Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
36 Reviews
1234.972225
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 30, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 6, 2012

On a site visit to Nicaragua, I was able to see first hand how the sustainable aspect of Outreach International has made a very positive impact on the lives of people in the communities where it has a... more

October 30, 2013

Outreach International is an organization that really makes a difference in the lives of those who live in poverty. On a site visit to Nicaragua, we could see first-hand how people work together to meet community needs. I will continue to support Outreach International through personal donations and through the group efforts at our church.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 6, 2012

On a site visit to Nicaragua, I was able to see first hand how the sustainable aspect of Outreach International has made a very positive impact on the lives of people in the communities where it has a presence. The people in these communities are guided to decide for themselves what it is that they need to improve their quality of life. By working together, so much has been achieved.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I've been a donor to this organization for over 30 years. They are one of the first nonprofits that I know of that based their mission on sustainability. Their mission is to develop long-term, sustainable programs based on the needs identified by members of the community in which they are working. They work very hard to keep their administrative costs low so that most donations go to their programs and not overhead. I will continue to be a monthly donor and have included them in my will at my death.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

Great organization that uses the resources effectively.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1997

October 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I'm a small donor and I've donated to hundreds of different charities over the years. Outreach International is at the very top of my list. Number One. My reason for this stems from the development philosophy that this organization pursues. There are many excellent organizations that provide emergency aid, but Outreach International focuses on fixing the underlying problems through an approach that is often summarized in the phrase "Sustainable Good." I truly believe that a donation to Outreach International has a multiplier effect because it doesn't just save a life in an emergency, my donation supports an effort that will invest in development efforts guided by a Participatory Human Development Process (PHDP) that is sustainable and will save lives over and over again. You can read more about it here: http://outreach-international.org/about-us/our-approach/our-method/

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them find more donors.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 20, 2013

more

October 20, 2013

Outreach international supports people in countries with services that help promote self sufficiency as well as clothing and goods needed for their survival. This is an excellent organization for donations.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 20, 2013

more

October 20, 2013

my churches youth group raised money to buy some items of are choice

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 20, 2013

more

October 20, 2013

Outreach international is a great program that actualy helps people forever. I like the fact that they dont give the people things but actualy teach them. I think that is a wonderful idea and is a great non-profit program. I heard a saying that goes like this: "If you give a man a fish he will eat for a day. Teach a man to fish and he will eat for a life time." Outreach international is a great place where they really help people for a lifetime.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 20, 2013

more

October 20, 2013

At my church the youth(4 of us) choose to do a fundraiser for Outreach International. In the magazine they had a packet of items that we could purchase and send over to third world countries. We picked items like water sanitation kit, shots and other medication, eye exams, chickens, shoes, and other stuff along those lines. I like Outreach International because they help people rather than just giving them food. they might teach someone how to build a house instead of building a house for them. They have the mentality of "Give a man a fish, and he will eat for a day, give a man a pole and he eat for the rest of his life." I think that is a better mentality then to just give people food or shelter.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

n/a

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

At the birth of my first child I felt so fortunate--she was perfect and we were able to provide for all her needs. I became accutely aware of the plight of children in other countries whose parents were not able to provide the basic necessities such as clean water, food, shelter, clothing or education. I checked into many charities at that time and did not feel that their funds were used wisely or that their methods of addressing problems would really solve the problems. Years later we heard about Outreach International. Wow!, their pie chart of how donations are used is to us a wise distribution of funds. And their approach -- Participatory Human Development -- hits the bullseye! Those in need are very much involved in identifying their need/problem. They participate in the plan and they enthusiastically work the plan. And then, many times, they teach neighboring villages how to do the same. Danny and I give joyfully to Outreach International every month. They keep us informed about and involved in their (OUR) projects!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

I have been interested in OI for many years but recently I have realised more and more how the work they are doing is making such a difference in so many of the lives of the worlds poor, not just providing help but teaching them how to help themselves long term. You find out so much through Facebook, their website and the blogs that are written regularly and where the money you give is being used. Well done OI

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Assist with a Hunger Challenge; do a CROP walk; host a fundraiser; promote Outreach International to a school, group, church, or camp. Volunteer