Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
36 Reviews
1234.972225
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

As Human Development Facilitator in Zambia, assigned to Muchinshi community in particular, and having been part of the groundbreaking work in Muchinshi for the past 11 months, I have interacted with many families whose lives are being changed by the Participatory Human Development Process.
Their stories include Florence Sanene’s, whose 3-year old son Richard Kababa’s life was changed from an almost disabled to a playful little boy through a locally managed feeding program. Severely malnourished and lacking strength, Richard was unable to walk despite his age. When a community group facilitated by Outreach International decided to start a feeding program for severely malnourished children using locally available legumes and cereal grains mixed into a ‘super flour’ called Chimamu in the local language, Florence joined in with four other mothers, seeing a ray of hope for her son’s growth. Little did she know that it was going to dramatically change both her and her son’s life –and in a short period of time.
After only 3 months of being on the regimen, i.e., 4 feedings per week using the ‘super flour’ as a supplement to family meals, much to the astonishment of everyone involved, Richard, whose starting weight was 9.500 Kg, was able to gain 1.400 Kg, to gain strength and to start walking. The feeding program started on June 7, 2012 and on August 12, 2012 Richard made his very first steps and has been improving steadily since.
Florence said, “the condition of this child was a source of concern for me and his father Dickson. We suspected it could have something to do with our poor living conditions, especially feeding but there was little we could do to improve it. So, when Richard was selected together with 4 other children to be the first on the feeding program, we accepted and supported it. We could have felt embarrassed but the facilitator was there to help, not to embarrass us. He led our community to look objectively at our situation, analyze our most critical needs and identify workable solutions. He further motivated us to start doing things for ourselves as we planned.”
“I become involved with the other ladies in the feeding program while my husband joined the vegetable growers’ group. We are active in both the farmland ownership and the clean water committees. Today, Richard is walking just as any other child, and I am hopeful that he is going to catch up with his age mates. This feeding program is a road to total recovery. Yet we use just corn, rice, beans and sometimes soya beans all locally available and even grown in our gardens. Just the mixing of the formula taught to us by Outreach International made the difference. We are looking forward to making the formula available to more kids in Muchinshi.”

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

As one of the Human Development Facilitator based in Lubumbashi, DR Congo and assigned to the wide community of Kalebuka in the rural Southeast part of the city of Lubumbashi, I have the privilege of seeing first hand people’s lives transformed by the Participatory Human Development Process. You should see how proud they are to share their stories with visitors. Amongst them, maybe Phiri and Boni had the most tremendous change of their lives. Both are active members of local groups we organized in Kalebuka I and Kalebuka II. They are married and fathers of 7 and 5 children respectively. None completed his primary education.



Here is what Phiri said recently:



"Initially, when we started to get involved with Outreach International’s program, I thought that was as always, but things began to take shape for my life." Working on the project of clean water supply as a community, I had the opportunity to be trained in the repair of hand pumps with my friend Boni. I am now a craftsman repairer, with a certificate that proves that I can repair the hand pumps. At least Outreach International with its program gave me the opportunity to have qualifications. I was a mere hunter and casual farmer. Apart from the three hand pumps we receive from Outreach International that we maintain regularly, we receive more and more demands in addition, to repair many other hand pumps in our community and even in neighboring communities. I have started to feel that I am also being appreciated and valued as a worthy person, as compared to the time when I was without qualification. These people (Outreach International) came to help me develop; today I am also proud to help my community by repairing their hand pumps and by training others in the repair of pump. It is in this way that I participate also in the supply of clean drinking water to my community. Our training allowed us to have very good tools kits for the repair that many do not have.



Outreach International helped the two of us to have qualifications, with the possibility of getting employment in drilling companies.”

Lunda

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

Outreach International is a unique nonprofit. Rather than being a "handout" organization, it is a "hand up." Outreach's philosophy is one about empowering people and communities to have skills that are self-sustaining, rather than being dependent on others for your livelihood. It is through their approach of helping members of these communities discern what they need and finding their own solutions that lives are truly changed. I can think of no other organization that has had the kind of impact on me that Outreach has. It has been an honor to be a part of such a powerful, life changing organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

As a hand up rather than a hand out organization, Outreach International's approach is to teach indigenous leaders to help their community identify and prioritize their needs and then find a sustainable way to meet the most urgent needs while, at the same time, training new leaders. Education of community leaders and schools for children are a top priority for Outreach. It has been my husband's and my privilege to serve nearly 20 years as either regional advisors or local representatives, sharing the story of the amazing work of OI. We have, as we have traveled, visited various communities where the testimonials of positive impact have been eagerly related as well as visually apparent! Peace corps service was our first face to face exposure to the terrible plight of those living in poverty. Vaguely aware of but not a contributor to or volunteer for Outreach International until our first hand encounter with poverty, we returned from Peace Corps and became active supporters and contributors. We love that they build confidence, instil dignity, promote the worth of persons, teach sustainability and believe education and justice is the path to peace!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

