Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
31 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
June 26, 2014

more

June 26, 2014

Gina is one of the strongest, most dedicated people I have ever met. She has committed so much time and energy to empowering hospitalized children. Owie BowWowie has come a very long way since I first started volunteering here and I look forward to seeing Gina's full visions realized :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 17, 2013

more

July 17, 2013

By chance a friend say a small article from a local chamber newsletter NO Picture just a small article about a local non profit. .I googled Owie Bow Wowie and fell in love with the idea, concept and meaning of Owie. I sent an email to Owie and I got a call and a reply. I am a proud Owie Comforteer.
I have started sharing Owie with the Bark for Life events I am chairing which is now a branch of Owie Bark For Life's Owies. I have given Owies to those who need comfort a friend who lost her puppy in PA, a friend going thru a depression, a friend who will be having her breast removed and is only 32. My nieces just because I love them. A friend going thru Chemo treatments and a friend who just needed a little smile to make her feel better. Owie is just an amazing little dog he makes you smile just seeing him. but to have him to hold cuddle or just be by you is comfort and love that speaks to your heart and soul.
But for a child in the hospital Owie is a constant friend companion who is there for a child or adult in the hospital.
Owie is a constant travel companion taking him and sharing him and having photo ops to share with the Owie community at Where's Owie?
The best is seeing a child with an Owie and knowing Owie is helping that child get thru whatever life may have thrown there way.
Thank you Gina for Creating this special dog that has a HUGE Message and a HUGE meaning to so many. It would be great to see Owie at Every Hospital for every child or person That is in need of an Owie Bow Wowie...

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

OwieBowWowie is a great organization ran by one of the most generous and selfless women I have ever met. She cares more about those people in need of comfort then she does herself and has sacrificed more than anyone can truly understand to ensure the sick children have something to hold onto. This selfless and giving attitude is directly mirrored by the organization who gives much more than a toy to these kids. OwieBowWowie is more than a toy the child can hold onto. It’s a symbol to these children that they are not alone and that people are thinking of them. It also gives those people who feel helpless when they see a sick child something to do, something to give.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I was priviledged to meet & travel with Gina Gippner-Woods when her first shipment of OwieBowWowies was ordered. Since that time we have remained close friends & I was blessed to help design one of the first websites. I have presented OwieBowWowie to our Rotary Club, our local hospital's Ladies Auxillary and the Kawanis as well as many family & friends. My oldest friend of 53 years recently was told.she was dying. When her family had said their goodbyes I asked the ICU nurse to bring Carol the OwieBowWowie I had brought with me. Nurededses reported her huge smile and how she reached for him to hug him close. A very short time later, within 2 hours, she revived and was taken off the critical list and went home a few days later with OwieBowWowie. Carol reported the nurses had much fun moving Owie from place to place while she slept and it became a game to find him once she awakened. Smiles abounded and Owie was told he would be greatly missed by the ICU staff.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My family's joy and the lives of my friends who have an Owie.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get more help to let the world know about OwieBowWowie and what this organization has alteady done and is now doing to comfort not only children, but adults as well.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I found out if I truly believe in something that it is easy to share with strangers what is in my heart that will change their hearts towards others.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Truly blessed!

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

OwieBowWowie and Friends is a great organization that provides love and comfort to the hearts of terminally ill children. Owie is a plush stuffed toy that comes with blanket, crayons and coloring book. So many children are in hospitals alone with no family due to their medical conditions and location of the hospitals. Owie gives children something that is theirs to love, hug, and hold. Owie is super special because he also has a bandage on his leg. I've seen so many photos of children who are obviously ill and yet, look so happy with their Owies. I love that he is donated to the children at the local hospitals and would love to see him available to all children. The Founder, Gina Woods, has the biggest heart of anyone I know. Her love, compassion, and dedication is amazing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help us by spreading the word. Attach our web site to your email list. Share our Facebook and Twitter page. Add yourself to our newsletter so you can learn of our upcoming events and fundraisers. Volunteer