Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
51 Reviews
1234.960785
| 1 2 3 45 |
Write A Review
October 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I'm a small donor and I've donated to hundreds of different charities over the years. Outreach International is at the very top of my list. Number One. My reason for this stems from the development philosophy that this organization pursues. There are many excellent organizations that provide emergency aid, but Outreach International focuses on fixing the underlying problems through an approach that is often summarized in the phrase "Sustainable Good." I truly believe that a donation to Outreach International has a multiplier effect because it doesn't just save a life in an emergency, my donation supports an effort that will invest in development efforts guided by a Participatory Human Development Process (PHDP) that is sustainable and will save lives over and over again. You can read more about it here: http://outreach-international.org/about-us/our-approach/our-method/

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them find more donors.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 20, 2013

more

October 20, 2013

Outreach international supports people in countries with services that help promote self sufficiency as well as clothing and goods needed for their survival. This is an excellent organization for donations.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 20, 2013

more

October 20, 2013

my churches youth group raised money to buy some items of are choice

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 20, 2013

more

October 20, 2013

Outreach international is a great program that actualy helps people forever. I like the fact that they dont give the people things but actualy teach them. I think that is a wonderful idea and is a great non-profit program. I heard a saying that goes like this: "If you give a man a fish he will eat for a day. Teach a man to fish and he will eat for a life time." Outreach international is a great place where they really help people for a lifetime.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 20, 2013

more

October 20, 2013

At my church the youth(4 of us) choose to do a fundraiser for Outreach International. In the magazine they had a packet of items that we could purchase and send over to third world countries. We picked items like water sanitation kit, shots and other medication, eye exams, chickens, shoes, and other stuff along those lines. I like Outreach International because they help people rather than just giving them food. they might teach someone how to build a house instead of building a house for them. They have the mentality of "Give a man a fish, and he will eat for a day, give a man a pole and he eat for the rest of his life." I think that is a better mentality then to just give people food or shelter.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

n/a

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

As Human Development Facilitator in Zambia, assigned to Muchinshi community in particular, and having been part of the groundbreaking work in Muchinshi for the past 11 months, I have interacted with many families whose lives are being changed by the Participatory Human Development Process.
Their stories include Florence Sanene’s, whose 3-year old son Richard Kababa’s life was changed from an almost disabled to a playful little boy through a locally managed feeding program. Severely malnourished and lacking strength, Richard was unable to walk despite his age. When a community group facilitated by Outreach International decided to start a feeding program for severely malnourished children using locally available legumes and cereal grains mixed into a ‘super flour’ called Chimamu in the local language, Florence joined in with four other mothers, seeing a ray of hope for her son’s growth. Little did she know that it was going to dramatically change both her and her son’s life –and in a short period of time.
After only 3 months of being on the regimen, i.e., 4 feedings per week using the ‘super flour’ as a supplement to family meals, much to the astonishment of everyone involved, Richard, whose starting weight was 9.500 Kg, was able to gain 1.400 Kg, to gain strength and to start walking. The feeding program started on June 7, 2012 and on August 12, 2012 Richard made his very first steps and has been improving steadily since.
Florence said, “the condition of this child was a source of concern for me and his father Dickson. We suspected it could have something to do with our poor living conditions, especially feeding but there was little we could do to improve it. So, when Richard was selected together with 4 other children to be the first on the feeding program, we accepted and supported it. We could have felt embarrassed but the facilitator was there to help, not to embarrass us. He led our community to look objectively at our situation, analyze our most critical needs and identify workable solutions. He further motivated us to start doing things for ourselves as we planned.”
“I become involved with the other ladies in the feeding program while my husband joined the vegetable growers’ group. We are active in both the farmland ownership and the clean water committees. Today, Richard is walking just as any other child, and I am hopeful that he is going to catch up with his age mates. This feeding program is a road to total recovery. Yet we use just corn, rice, beans and sometimes soya beans all locally available and even grown in our gardens. Just the mixing of the formula taught to us by Outreach International made the difference. We are looking forward to making the formula available to more kids in Muchinshi.”

