Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
52 Reviews
1234.807695
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
September 22, 2014

more

September 22, 2014

The Ovarian Cancer National Alliance changed my understanding of life as a survivor of ovarian cancer. First, as a client, I learned about my disease through their education programs. Then I learned about empowerment, testifying on behalf of other women with the disease. Through their outreach efforts, we engaged the underserved and under-informed. We became the voice of patients to healthcare providers and policy makers, and made substantive change. This is a charity that affects every aspect of ovarian cancer - patients, clinicians, researchers, donors, caregivers, lawmakers and the public. Serving on their board is the most honorable role of my life.
October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

I was diagnosed with Stage 3 C ovearian cancer in May 2010 and didn't know a thing about this disease. After I was discharged from the hospital I went looking for a website that would answer my questions. I came upon the Ovarian Cancer National Alliance and learned so much. My family and myself learned what to expect. Since that time I have gone back to this website to learn different things and have help in their fund raising in the months of September. I will do anything to help OCNA to raise awareness of Ovarian Cancer so the next woman doesn't have to go through what I did. Thank you OCNA, you have helped me more than you know.
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014


A friends of mine was diagnosed in June 2014 and in July I shaved my head in an act of love and solidarity. I decided to start a fundraiser and I contacted OCNA. I spoke with Catie and she told me how to get the ball rolling. I lost my friend August 16th and have continued on my mission.
Catie and her team were always there to not only console me when I was feeling down, but they all lent their ideas and creativity when I hit a tough spot.

I am proud to say I support the Ovarian Cancer National Alliance and I am hoping to make this a YEARLY EVENT!!!
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

OCNA has changed my life. I was diagnosed in Dec, 2011, with Ovarian Cancer Stage 3C at age 59. I am now 62. I learned of OCNA thru their partner member NormaLeah Ovarian Cancer Foundation's director and founder, Jodie Kavensky, at a fundraiser for The University of Iowa Ovarian Cancer Research Lab.
Jodie encouraged me to visit the OCNA website. I joined OCNA's Survivors Teaching Students program and started the program here in Iowa in February, 2014. We have presented this program to 168 students at The University of Iowa College of Medicine and College of Nursing, and at Southeastern Community College in Keokuk, IA. In July, I attended OCNA's National Conference in Washington, DC. That event itself was lifechanging. There I met hundreds of survivors who have been fighting this disease 15-20 years. When I was diagnosed, I thought I would die within 1 year. As I sat in one of the presentations next to another survivor, the researcher spoke of the current findings and new treatments on the horizon - the lady next to me turned to me and we both had tears in our eyes, and we said we are NOT going to die, we are going to LIVE! OCNA provided me with a scholarship to attend their National Conference. Without the scholarship, I could not afford to attend. OCNA has given me HOPE. OCNA has provided me with programs to educate future healthcare providers so women will be diagnosed early and LIVE.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 13, 2014

more

October 13, 2014

As a survivor I have been involved with OCNA since the founding 17 years ago. What has been particularly impressive is to see how the leadership and experienced staff of the organization has been a convenor of advocates and the medical professionals to bring about public policy changes and to encourage expansion of research funding.
October 10, 2014

more


1 previous review
July 30, 2009

Nine years ago, I turned to the Ovarian Cancer National Alliance after losing a dear friend to ovarian cancer. I was interested in building an organization in my community to adavocate for ovarian can... more

October 10, 2014

As an oncology nurse and a leader of one of the Partner Member groups, I have been involved with OCNA for the last 14 years. It has been an incredible partnership with the main goal of improving the lives of women with ovarian cancer. As a healthcare professional, it is the place I turn to when I need resources for my patients. I have had the privilege to serve on the board of directors for the last 6 years. It is an honor to work on the OCNA team.
July 30, 2009

Nine years ago, I turned to the Ovarian Cancer National Alliance after losing a dear friend to ovarian cancer. I was interested in building an organization in my community to adavocate for ovarian cancer. The Ovarian Cancer National Alliance assisted me tremendously with this process. They have guided and supported my organization all along the way. It is a true privledge to work with the Alliance.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

making a difference in public policy.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

the support they give and the wonderful people who work so hard to help others!

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

extremely giving of their time and very knowledgable in their work.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

fund more programs for ovarian cancer which is so desperatley needed.

Ways to make it better...

It could not have been better!!

