Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
31 Reviews
12345
| 1 1 2 3 | Next
Write A Review
October 17, 2012

more

October 17, 2012

To Whom It May Concern:

I am writing to encourage support for a wonderful Non-profit Organization, ‘Owie BowWowie and Friends,’ created and run by Gina Woods. Gina is a Dear Friend of mine and has worked tirelessly for many years to bring Comfort – through Owie and Friends – to children
and adults with life-threatening illnesses. Gina knows first-hand, because of health issues of her own through the years, that just a ‘Touch of Comfort’ makes such a difference to one going through such difficult times. Her creation of Owie and her persistence in working to be able to have ‘him’ available to any and all who need him are truly inspirational! She has continued with her dream through incredibly difficult circumstances of her own, yet I have never known a more positive, caring, loving, giving and dedicated person than Gina.

I would highly recommend your support of this great organization and its continuing efforts to tangibly comfort those who are gravely ill. ‘Owie BowWowie and Friends’ should be able to do what they do best!

Lynden Blossom
An Elegant Touch…

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I was priviledged to meet & travel with Gina Gippner-Woods when her first shipment of OwieBowWowies was ordered. Since that time we have remained close friends & I was blessed to help design one of the first websites. I have presented OwieBowWowie to our Rotary Club, our local hospital's Ladies Auxillary and the Kawanis as well as many family & friends. My oldest friend of 53 years recently was told.she was dying. When her family had said their goodbyes I asked the ICU nurse to bring Carol the OwieBowWowie I had brought with me. Nurededses reported her huge smile and how she reached for him to hug him close. A very short time later, within 2 hours, she revived and was taken off the critical list and went home a few days later with OwieBowWowie. Carol reported the nurses had much fun moving Owie from place to place while she slept and it became a game to find him once she awakened. Smiles abounded and Owie was told he would be greatly missed by the ICU staff.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My family's joy and the lives of my friends who have an Owie.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get more help to let the world know about OwieBowWowie and what this organization has alteady done and is now doing to comfort not only children, but adults as well.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I found out if I truly believe in something that it is easy to share with strangers what is in my heart that will change their hearts towards others.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Truly blessed!

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

When I met Gina Gippner-Woods, the founder of OwieBowWowie, nearly a decade ago, she told me about this idea of helping children in hospitals by giving them a comfort toy that she had designed and named OwieBowWowie. For a financially strapped mom caring for two children at home and worrying about a son in Iraq, OwieBowWowie seemed like a lofty and overly ambitious goal to me. But Gina persevered, buoyed by her faith and her endless compassion for others. She tirelessly pursued her dream even while making comfort quilts for the wives and mothers of fallen soldiers and struggling to provide a home for her children. What most people don't know is that all the while she has been dealing with her own fragile health, threatened by a disease that could shorten her own life. Gina is the driving force that has made OwieBowWowie one of the most generous charitable programs I've seen. Through the generosity of others, OwieBowWowie has become a reality and passes on to children in need the care and compassion required to heal hearts, minds and bodies.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This is the non-profit for anyone with a soft spot in their heart for kids. Especially sick kids! Owie understands the hurdles these very sick little ones face and stays with them 24/7 to comfort and help them on their journey. I have traveled to CA multiple times and met with Owie and his creator, Gina. What a joy it is to be around both of them! I was so impressed I even spent a Saturday as a volunteer with their group. I have seen first hand the effect Owie and his friends can have. If you are looking for a place to invest in the lives of children, look no further. If you are in the SoCal region and would like to volunteer somewhere, look no further. Owie is tops on my list!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seeing the delight on children's faces when Owie brings his special brand of comfort.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help find additional funding to expand Owie's reach nationwide.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

We decided to try doing something meaningful one Christmas instead of just exchanging gifts that would be soon broken or forgotten. We donated to Owie and had family members fill out cards of encouragement to send with Owie to kids who were hurting. It has now become a tradition. What was really special were the thank you notes that came from families who received those cards and Owies. We knew we had made a difference.

What would you tell others about this organization?

GIVE!

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Who doesn't feel compassion for a child in the hospital? Of all the things in life that break our heart, the thought of children suffering is right at the top. OwieBowWowie brings comfort and a smile to a child in pain. When our son was in the hospital for minor surgery we weren't able to sit with him the whole time. A friend brought him a stuffed animal and we watched as he snuggled up and loved it. It was so much easier to leave him with his new "friend" and know he was comforted by the love that came with it. Owie is that friend to so many children. Gina has been gifted with an abundance of love and she leaves a ton of it with every Owie given. Each child who receives an Owie not only has a plush friend, they have a reminder of love. Few things in this world are more important than a reminder of love to a child. That's what Owie and Gina do - they simply love. And we've all heard it before - what the world needs now is LOVE! It's the only thing that there's just too little of.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

This non-profit is genuinely helping raise the spirits of terminally ill children.. Although my Grandchild was not termanilly ill, Gina dropped off an Owie to him in the Hospital where she was for many days. I saw his eyes light up as he leaned over to kiss owie right on the nose. He was scared and lonely and had no idea what was going on. This moment was the first that I saw him actually smile. Providing comfort for children who are alone and frightened is an awesome gift

Photos

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have been an online "friend" of Gina's for many, many years while our children were in the US Marine Corps. OwieBowWowie and Friends is a complete labor of love for Gina and the many others who contribute. She shares the wonderful messages she gets from children who have received OwieBowWowies, and stories of their struggles and triumphs. I am also a contributor to the coloring/activity book that comes with Owie. A very worthwhile charity.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

OwieBowWowie and Friends is a great organization that provides love and comfort to the hearts of terminally ill children. Owie is a plush stuffed toy that comes with blanket, crayons and coloring book. So many children are in hospitals alone with no family due to their medical conditions and location of the hospitals. Owie gives children something that is theirs to love, hug, and hold. Owie is super special because he also has a bandage on his leg. I've seen so many photos of children who are obviously ill and yet, look so happy with their Owies. I love that he is donated to the children at the local hospitals and would love to see him available to all children. The Founder, Gina Woods, has the biggest heart of anyone I know. Her love, compassion, and dedication is amazing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

It is a great work and calling Owie has done and will continue to do. Seeing first hand the smile put on the face of a child left with little hope brought joy to my heart in what was in every other way a sad situation. My prayer is every child who is ill would have an Owie to bring them comfort.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 9, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 9, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

You would be hard pressed to find a more heart warming charity. I was an emergency nurse for many years, and there was nothing worse than a sick or injured child. But usually their parents were with them, they would go home and that would be it.

But picture a child hospitalized with a life
threatening disease. They usually end up in specialty hospitals that might not be close to home. They may be alone at night, parents and family may or may not be able to visit. That's where Owie comes in. When you read the story of how Owie came to be, you'll have to donate at least once. A wonderful stuffed doggie, with his own 'boo boos,' a small blanket and coloring book, who couldn't use that! Sometimes these are the only 'toys' a child in the hospital will have, so seriously consider donating TODAY!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seeing the pictures and videos of kids getting their 'Owie kits'--they are priceless.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find more marketing opportunities so more people would know about them

| 1 1 2 3 | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help us by spreading the word. Attach our web site to your email list. Share our Facebook and Twitter page. Add yourself to our newsletter so you can learn of our upcoming events and fundraisers. Volunteer