Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
55 Reviews
1234.963645
| 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
October 22, 2014

more

October 22, 2014

Coming from a financial background, I am most interested in organizations who address the problem of poverty with both financial effectiveness and sound, open financial stewardship of the gifts from their donors. Outreach International excels on both accounts. I have personally seen, in a self-funded site visit to the Bolivian Andes, how donor contributions change the current and future lives of men, women and children, with dignity and empowerment. I also pay close attention to how funds are being spent on administration, and again I consistently see personal responsibility and careful management of donations at all levels of the organization. Outreach International is a rare breath of fresh air!
October 22, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 8, 2012

As a nurse who's lived in quite a few developing nations, I've spent much of my adult life working for, with, beside, and in conjunction with a variety of NGOs. Although I do believe that they all hav... more

October 22, 2014

I've been a donor for years, had the opportunity to go on a site visit to Malawi, and have seen their work in-person in many other countries. Having spent years of my life traveling and working abroad for, with, and next to various NGOs, I can definitely say that OI exceeds the others by leaps and bounds. They do what they say, when they say they'll do it. Not only do they have good intentions (as I believe most NGOs do), but they have the professional knowledge and capacity to implement them in a sustainable, efficient, effective manner, all without racking up huge overhead costs.
November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As a nurse who's lived in quite a few developing nations, I've spent much of my adult life working for, with, beside, and in conjunction with a variety of NGOs. Although I do believe that they all have great intentions, most of them fall incredibly short on sustainability, with minimal if any lasting impact. Having had the chance to travel to Malawi to see OI at work, and having seen many of their projects in other countries, I can honestly say that they're the only NGO I've ever experienced that really does what they say they'll do, and does it incredibly well. Their projects are well thought out, locally implemented, and truly sustainable. If more organizations had the mission, motivation, and mindset of OI, the world would be much better served. From the bottom of my heart, I would like to thank OI for all that they do...keep up the good work :)

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 8, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 8, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Outreach International is a truly unique organization in the way that it approaches the problem of poverty. Few organizations are patient enough to do it right -- break the cycle of dependence that so many of the world's poor have on outsiders, and create change within the hearts, minds and spirit of the poor themselves.

Through Outreach International, communities embrace a new life-view -- defined by solving problems for themselves, by themselves. Then, as the younger generation in these communities witness the success that comes from self-motivated change, they perpetuate the practice until it becomes a part of the culture for the long term.

There is nothing temporary about the impact of Outreach International -- the change is lasting, sustainable, and passed down through successive generations in the village.

This is the way to do it.

October 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have worked with and served on the boards of a number of charitable organizations. Outreach International is made up of exceptional people doing very good work to produce REAL results in locations around the world where the needs are substantial. It is a classic "Teach A Man To Fish....." model - and it works.
September 29, 2014

more

September 29, 2014

I have visited in many of the International locations where this organization has project work, and find the work inspiring and truly sustainable. Teaching people to truly help themselves by working together with their neighbor to identify and solve their community issues means improving their life situations.
September 25, 2014

more

September 25, 2014

I have enjoyed giving to Outreach over the years because of their long-term commitment to communities. They help people help themselves with projects that the communities themselves get to help choose. Some choose farming, and Outreach teaches them sustainable techniques and provides everything they need to get started, then continues to help and monitor until the community becomes self-sufficient. I cannot think of a better way to reach out to those in need.
August 11, 2014

more

August 11, 2014

I have been donating to Outreach for many years. Their philosophy of helping people help themselves has intrigued me from the start. I made a visit to Zambia with Outreach and saw the work they do first hand. I donate to other organizations, but none can compare with Outreach and I donate to them on a regular basis.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of any changes I would make.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have recently returned from an Outreach International sponsored site visit to Malawi where we visited seven villages to see the work the people are doing to improve their lives. Members of the village committees who were running the projects reported to us on how life was before the Outreach International facilitator began working with them, how it is now, and how they hope it will be in the future. You should have seen the look of pride on their faces. Several of the leaders were women.

I was extremely impressed with the four Human Development Facilitators I met who work with the people in these very poor outlying villages and live in the same area of Malawi. In a country that appears hopeless, these people have hope because of Outreach International.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

WOW. I can't tell you how much the process that Outreach International employs empowers the poor to help themselves make changes in their lives and the life of their communities. I just returned from a trip to Malawi, where Outreach is assisting the poorest of the poor villages to learn the skills and take the steps to learn communal decision; setting goals and prioritizing,,,,and learning how to submit proposals to many NGOs as well as their own govenment (when applicable). And the process is SO empowering for the women. The difference in the pride and joy and forward looking spirit in the villages where Outreach has been for 10 years, vs 3 years, vs a new village is amazing. The "soft skills" of the in country, local Outreach staff are phenominal.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

For years I have been donating to Outreach International, but it was only in the last couple of years did I get the opportunity to become a volunteer at their World Headquarters. I have always been intrigued and most inspired by the fact that the organization sustain the programs they create. The fact that they work with the communities around the world to create support sustainable programs, really sold me on this non-profit. Through volunteering, I have come to know many of the staff at their headquarters and its easy to see their dedication and excitement about their organization. I am proud to be a donor for life through their easy automatic deduction program.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Assist with a Hunger Challenge; do a CROP walk; host a fundraiser; promote Outreach International to a school, group, church, or camp. Volunteer