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 10, 2014

more

October 10, 2014

Teaming up with the Ovarian Cancer National Alliance has truly been life changing. My mom's battle began in 1998, but because she was BRCA negative, I was told that I was only at slightly increased risk. In an effort to be proactive, I began seeing my mom's gynecological oncologist for my yearly check-ups and did so for more than 10 years, yet somehow ovarian cancer came to visit anyway. After my diagnosis, one of the very first resources I found online was OCNA's wonderful website called Inspire. That led me to an amazing group of women who are also battling my rare type of OVCA, so rare that it has no standard treatment protocol.

Last year I accepted a role with OCNA as an advocate leader in order to spread awareness of this deadly disease in my state and community. I attended their national convention and visited Capitol Hill to advocate for increased funding for awareness and research. The sense of empowerment that OCNA gives survivors is the best medicine there is.
September 21, 2014

more

September 21, 2014

When diagnosed with late-stage ovarian cancer in 1999 I knew very little about ovarian cancer, other than it was often lethal. Working with the Ovarian Cancer National Alliance (OCNA) we were able to achieve Medicare coverage of PET scans and I found an entire "village" of women who are not only surviving but thriving! This organization hosts and monitors the Inspire website for patients and caregivers who are interested in others' experiences and a national conference for survivors featuring top ovarian cancer researchers.

OCNA's "Survivors Teaching Students - Saving Women's Lives(R) program where survivors share their experience from symptoms, diagnosis, treatment and their present status with medical students is lifesaving for their future patients. As one student commented, "we will never forget your faces and stories, you are heroines to us."

OCNA has a powerful grassroots impact via Partner Members across our great Nation. I trust OCNA by donating, as a survivor, my time and energies toward disease awareness on the local and at the national level as a volunteer research patient advocate representing patients and OCNA.
September 21, 2014

more

September 21, 2014

I found my voice as a survivor advocate when I attended my first Ovarian Cancer National Alliance conference and lobby day in 2006. The information presented by leaders in ovarian cancer research gave me so much hope and I was overwhelmed with joy to see so many survivors, family members, friends and Partner Members from all over the country. I had just completed treatment for first recurrence and was empowered to learn more and take action. The passion, energy and dedication of the board and staff to connect survivors with helpful information and opportunities to give and back, and work with medical and professional organizations on current issues is inspiring. The Alliance has been a powerful force behind many meaningful improvements for women with ovarian cancer and their families.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 20, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 25, 2012

As a survivor I have had a great deal of interaction with OCNA over the last 15 years and can only say that it is by far one of the most outstanding nonprofits I have encountered. A wealth of informa... more

September 20, 2014

It has now been 17 years since my diagnosis with advanced ovarian cancer. Fortunately for me, that was also the year that the Ovarian Cancer National Alliance was founded. Through every twist and turn of this journey, the Alliance has been with me. I count on the Alliance for accurate and up-to-date information about the disease. The organization has afforded me a place to use my voice for all women diagnosed with ovarian cancer. Each year as I attend their National Conference, I see the far reaching effects of the Alliance, turning survivors into thrivers. In the past two years I have watched in awe as the Alliance has worked to bring groups together to advance our cause and research. I am proud to be associated with this organization which represents our community so well.
October 25, 2012

As a survivor I have had a great deal of interaction with OCNA over the last 15 years and can only say that it is by far one of the most outstanding nonprofits I have encountered. A wealth of information about the disease, resources for the patient and family, concern and assistance with the challenges many of us face not only physically and financially but also emotionally. OCNA is passionate about awareness of ovarian cancer for all women, physicians and future health professionals and has an amazing staff and cadre of volunteers to accomplish this mission. The staff's enthusiasm is infectious and motivating. If you don't believe it, try saying no to attending the annual march to Capitol Hill! The staff is small in number but extremely commited to their jobs. If they do not have an answer to your question, they will work hard to get the right information to you. I know how hard the board works to make sure donations are used in a manner that will have the most impact for survivors and all women at risk of developing ovarian cancer. Proud to give my dollars to this major force on the TEAL TEAM.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 31, 2009

As a 12-year survivor of ovarian cancer I have watched as the various national organizations have been established, evolved, and reached out to our patient population. THe Ovarian Cancer National Alliance (OCNA) has been the driving force in trying to unite the national organizations, provide support to state organizations, get involved in legislative action so necessary for increasing funding for research and awareness, and most importantly giving us a voice as we battle this disease. Most recently I attended the OCNA 2009 National Conference and witnessed first hand how dedicated the entire OCNA staff is to our cause. They have developed a strong national agenda and work each and evry day toward achieving its goals. They certainly have provided me with an avenue to express my passion for advocacy and awareness of ovarian cancer and reach thousands of women with vital information.

Photos

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

their understanding of our need to educate other women about this deadly disease.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

professional, dedicated, and empathetic.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers