Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
55 Reviews
1234.963645
Write A Review
October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

My husband and I have been supporters of Outreach International for many years, and in recent years it has become our charity of choice. We are especially drawn to OI's model, as it is one of the few that seems to provide a realistic process for self-empowerment and sustainability in its efforts against poverty. OI seems to really embrace the idea of abolishing poverty rather than just ameliorating it. One way we have enjoyed incorporating OI into our Christmas traditions is to use their gift catalog to make donations in the names of loved ones, and then to create Christmas ornaments representing the contribution. For instance, OI catalog donations may be used to purchase livestock, plant trees, build wells or cooking stoves, etc. and making a little ornament to represent how the donation may have been used to further a community's prosperity make the gift special and tangible. Regardless, I always feel our money is being used well when we make donations to OI.
October 24, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Traveling with Outreach International on a site visit to Malawi, Aftica showed me how the money I contribute really impacts those in extreme poverty. Many charities can advertise their work well. But I got to have the experience of seeing Outreach's unique process truely work to eliminate poverty.
October 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I love this organization and have often offered it up to people looking for a place to help. I appreciate many things, but the general public looking to make a difference can be confident that the funds go to the needy, as this organization keeps the administrative costs below 15%. Also, this organization helps people help themselves in a sustainable way - no one shot deals! I contribute by means of an automatic monthly withdrawal from my bank, as I don't want to forget this important work.
October 22, 2014

more

October 22, 2014

I have supported the work of Outreach International in providing funds to improve education in Haiti. As an elementary teacher I know the importance that education plays in improving children's' lives and the future of their communities. I appreciate the emphasis Outreach International places on sustainability.
October 22, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 8, 2012

As a nurse who's lived in quite a few developing nations, I've spent much of my adult life working for, with, beside, and in conjunction with a variety of NGOs. Although I do believe that they all hav... more

October 22, 2014

I've been a donor for years, had the opportunity to go on a site visit to Malawi, and have seen their work in-person in many other countries. Having spent years of my life traveling and working abroad for, with, and next to various NGOs, I can definitely say that OI exceeds the others by leaps and bounds. They do what they say, when they say they'll do it. Not only do they have good intentions (as I believe most NGOs do), but they have the professional knowledge and capacity to implement them in a sustainable, efficient, effective manner, all without racking up huge overhead costs.
November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As a nurse who's lived in quite a few developing nations, I've spent much of my adult life working for, with, beside, and in conjunction with a variety of NGOs. Although I do believe that they all have great intentions, most of them fall incredibly short on sustainability, with minimal if any lasting impact. Having had the chance to travel to Malawi to see OI at work, and having seen many of their projects in other countries, I can honestly say that they're the only NGO I've ever experienced that really does what they say they'll do, and does it incredibly well. Their projects are well thought out, locally implemented, and truly sustainable. If more organizations had the mission, motivation, and mindset of OI, the world would be much better served. From the bottom of my heart, I would like to thank OI for all that they do...keep up the good work :)

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 25, 2014

more

September 25, 2014

I have enjoyed giving to Outreach over the years because of their long-term commitment to communities. They help people help themselves with projects that the communities themselves get to help choose. Some choose farming, and Outreach teaches them sustainable techniques and provides everything they need to get started, then continues to help and monitor until the community becomes self-sufficient. I cannot think of a better way to reach out to those in need.
August 11, 2014

more

August 11, 2014

I have been donating to Outreach for many years. Their philosophy of helping people help themselves has intrigued me from the start. I made a visit to Zambia with Outreach and saw the work they do first hand. I donate to other organizations, but none can compare with Outreach and I donate to them on a regular basis.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of any changes I would make.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have recently returned from an Outreach International sponsored site visit to Malawi where we visited seven villages to see the work the people are doing to improve their lives. Members of the village committees who were running the projects reported to us on how life was before the Outreach International facilitator began working with them, how it is now, and how they hope it will be in the future. You should have seen the look of pride on their faces. Several of the leaders were women.

I was extremely impressed with the four Human Development Facilitators I met who work with the people in these very poor outlying villages and live in the same area of Malawi. In a country that appears hopeless, these people have hope because of Outreach International.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

WOW. I can't tell you how much the process that Outreach International employs empowers the poor to help themselves make changes in their lives and the life of their communities. I just returned from a trip to Malawi, where Outreach is assisting the poorest of the poor villages to learn the skills and take the steps to learn communal decision; setting goals and prioritizing,,,,and learning how to submit proposals to many NGOs as well as their own govenment (when applicable). And the process is SO empowering for the women. The difference in the pride and joy and forward looking spirit in the villages where Outreach has been for 10 years, vs 3 years, vs a new village is amazing. The "soft skills" of the in country, local Outreach staff are phenominal.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 30, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 6, 2012

On a site visit to Nicaragua, I was able to see first hand how the sustainable aspect of Outreach International has made a very positive impact on the lives of people in the communities where it has a... more

October 30, 2013

Outreach International is an organization that really makes a difference in the lives of those who live in poverty. On a site visit to Nicaragua, we could see first-hand how people work together to meet community needs. I will continue to support Outreach International through personal donations and through the group efforts at our church.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 6, 2012

On a site visit to Nicaragua, I was able to see first hand how the sustainable aspect of Outreach International has made a very positive impact on the lives of people in the communities where it has a presence. The people in these communities are guided to decide for themselves what it is that they need to improve their quality of life. By working together, so much has been achieved.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Assist with a Hunger Challenge; do a CROP walk; host a fundraiser; promote Outreach International to a school, group, church, or camp. Volunteer