Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
30 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
April 11, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
April 11, 2014

Gina Woods and her foundation
is an inspiration to donors in that we see where
our donations directly end... In an Owie Bowie
Wowie delivered to a child in pain.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Ask for more people to see the benefit and provide donations to ensure Bowie's are available when a child has a need for comfort and support.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 18, 2013

more

July 18, 2013

OwieBowWowie is on a mission of love and compassion. As a former veterinarian I am aware of the beneficial effects of pets for kids development, for health and well-being. Owie is the next best thing to owning a pet - always faithful, loyal, loving, caring, non-judgmental, always there.

My prayer is that more would capture the vision and mission of Owie that he will be an ambassador and healer for kids around the world.

Be Pawsome!
Dr Richard Norris

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 17, 2013

more

July 17, 2013

By chance a friend say a small article from a local chamber newsletter NO Picture just a small article about a local non profit. .I googled Owie Bow Wowie and fell in love with the idea, concept and meaning of Owie. I sent an email to Owie and I got a call and a reply. I am a proud Owie Comforteer.
I have started sharing Owie with the Bark for Life events I am chairing which is now a branch of Owie Bark For Life's Owies. I have given Owies to those who need comfort a friend who lost her puppy in PA, a friend going thru a depression, a friend who will be having her breast removed and is only 32. My nieces just because I love them. A friend going thru Chemo treatments and a friend who just needed a little smile to make her feel better. Owie is just an amazing little dog he makes you smile just seeing him. but to have him to hold cuddle or just be by you is comfort and love that speaks to your heart and soul.
But for a child in the hospital Owie is a constant friend companion who is there for a child or adult in the hospital.
Owie is a constant travel companion taking him and sharing him and having photo ops to share with the Owie community at Where's Owie?
The best is seeing a child with an Owie and knowing Owie is helping that child get thru whatever life may have thrown there way.
Thank you Gina for Creating this special dog that has a HUGE Message and a HUGE meaning to so many. It would be great to see Owie at Every Hospital for every child or person That is in need of an Owie Bow Wowie...

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 17, 2013

more

July 17, 2013

It all started with an invitation to an online home business party to raise money for a Marine family stationed in Hawaii. The wife was expecting their third baby. The ordeals, scares, anxiousness, and fears were mounting daily. Due to some unexpected difficulty with the developing baby, Mom was sent to San Diego's Naval Hospital. She was alone, separated from her husband and sons as well as extended family. I thought, how can we help her? We sent care packages, love notes... and then along came Owie! He and his blanket became a source of comfort to the entire family! I will let Mom tell her story should she choose to do so. But!! If you know Gina, my friend and my Cali Sis, not only did Owie come into the picture, but all the love that Owie could hold in his heart! God bless you, Gina and our wonderful Owie! MamaLinda

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Move to California!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

I have known Gina the CEO of OwieBowWowie for a very long time. Gina is a very special person with a huge caring & loving heart. She not only sends Owie to children to help with their illnesses but adults as well. Gina has created an amazing & healing thing by sharing Owie with others.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

I have known Gina, the Director, for a number of years. She has always been a caring person, wanting to help others and when she founded OwieBowWowie, she found her niche. She started out by giving stuffed dogs to children who were undergoing treatment for serious illness, as a friend and comforter. Then she started making them available to the general public. I bought one Owie to give to an adult friend who was undergoing chemo and radiation for breast cancer. I just recently bought a 'Little Owie' to give to another friend who works for the child development lab at the University of Illinois and teaches a class on working with hospitalized children. I got the dog before I sent the check. Her fund raising ideas are great, her Facebook posts are always amusing and funny. OwieBowWowie will go anywhere and do anything to bring help and comfort to those who need it.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

OwieBowWowie & Friends Foundation is a wonderful. It help children who are sick. Owie comforts them. It is a very compassionate foundation.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 17, 2012

Loved the fact that the doggie went to a critically ill kid that is hospitalized. more

April 5, 2013

Great service and feedback. I donated a stuffed dog to a sick child I will never meet. My wife and I also appreciate her updates and photos.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Loved the fact that the doggie went to a critically ill kid that is hospitalized.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

I have known Gina for years and I know how much she cares for children. She has made bringing sick children comfort her life mission.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

Our son received an OwieBowWowie in 2011 when he was Hospitalized. We had already been in and out of the ER and he was then hospitalized for a period of several days. Blood draws, repositioning IVs and being put through x-rays and ultra sounds had taken their toll. He had been hospitalized before and he although he knew the drill, he was frustrated cause we couldn't make him feel better. I remember when they gave him his Owie. He smiled(which was welcomed since all he had been doing was sleeping). He played with him and insisted we swaddle him so he could hold him tight. The child specialist used Owie to help him cope when the IVs and blood draws were done and we were able to pack up Owie and take our son home...... End of story right??? Wrong.... He was rehospitalized less then 24 hrs later....Owie provided so much comfort then and he still does. We have been back to the ER several times since, admitted at least twice since he got Owie and has gone through my son's second scope of his GI tract. And Owie is ALWAYS THERE- PROVIDING COMFORT AND A QUIET INNER STRENGTH. He is so much more then a simple teddy bear or a toy..... my son draws courage from him and what he stands for. To try to tell a child-especially your child - why they have to go through all those tests, pokes, tape removal, blood draws and to see how scared they are.... and then to see them trying to be brave while holding Owie as they go through this- It helps us as parents too. It comforts us knowing that our child is getting that inner strength from a little doggie that has owies too... When my child is dreading a doc's appointment or another ER trip- Owie is always with us.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help us by spreading the word. Attach our web site to your email list. Share our Facebook and Twitter page. Add yourself to our newsletter so you can learn of our upcoming events and fundraisers. Volunteer