Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
36 Reviews
1234.972225
| 1 2 3 4 |
Write A Review
November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As a nurse who's lived in quite a few developing nations, I've spent much of my adult life working for, with, beside, and in conjunction with a variety of NGOs. Although I do believe that they all have great intentions, most of them fall incredibly short on sustainability, with minimal if any lasting impact. Having had the chance to travel to Malawi to see OI at work, and having seen many of their projects in other countries, I can honestly say that they're the only NGO I've ever experienced that really does what they say they'll do, and does it incredibly well. Their projects are well thought out, locally implemented, and truly sustainable. If more organizations had the mission, motivation, and mindset of OI, the world would be much better served. From the bottom of my heart, I would like to thank OI for all that they do...keep up the good work :)

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

I have supported Outreach International for about ten years and agreed to be a regional advisor two years ago. I continue to support the mission of Outreach International because of its mission to help communities become self sustaining. The opportunity to fund carpentry tools; sewing machine; chickens or a water buffalo; school supplies blew my mind. The catalog is fun to go through. It provides a meaningful gift alternative when shopping for that person who has everything, or as a fitting memorial to a loved one who has passed on. I used the Advent Stable materials last year and will do so again this year. The congregation loved the information contained in bulletin inserts provided by OI. We made the four animals highlighted last year and are looking forward to crafting the gifts for this year's Advent Stable.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

I have seen first hand (two trips to Nicaragua) how Outreach International has been able to organize and empower villages to address their own needs to lift themselves out of poverty. This is the "Participatory Human Development Process" that has been used by Outreach International for more than 30 years. Rather than hand-outs that result in dependency, Outreach International typically sends one field staff member to a village to help them realize their own abilities and power. This results in "sustainable good", as the change comes from within the village. It is a cost-effective and long-term way to alleviate poverty.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

I have known about Outreach International for many years but only during the last three years have I become a committed donor and supporter of this incredible organization. Reading about their philosophy and success inspired me to go on a "site visit" to see firsthand the way Outreach International works with poverty. Many of my stereotypes about "people in poverty" were challenged as I visited villages in Malawi where the villagers, themselves, were allowed to define their situations and solve problems. Experts from "the outside" were not telling the villagers what they needed or who was going to lead. The people were empowered! Women began to be seen as legitimate, strong, creative, dedicated problem solvers when allowed to work side by side with village elders. I saw villagers who created feeding programs for their children, built a pre-school and used local women to teach the young children, planted acacia trees to provide firewood and a cash crop, and even created a drip irrigation system to enable citrus trees to be grown to provide Vitamin C to the children. I came home proud to say that my contributions were being used so effectively to make a difference in the lives of the warm and friendly people of Malawi.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

A year and a half ago I was able to go with Outreach International to see the work being done in Malawi, Africa. (No organization funds were used to pay for this trip.) I was amazed to see the results of the work being initiated by OI facilitators in the villages we visited. The improved state and increased role of women in the villages were impressive. The many agricultural, educational, and social programs generated by the villagers, facilitated by OI, and run by the village members were excellent examples of the work of OI and its "sustainable development."

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

I am fortunate to have seen the work of Outreach International firsthand. In its early days, I witnessed both a community well project in the remote areas of Haiti and a nutrition and agricultural center in action in the rural Philippines. As part of a film crew, we captured the process of a Haitian village, led by one of its own members, organize and complete - with some technical assistance - a project that positively transformed both the physical and economic health of that community and the surrounding area who would be able to use potable water for the first time. I know that there are thousands of such stories that have occurred through the last nearly forty years. What's more, my daughter now works for this wonderful organization, helping add to the stories of participatory community and human development.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

My husband and I have been donors to OUTREACH INTERNATIONAL for many years and have been touched by the way OI helps those who are in need. We appreciate the "give a man a fish and he is fed for a day, teach him to fish and he then can take care of himself (and his family)" philosophy. It is good to know that more of each dollar we donate is used for the benefit of others rather than overhead expenses. As friends and relatives have passed on, we have taken to donating to OI in their memory, rather than sending flowers that die quickly. OUTREACH is what a charitable organization should be and we shall continue to donate to this wonderful organization. Ed & Georgia

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

I support Outreach International because I believe in their mission to help folks around the world by investing in their communities to create "sustainable solutions and long-lasting change". I am confident that the money I give each month is put toward bringing sustainable good to the impoverished communities OI serves.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

I have had a relationship with OUTREACH INTERNATIONAL since I was a teenager. I was given a $5 bill to take and multiply to help raise money for OI. I promptly took the $5 and put it in a drawer for about two years. Then something happened. I started really paying attention to what OI does as an organization. I decided the best way to raise money for OI was to perform. It's what I do. It's who I am. So, I organized a benefit concert. 20 years has past since that first concert and I am still in relationship with this AMAZING organization. Here is what impresses me most. They don't simply drop the things that people need to them. They go. They teach. They live. It's called SUSTAINABLE GOOD. They leave behind the tools that the people and communities need to succeed and continue long after OI's time there. They literally are changing the world and people's lives for the better. It's not just about being charitable. It's about giving and teaching and leaving HOPE for the people they touch. I have raised money for many charities during my professional career as a performer and musical director. NONE compare to the work and passion that is OUTREACH INTERNATIONAL. They are MY charity. They are MY HOPE for this world. They are SUSTAINABLE GOOD.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

Outreach International's focus on sustainability, their commitment to accountability and their ability to attract and retain talented and highly effective staff and volunteers assures us that our support is with the right organization. We know the impact of each dollar donated lasts for generations as witnessed through projects we have supported and personal testimonies of site-visit volunteers.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Assist with a Hunger Challenge; do a CROP walk; host a fundraiser; promote Outreach International to a school, group, church, or camp. Volunteer