At the birth of my first child I felt so fortunate--she was perfect and we were able to provide for all her needs. I became accutely aware of the plight of children in other countries whose parents were not able to provide the basic necessities such as clean water, food, shelter, clothing or education. I checked into many charities at that time and did not feel that their funds were used wisely or that their methods of addressing problems would really solve the problems. Years later we heard about Outreach International. Wow!, their pie chart of how donations are used is to us a wise distribution of funds. And their approach -- Participatory Human Development -- hits the bullseye! Those in need are very much involved in identifying their need/problem. They participate in the plan and they enthusiastically work the plan. And then, many times, they teach neighboring villages how to do the same. Danny and I give joyfully to Outreach International every month. They keep us informed about and involved in their (OUR) projects!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

As Country Coordinator for the field program in Zambia, and having been in the field for the past 16 years, I have worked with many families in several villages of the Luapula and the Copperbelt Provinces of Zambia whose lives have been changed by the Participatory Human Development Process.
Their stories include John Mashilipa ’s from the Luano community in Chingola, Copperbelt Province, who was able to change his life from a desperate jobless poor and food beggar to a net food producer and market gardener/ vegetable supplier and says that: “I had no employment and no way to support my family. There were many days that we went without any food at all. When Outreach International began working in our community, I quickly saw that this was something I wanted to be part of to be able to help my family and myself out of our desperate situation. It was suggested that we who were out of work could farm the land around our community. Outreach International helped me negotiate a fair price and loan rate for farmland, farming tools and good quality seeds. They showed us how to use chicken manure to fertilize the soil and helped me develop simple irrigation techniques. Today, I grow enough vegetables and corn to sell some at the local market. I even supply some schools with food for their lunch programs. At the market, many people prefer organic vegetables. So, I can charge a little more.”
“I have managed to save US$350.00 and even have my own bank account, for the first time in my life! Outreach International has made all the difference. I have been able to pull myself and my family out of poverty. We enjoy three nutritious meals every day, and our children are less vulnerable to illness. They are much healthier. I have repaid my loans, but that’s not all. I have built three homes for my extended family. I am also sending the youngest members of my family to school as I am now able to pay for their school fees.”

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 11, 2012

more

November 11, 2012

I started working with an Outreach International site 16 years ago and continue to this day. From that point I have been committed to Outreach International and the work they do. We took 11 Jr. High youth to work in a community with families living in poverty and afraid of outsiders coming in yet all of these years later their lives have improved and we are welcomed with open arms. I have seen the changes the trip has made with the kids that go and serve. I have also seen the changes that have taken place in the lives of the families we have worked with. One of the comments made by one of the adults will always stay with me. "If these kids can accomplish this much work in a few days think how much we (community) can do for ourselves." We have tried to be an example to the community of what it means to work together to improve our lives through hard work and striving to build relationships with people that are different than ourselves. One of the biggest lessons the kids walk away with is that the families are really no different than theirs. We all desire to be safe, fed, have shelters over our heads, receive an education and most importantly know that others care. There is a ripple affect that takes place when we leave. The communities work together to improve their lives and our kids come home with a new perspective of what it means to live in poverty and how to serve others.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

My relationship with Outreach International has literally changed my life. Traveling with Outreach International to Nicaragua during college and seeing their on-the-ground work first-hand had a tremendous influence in leading me to change majors and study nonprofit management. I have worked with Outreach International in many capacities. I am also a monthly donor to this wonderful organization because I believe so strongly in the work that they do.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

I have been interested in OI for many years but recently I have realised more and more how the work they are doing is making such a difference in so many of the lives of the worlds poor, not just providing help but teaching them how to help themselves long term. You find out so much through Facebook, their website and the blogs that are written regularly and where the money you give is being used. Well done OI

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

I am very proud to have been associated with Outreach International since its beginning in 1979, and privileged to serve on the Board of Directors, back during the 70's and 80's. Over all of that time, Outreach has focused on working with impoverished persons around the world... providing the support and training of the people to empower themselves to bring about positive and sustainable change in their lives. When I was the President of the Board, I was very fortunate to travel to the Philippines twice to visit and live among the people in rural villages. The first time I went, a group of villagers were just beginning to meet together with an Outreach worker to identify their priority life concerns. The Outreach worker functioned as an active facilitator, encouraging the input of the people. Three years later, I returned to the same village - and saw the results of the people's work: there were now village leaders (leading the meetings and their daily efforts), they had worked together to increase their livelihood, were close to assuring a close-by source of fresh drinking water, and had a meeting planned with local government officials to resolve land ownership issues. WHAT A DIFFERENCE YOU COULD SEE IN THE PEOPLE! They were taking the leadership in their lives, making noted improvements, and very proud of what they had and could achieve. THIS is what Outreach achieves through a "participatory human development" process and what they mean by sustainable results! 30 years later Outreach is working with people in 13 countries and continuing to support those earlier villages. I will continue to be a supporter and donor to Outreach International - they have proven that they can achieve long-term people-changing and sustainable results! Kathy Robinson

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Assist with a Hunger Challenge; do a CROP walk; host a fundraiser; promote Outreach International to a school, group, church, or camp. Volunteer