spencer. xo

2 Ann_56

Client Served

Rating: 5

I have known Gina, the Director, for a number of years. She has always been a caring person, wanting to help others and when she founded OwieBowWowie, she found her niche. She started out by giving stuffed dogs to children who were undergoing treatment for serious illness, as a friend and comforter. Then she started making them available to the general public. I bought one Owie to give to an adult friend who was undergoing chemo and radiation for breast cancer. I just recently bought a 'Little Owie' to give to another friend who works for the child development lab at the University of Illinois and teaches a class on working with hospitalized children. I got the dog before I sent the check. Her fund raising ideas are great, her Facebook posts are always amusing and funny. OwieBowWowie will go anywhere and do anything to bring help and comfort to those who need it.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

owiebowwowie 10/30/2014

THANK YOU!

1 Bob_19

Donor

Rating: 5

Great service and feedback. I donated a stuffed dog to a sick child I will never meet. My wife and I also appreciate her updates and photos.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

owiebowwowie 10/30/2014

THANK YOU!

Previous Stories
1

Client Served

Rating: 5

Loved the fact that the doggie went to a critically ill kid that is hospitalized.

2 Mary165

Client Served

Rating: 5

Our son received an OwieBowWowie in 2011 when he was Hospitalized. We had already been in and out of the ER and he was then hospitalized for a period of several days. Blood draws, repositioning IVs and being put through x-rays and ultra sounds had taken their toll. He had been hospitalized before and he although he knew the drill, he was frustrated cause we couldn't make him feel better. I remember when they gave him his Owie. He smiled(which was welcomed since all he had been doing was sleeping). He played with him and insisted we swaddle him so he could hold him tight. The child specialist used Owie to help him cope when the IVs and blood draws were done and we were able to pack up Owie and take our son home...... End of story right??? Wrong.... He was rehospitalized less then 24 hrs later....Owie provided so much comfort then and he still does. We have been back to the ER several times since, admitted at least twice since he got Owie and has gone through my son's second scope of his GI tract. And Owie is ALWAYS THERE- PROVIDING COMFORT AND A QUIET INNER STRENGTH. He is so much more then a simple teddy bear or a toy..... my son draws courage from him and what he stands for. To try to tell a child-especially your child - why they have to go through all those tests, pokes, tape removal, blood draws and to see how scared they are.... and then to see them trying to be brave while holding Owie as they go through this- It helps us as parents too. It comforts us knowing that our child is getting that inner strength from a little doggie that has owies too... When my child is dreading a doc's appointment or another ER trip- Owie is always with us.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

owiebowwowie 10/30/2014

THANK YOU!

1 Sherise W.

Client Served

Rating: 5

my 7 yr old son was diagnosed with stage 4 wilms tumor we found the OwieBowWowie site Jacob received his puppy he was so Happy to have a puppy that he could take to the hospital,or any other place he was going.this puppy would help him when it would come time for treatment because we would play find the Owie on the puppy.to this day he still sleeps with it and when we leave he has to bring it with.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

owiebowwowie 10/30/2014

THANK YOU. STILL PRAYING FOR JACOB.

2

Client Served

Rating: 5

My daughter received an Owie before she had surgery at 9 mo. She obviously didn't really understand what was going on but Owie is still one of her favorite animals. We also have a family friend whose niece is currently battling neuroblastoma. She received an Owie before heading to the hospital for her final chemo followed by her bone marrow transplant. She was so excited when she saw that Owie was bandaged up just like her. Anything you can do to put a smile on a sick child's face is worth it.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

owiebowwowie 10/30/2014

THANK YOU!

1

Client Served

Rating: 5

Our 14 year old Granddaughter had her 9th open heart surgery two weeks ago. This was the big one, since her heart was stopped, and she was on the heart/lung machine for 4 1/2 hours, while they worked on her. When she came around, there was her very own Owie to hold. She slept with it, and held it all during the days, until she was released from the hospital. She is on a 6 week recovery period at home, and still sleeps with her Owie every night. She has other "stuffed dolls/animals" she could have with her at night, but only her Owie is the one she chose to keep and hold. THANKS for Owie being there for her. Max beerup, Kansas City, MO.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

owiebowwowie 10/30/2014

THANK YOU!

3

Client Served

Rating: 5

This non-profit is genuinely helping raise the spirits of terminally ill children.. Although my Grandchild was not termanilly ill, Gina dropped off an Owie to him in the Hospital where she was for many days. I saw his eyes light up as he leaned over to kiss owie right on the nose. He was scared and lonely and had no idea what was going on. This moment was the first that I saw him actually smile. Providing comfort for children who are alone and frightened is an awesome gift

Comments ( 1 )

profile

owiebowwowie 10/30/2014

THANK YOU!