Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
45 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
April 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have known Gina, the Director, for a number of years. She has always been a caring person, wanting to help others and when she founded OwieBowWowie, she found her niche. She started out by giving stuffed dogs to children who were undergoing treatment for serious illness, as a friend and comforter. Then she started making them available to the general public. I bought one Owie to give to an adult friend who was undergoing chemo and radiation for breast cancer. I just recently bought a 'Little Owie' to give to another friend who works for the child development lab at the University of Illinois and teaches a class on working with hospitalized children. I got the dog before I sent the check. Her fund raising ideas are great, her Facebook posts are always amusing and funny. OwieBowWowie will go anywhere and do anything to bring help and comfort to those who need it.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

OwieBowWowie & Friends Foundation is a wonderful. It help children who are sick. Owie comforts them. It is a very compassionate foundation.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 17, 2012

Loved the fact that the doggie went to a critically ill kid that is hospitalized. more

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Great service and feedback. I donated a stuffed dog to a sick child I will never meet. My wife and I also appreciate her updates and photos.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Loved the fact that the doggie went to a critically ill kid that is hospitalized.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have known Gina for years and I know how much she cares for children. She has made bringing sick children comfort her life mission.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Our son received an OwieBowWowie in 2011 when he was Hospitalized. We had already been in and out of the ER and he was then hospitalized for a period of several days. Blood draws, repositioning IVs and being put through x-rays and ultra sounds had taken their toll. He had been hospitalized before and he although he knew the drill, he was frustrated cause we couldn't make him feel better. I remember when they gave him his Owie. He smiled(which was welcomed since all he had been doing was sleeping). He played with him and insisted we swaddle him so he could hold him tight. The child specialist used Owie to help him cope when the IVs and blood draws were done and we were able to pack up Owie and take our son home...... End of story right??? Wrong.... He was rehospitalized less then 24 hrs later....Owie provided so much comfort then and he still does. We have been back to the ER several times since, admitted at least twice since he got Owie and has gone through my son's second scope of his GI tract. And Owie is ALWAYS THERE- PROVIDING COMFORT AND A QUIET INNER STRENGTH. He is so much more then a simple teddy bear or a toy..... my son draws courage from him and what he stands for. To try to tell a child-especially your child - why they have to go through all those tests, pokes, tape removal, blood draws and to see how scared they are.... and then to see them trying to be brave while holding Owie as they go through this- It helps us as parents too. It comforts us knowing that our child is getting that inner strength from a little doggie that has owies too... When my child is dreading a doc's appointment or another ER trip- Owie is always with us.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Gina reached out to me to write about our son marine Lcpl Nick Daniels KIA 11/5/11. It seems like whole country has forgotten him and she hasn't.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

my 7 yr old son was diagnosed with stage 4 wilms tumor we found the OwieBowWowie site Jacob received his puppy he was so Happy to have a puppy that he could take to the hospital,or any other place he was going.this puppy would help him when it would come time for treatment because we would play find the Owie on the puppy.to this day he still sleeps with it and when we leave he has to bring it with.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 22, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 22, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

My daughter is a Child Life Specialist at a hospital were Owie is a great help in soothing and calming children who are going through difficult medical situations. She is so grateful and lucky to have Owie to help her help her kids. Having volunteered in the PICU of our local children's hospital, I know that sometimes it's the little things that can really turn a child around. Even if it just puts a smile on their face when they see that Owie is bandaged up like they are, that positive energy helps in their recovery. I wish every children's hospital had OwieBowWowie available to them.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 19, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 19, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

If you have ever seen an OwieBowWowie, or saw what this little dog did for children you would understand how amazing this foundation is. I have seen how this little dog has warmed peoples hearts, and has put a smile on each child's face that has been given this gift of a friend. If you have ever been sick a day in your life you know it's not something you want to go through alone, and this foundation supports just that. The simplicity of comfort is not something we all have, but when you can give a child the comfort of knowing they are not alone how do you not support that? They say a picture is worth a thousand words, but when you see a photo of a child being given the gift of this toy the image itself is speechless. The gift is giving a child something so much more than just a toy. This is such an amazing foundation.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 19, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 19, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

OwieBowWowie is a very unique non-profit endeavor. It is the result of the creative mind of its inventor, Gina Woods. A creative mind that puts giving a simple plush OwieBowWowie toy to sick children in a hospital before anything else. I am amazed at Gina's commitment and totally impressed with the medicinal value of these gifts to the children, who are the recipients. The world needs lots more people with the heart to build these lovable pets and donate them to childrens' hospitals, wherever they might be. I hope through the efforts of this program, that Owie and Gina become household names that we will get to know even better. Thanks for this opportunity to tell your readers about this very special Non-profit. Harry Croner, SCORE Counselor

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you tell others about this organization?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help us by spreading the word. Attach our web site to your email list. Share our Facebook and Twitter page. Add yourself to our newsletter so you can learn of our upcoming events and fundraisers. Volunteer