Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
55 Reviews
1234.963645
Write A Review
October 30, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 6, 2012

On a site visit to Nicaragua, I was able to see first hand how the sustainable aspect of Outreach International has made a very positive impact on the lives of people in the communities where it has a... more

October 30, 2013

Outreach International is an organization that really makes a difference in the lives of those who live in poverty. On a site visit to Nicaragua, we could see first-hand how people work together to meet community needs. I will continue to support Outreach International through personal donations and through the group efforts at our church.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 6, 2012

On a site visit to Nicaragua, I was able to see first hand how the sustainable aspect of Outreach International has made a very positive impact on the lives of people in the communities where it has a presence. The people in these communities are guided to decide for themselves what it is that they need to improve their quality of life. By working together, so much has been achieved.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I was fortunate enough to work for Outreach for a few years, and was overwhelmed by how much good work so few employees accomplish around the world. It was amazing to watch their energy, dedication, and professional skill. During summer and winter terms, college students compete to intern at Outreach, to travel to places where they can learn about authentic participation, to teach the next generation about poverty that can be overcome, and to create new resources that appeal to all ages. Elderly volunteers are regular as clockwork, filling the back offices with laughter and long hours, preparing mailings and special products.

Since working at Outreach, I have used Outreach's children's program and catalog to teach large groups of kids from around the country about Outreach's message of making a difference by partnering with others to make sustainable change. Children are easily engaged in this message and purpose using Outreach's well-designed resources, Shop, and Catalog.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Wish I could double the number of staff and volunteers to extend their good work in the world.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I've been a donor to this organization for over 30 years. They are one of the first nonprofits that I know of that based their mission on sustainability. Their mission is to develop long-term, sustainable programs based on the needs identified by members of the community in which they are working. They work very hard to keep their administrative costs low so that most donations go to their programs and not overhead. I will continue to be a monthly donor and have included them in my will at my death.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

Great organization that uses the resources effectively.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1997

October 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I'm a small donor and I've donated to hundreds of different charities over the years. Outreach International is at the very top of my list. Number One. My reason for this stems from the development philosophy that this organization pursues. There are many excellent organizations that provide emergency aid, but Outreach International focuses on fixing the underlying problems through an approach that is often summarized in the phrase "Sustainable Good." I truly believe that a donation to Outreach International has a multiplier effect because it doesn't just save a life in an emergency, my donation supports an effort that will invest in development efforts guided by a Participatory Human Development Process (PHDP) that is sustainable and will save lives over and over again. You can read more about it here: http://outreach-international.org/about-us/our-approach/our-method/

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them find more donors.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 20, 2013

more

October 20, 2013

Outreach international supports people in countries with services that help promote self sufficiency as well as clothing and goods needed for their survival. This is an excellent organization for donations.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 20, 2013

more

October 20, 2013

my churches youth group raised money to buy some items of are choice

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 20, 2013

more

October 20, 2013

Outreach international is a great program that actualy helps people forever. I like the fact that they dont give the people things but actualy teach them. I think that is a wonderful idea and is a great non-profit program. I heard a saying that goes like this: "If you give a man a fish he will eat for a day. Teach a man to fish and he will eat for a life time." Outreach international is a great place where they really help people for a lifetime.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 20, 2013

more

October 20, 2013

At my church the youth(4 of us) choose to do a fundraiser for Outreach International. In the magazine they had a packet of items that we could purchase and send over to third world countries. We picked items like water sanitation kit, shots and other medication, eye exams, chickens, shoes, and other stuff along those lines. I like Outreach International because they help people rather than just giving them food. they might teach someone how to build a house instead of building a house for them. They have the mentality of "Give a man a fish, and he will eat for a day, give a man a pole and he eat for the rest of his life." I think that is a better mentality then to just give people food or shelter.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

n/a

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

As Human Development Facilitator in Zambia, assigned to Muchinshi community in particular, and having been part of the groundbreaking work in Muchinshi for the past 11 months, I have interacted with many families whose lives are being changed by the Participatory Human Development Process.
Their stories include Florence Sanene’s, whose 3-year old son Richard Kababa’s life was changed from an almost disabled to a playful little boy through a locally managed feeding program. Severely malnourished and lacking strength, Richard was unable to walk despite his age. When a community group facilitated by Outreach International decided to start a feeding program for severely malnourished children using locally available legumes and cereal grains mixed into a ‘super flour’ called Chimamu in the local language, Florence joined in with four other mothers, seeing a ray of hope for her son’s growth. Little did she know that it was going to dramatically change both her and her son’s life –and in a short period of time.
After only 3 months of being on the regimen, i.e., 4 feedings per week using the ‘super flour’ as a supplement to family meals, much to the astonishment of everyone involved, Richard, whose starting weight was 9.500 Kg, was able to gain 1.400 Kg, to gain strength and to start walking. The feeding program started on June 7, 2012 and on August 12, 2012 Richard made his very first steps and has been improving steadily since.
Florence said, “the condition of this child was a source of concern for me and his father Dickson. We suspected it could have something to do with our poor living conditions, especially feeding but there was little we could do to improve it. So, when Richard was selected together with 4 other children to be the first on the feeding program, we accepted and supported it. We could have felt embarrassed but the facilitator was there to help, not to embarrass us. He led our community to look objectively at our situation, analyze our most critical needs and identify workable solutions. He further motivated us to start doing things for ourselves as we planned.”
“I become involved with the other ladies in the feeding program while my husband joined the vegetable growers’ group. We are active in both the farmland ownership and the clean water committees. Today, Richard is walking just as any other child, and I am hopeful that he is going to catch up with his age mates. This feeding program is a road to total recovery. Yet we use just corn, rice, beans and sometimes soya beans all locally available and even grown in our gardens. Just the mixing of the formula taught to us by Outreach International made the difference. We are looking forward to making the formula available to more kids in Muchinshi.”

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Assist with a Hunger Challenge; do a CROP walk; host a fundraiser; promote Outreach International to a school, group, church, or camp. Volunteer