Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
43 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

When my son came home after major brain surgery, to reduce a tumor in his brain stem, and Owie dog was there waiting for him! Seeing Owie gave our 16 month old baby his first smile after a month in the hospital recovering. I cannot express the joy in our hearts we felt that day, it was a ray of pure sunshine!
April 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have known Gina, the Director, for a number of years. She has always been a caring person, wanting to help others and when she founded OwieBowWowie, she found her niche. She started out by giving stuffed dogs to children who were undergoing treatment for serious illness, as a friend and comforter. Then she started making them available to the general public. I bought one Owie to give to an adult friend who was undergoing chemo and radiation for breast cancer. I just recently bought a 'Little Owie' to give to another friend who works for the child development lab at the University of Illinois and teaches a class on working with hospitalized children. I got the dog before I sent the check. Her fund raising ideas are great, her Facebook posts are always amusing and funny. OwieBowWowie will go anywhere and do anything to bring help and comfort to those who need it.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Our son received an OwieBowWowie in 2011 when he was Hospitalized. We had already been in and out of the ER and he was then hospitalized for a period of several days. Blood draws, repositioning IVs and being put through x-rays and ultra sounds had taken their toll. He had been hospitalized before and he although he knew the drill, he was frustrated cause we couldn't make him feel better. I remember when they gave him his Owie. He smiled(which was welcomed since all he had been doing was sleeping). He played with him and insisted we swaddle him so he could hold him tight. The child specialist used Owie to help him cope when the IVs and blood draws were done and we were able to pack up Owie and take our son home...... End of story right??? Wrong.... He was rehospitalized less then 24 hrs later....Owie provided so much comfort then and he still does. We have been back to the ER several times since, admitted at least twice since he got Owie and has gone through my son's second scope of his GI tract. And Owie is ALWAYS THERE- PROVIDING COMFORT AND A QUIET INNER STRENGTH. He is so much more then a simple teddy bear or a toy..... my son draws courage from him and what he stands for. To try to tell a child-especially your child - why they have to go through all those tests, pokes, tape removal, blood draws and to see how scared they are.... and then to see them trying to be brave while holding Owie as they go through this- It helps us as parents too. It comforts us knowing that our child is getting that inner strength from a little doggie that has owies too... When my child is dreading a doc's appointment or another ER trip- Owie is always with us.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

my 7 yr old son was diagnosed with stage 4 wilms tumor we found the OwieBowWowie site Jacob received his puppy he was so Happy to have a puppy that he could take to the hospital,or any other place he was going.this puppy would help him when it would come time for treatment because we would play find the Owie on the puppy.to this day he still sleeps with it and when we leave he has to bring it with.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

My daughter received an Owie before she had surgery at 9 mo. She obviously didn't really understand what was going on but Owie is still one of her favorite animals. We also have a family friend whose niece is currently battling neuroblastoma. She received an Owie before heading to the hospital for her final chemo followed by her bone marrow transplant. She was so excited when she saw that Owie was bandaged up just like her. Anything you can do to put a smile on a sick child's face is worth it.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Our 14 year old Granddaughter had her 9th open heart surgery two weeks ago. This was the big one, since her heart was stopped, and she was on the heart/lung machine for 4 1/2 hours, while they worked on her. When she came around, there was her very own Owie to hold. She slept with it, and held it all during the days, until she was released from the hospital. She is on a 6 week recovery period at home, and still sleeps with her Owie every night. She has other "stuffed dolls/animals" she could have with her at night, but only her Owie is the one she chose to keep and hold. THANKS for Owie being there for her. Max beerup, Kansas City, MO.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 17, 2012

Loved the fact that the doggie went to a critically ill kid that is hospitalized. more

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Great service and feedback. I donated a stuffed dog to a sick child I will never meet. My wife and I also appreciate her updates and photos.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Loved the fact that the doggie went to a critically ill kid that is hospitalized.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 17, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

This non-profit is genuinely helping raise the spirits of terminally ill children.. Although my Grandchild was not termanilly ill, Gina dropped off an Owie to him in the Hospital where she was for many days. I saw his eyes light up as he leaned over to kiss owie right on the nose. He was scared and lonely and had no idea what was going on. This moment was the first that I saw him actually smile. Providing comfort for children who are alone and frightened is an awesome gift

Photos

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help us by spreading the word. Attach our web site to your email list. Share our Facebook and Twitter page. Add yourself to our newsletter so you can learn of our upcoming events and fundraisers. Volunteer