Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
55 Reviews
1234.963645
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 27, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 7, 2012

I have supported Outreach International for about ten years and agreed to be a regional advisor two years ago. I continue to support the mission of Outreach International because of its mission to he... more

October 27, 2014

Peace and Justice are not just words spoken at a church service. Peace and Justice require action. Outreach International is an organization of action. We are called to uplift the worth of all persons, lift each other out of poverty, promote communities of peace. This organization does just that. They do not just throw food and medicine at people or villages. The members of this organization help people to help themselves be self sufficient, help communities work together to build economies that are self supporting. I highly encourage all who want to invest in the future of Earth to donate funds, time, sweat equity through Outreach International. You will not be disappointed. In fact you will be a blessing to others and help them to be a blessing to even more people...
November 7, 2012

I have supported Outreach International for about ten years and agreed to be a regional advisor two years ago. I continue to support the mission of Outreach International because of its mission to help communities become self sustaining. The opportunity to fund carpentry tools; sewing machine; chickens or a water buffalo; school supplies blew my mind. The catalog is fun to go through. It provides a meaningful gift alternative when shopping for that person who has everything, or as a fitting memorial to a loved one who has passed on. I used the Advent Stable materials last year and will do so again this year. The congregation loved the information contained in bulletin inserts provided by OI. We made the four animals highlighted last year and are looking forward to crafting the gifts for this year's Advent Stable.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2014

more

October 25, 2014

My husband and I have donated to Outreach International for a number of years and recently I have been privileged to be a volunteer in the home office. The staff are great to work with and I love hearing the stories of the impact that Outreach has made in the lives of people around the world. The Outreach philosophy of sustainability to eliminate poverty assures me that my contributions are used where they will do the most good.
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

Donna, Helen and I went to Los Fresno for Outreach International. We went down to teach new skills to approximately 30 women that could be used in their everyday lives. Donna taught canning......she used local vegetables and fruits......made some salsa for one example and demonstrated the process. Helen taught sewing.....each of the women made a denim purse......it was fun and enjoyed by all. I taught decorating of cakes and cupcakes......the ladies seemed to enjoy their creative side. We all learned and hopefully everyone was able to take something from the classes.....if nothing else....self worth. Would do it again in a heart beat!!!
October 22, 2014

more

October 22, 2014

I have traveled to site visits with Outreach International in the Philippines and Nicaragua, and can easily say that the work they are doing there is incredible. Not only are they able to integrate the community in their project work, but the community members themselves are in the leadership roles. By actively listening to the needs of the community and facilitating life-changing project work OI is truly changing the world.
October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

For years I have been donating to Outreach International, but it was only in the last couple of years did I get the opportunity to become a volunteer at their World Headquarters. I have always been intrigued and most inspired by the fact that the organization sustain the programs they create. The fact that they work with the communities around the world to create support sustainable programs, really sold me on this non-profit. Through volunteering, I have come to know many of the staff at their headquarters and its easy to see their dedication and excitement about their organization. I am proud to be a donor for life through their easy automatic deduction program.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

As one of the Human Development Facilitator based in Lubumbashi, DR Congo and assigned to the wide community of Kalebuka in the rural Southeast part of the city of Lubumbashi, I have the privilege of seeing first hand people’s lives transformed by the Participatory Human Development Process. You should see how proud they are to share their stories with visitors. Amongst them, maybe Phiri and Boni had the most tremendous change of their lives. Both are active members of local groups we organized in Kalebuka I and Kalebuka II. They are married and fathers of 7 and 5 children respectively. None completed his primary education.



Here is what Phiri said recently:



"Initially, when we started to get involved with Outreach International’s program, I thought that was as always, but things began to take shape for my life." Working on the project of clean water supply as a community, I had the opportunity to be trained in the repair of hand pumps with my friend Boni. I am now a craftsman repairer, with a certificate that proves that I can repair the hand pumps. At least Outreach International with its program gave me the opportunity to have qualifications. I was a mere hunter and casual farmer. Apart from the three hand pumps we receive from Outreach International that we maintain regularly, we receive more and more demands in addition, to repair many other hand pumps in our community and even in neighboring communities. I have started to feel that I am also being appreciated and valued as a worthy person, as compared to the time when I was without qualification. These people (Outreach International) came to help me develop; today I am also proud to help my community by repairing their hand pumps and by training others in the repair of pump. It is in this way that I participate also in the supply of clean drinking water to my community. Our training allowed us to have very good tools kits for the repair that many do not have.



Outreach International helped the two of us to have qualifications, with the possibility of getting employment in drilling companies.”

Lunda

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

Outreach International is a unique nonprofit. Rather than being a "handout" organization, it is a "hand up." Outreach's philosophy is one about empowering people and communities to have skills that are self-sustaining, rather than being dependent on others for your livelihood. It is through their approach of helping members of these communities discern what they need and finding their own solutions that lives are truly changed. I can think of no other organization that has had the kind of impact on me that Outreach has. It has been an honor to be a part of such a powerful, life changing organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

As a hand up rather than a hand out organization, Outreach International's approach is to teach indigenous leaders to help their community identify and prioritize their needs and then find a sustainable way to meet the most urgent needs while, at the same time, training new leaders. Education of community leaders and schools for children are a top priority for Outreach. It has been my husband's and my privilege to serve nearly 20 years as either regional advisors or local representatives, sharing the story of the amazing work of OI. We have, as we have traveled, visited various communities where the testimonials of positive impact have been eagerly related as well as visually apparent! Peace corps service was our first face to face exposure to the terrible plight of those living in poverty. Vaguely aware of but not a contributor to or volunteer for Outreach International until our first hand encounter with poverty, we returned from Peace Corps and became active supporters and contributors. We love that they build confidence, instil dignity, promote the worth of persons, teach sustainability and believe education and justice is the path to peace!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I started working with an Outreach International site 16 years ago and continue to this day. From that point I have been committed to Outreach International and the work they do. We took 11 Jr. High youth to work in a community with families living in poverty and afraid of outsiders coming in yet all of these years later their lives have improved and we are welcomed with open arms. I have seen the changes the trip has made with the kids that go and serve. I have also seen the changes that have taken place in the lives of the families we have worked with. One of the comments made by one of the adults will always stay with me. "If these kids can accomplish this much work in a few days think how much we (community) can do for ourselves." We have tried to be an example to the community of what it means to work together to improve our lives through hard work and striving to build relationships with people that are different than ourselves. One of the biggest lessons the kids walk away with is that the families are really no different than theirs. We all desire to be safe, fed, have shelters over our heads, receive an education and most importantly know that others care. There is a ripple affect that takes place when we leave. The communities work together to improve their lives and our kids come home with a new perspective of what it means to live in poverty and how to serve others.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

My relationship with Outreach International has literally changed my life. Traveling with Outreach International to Nicaragua during college and seeing their on-the-ground work first-hand had a tremendous influence in leading me to change majors and study nonprofit management. I have worked with Outreach International in many capacities. I am also a monthly donor to this wonderful organization because I believe so strongly in the work that they do.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Assist with a Hunger Challenge; do a CROP walk; host a fundraiser; promote Outreach International to a school, group, church, or camp. Volunteer