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

As one of the Human Development Facilitator based in Lubumbashi, DR Congo and assigned to the wide community of Kalebuka in the rural Southeast part of the city of Lubumbashi, I have the privilege of seeing first hand people’s lives transformed by the Participatory Human Development Process. You should see how proud they are to share their stories with visitors. Amongst them, maybe Phiri and Boni had the most tremendous change of their lives. Both are active members of local groups we organized in Kalebuka I and Kalebuka II. They are married and fathers of 7 and 5 children respectively. None completed his primary education.



Here is what Phiri said recently:



"Initially, when we started to get involved with Outreach International’s program, I thought that was as always, but things began to take shape for my life." Working on the project of clean water supply as a community, I had the opportunity to be trained in the repair of hand pumps with my friend Boni. I am now a craftsman repairer, with a certificate that proves that I can repair the hand pumps. At least Outreach International with its program gave me the opportunity to have qualifications. I was a mere hunter and casual farmer. Apart from the three hand pumps we receive from Outreach International that we maintain regularly, we receive more and more demands in addition, to repair many other hand pumps in our community and even in neighboring communities. I have started to feel that I am also being appreciated and valued as a worthy person, as compared to the time when I was without qualification. These people (Outreach International) came to help me develop; today I am also proud to help my community by repairing their hand pumps and by training others in the repair of pump. It is in this way that I participate also in the supply of clean drinking water to my community. Our training allowed us to have very good tools kits for the repair that many do not have.



Outreach International helped the two of us to have qualifications, with the possibility of getting employment in drilling companies.”

Lunda

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

Outreach International is a unique nonprofit. Rather than being a "handout" organization, it is a "hand up." Outreach's philosophy is one about empowering people and communities to have skills that are self-sustaining, rather than being dependent on others for your livelihood. It is through their approach of helping members of these communities discern what they need and finding their own solutions that lives are truly changed. I can think of no other organization that has had the kind of impact on me that Outreach has. It has been an honor to be a part of such a powerful, life changing organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

As a hand up rather than a hand out organization, Outreach International's approach is to teach indigenous leaders to help their community identify and prioritize their needs and then find a sustainable way to meet the most urgent needs while, at the same time, training new leaders. Education of community leaders and schools for children are a top priority for Outreach. It has been my husband's and my privilege to serve nearly 20 years as either regional advisors or local representatives, sharing the story of the amazing work of OI. We have, as we have traveled, visited various communities where the testimonials of positive impact have been eagerly related as well as visually apparent! Peace corps service was our first face to face exposure to the terrible plight of those living in poverty. Vaguely aware of but not a contributor to or volunteer for Outreach International until our first hand encounter with poverty, we returned from Peace Corps and became active supporters and contributors. We love that they build confidence, instil dignity, promote the worth of persons, teach sustainability and believe education and justice is the path to peace!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

At the birth of my first child I felt so fortunate--she was perfect and we were able to provide for all her needs. I became accutely aware of the plight of children in other countries whose parents were not able to provide the basic necessities such as clean water, food, shelter, clothing or education. I checked into many charities at that time and did not feel that their funds were used wisely or that their methods of addressing problems would really solve the problems. Years later we heard about Outreach International. Wow!, their pie chart of how donations are used is to us a wise distribution of funds. And their approach -- Participatory Human Development -- hits the bullseye! Those in need are very much involved in identifying their need/problem. They participate in the plan and they enthusiastically work the plan. And then, many times, they teach neighboring villages how to do the same. Danny and I give joyfully to Outreach International every month. They keep us informed about and involved in their (OUR) projects!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Assist with a Hunger Challenge; do a CROP walk; host a fundraiser; promote Outreach International to a school, group, church, or camp. Volunteer