Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
55 Reviews
1234.963645
Write A Review
October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

Outreach International builds confidence in people living in poverty to solve their own challenges and teaches them the skills they need to improve their lives! As a volunteer Board member, I've seen smiles of pride on the faces of community members building safe, concrete homes and meeting together to wrestle with their problems of water availability in Nicaragua. High on the pampas in Bolivia, I visited some of the poorest communities in the country where families were learning to grow fresh fruits and vegetables in green houses they had built themselves and were learning farming techniques for growing trees to sell for lumber. Outreach International truly stands for sustainable good!
October 27, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 7, 2012

I have supported Outreach International for about ten years and agreed to be a regional advisor two years ago. I continue to support the mission of Outreach International because of its mission to he... more

October 27, 2014

Peace and Justice are not just words spoken at a church service. Peace and Justice require action. Outreach International is an organization of action. We are called to uplift the worth of all persons, lift each other out of poverty, promote communities of peace. This organization does just that. They do not just throw food and medicine at people or villages. The members of this organization help people to help themselves be self sufficient, help communities work together to build economies that are self supporting. I highly encourage all who want to invest in the future of Earth to donate funds, time, sweat equity through Outreach International. You will not be disappointed. In fact you will be a blessing to others and help them to be a blessing to even more people...
November 7, 2012

I have supported Outreach International for about ten years and agreed to be a regional advisor two years ago. I continue to support the mission of Outreach International because of its mission to help communities become self sustaining. The opportunity to fund carpentry tools; sewing machine; chickens or a water buffalo; school supplies blew my mind. The catalog is fun to go through. It provides a meaningful gift alternative when shopping for that person who has everything, or as a fitting memorial to a loved one who has passed on. I used the Advent Stable materials last year and will do so again this year. The congregation loved the information contained in bulletin inserts provided by OI. We made the four animals highlighted last year and are looking forward to crafting the gifts for this year's Advent Stable.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2014

more

October 25, 2014

If you believe in Peace, you can believe in Outreach International. One way to have peace among peoples is to give them hope, give them the necessities of life, give them education. Fathers want to support their families, mothers want to feed their children, kids want to feel safe. Outreach works towards those issues. This brings peace to a family, peace to community, peace to the world.
October 25, 2014

more

October 25, 2014

My husband and I have donated to Outreach International for a number of years and recently I have been privileged to be a volunteer in the home office. The staff are great to work with and I love hearing the stories of the impact that Outreach has made in the lives of people around the world. The Outreach philosophy of sustainability to eliminate poverty assures me that my contributions are used where they will do the most good.
October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

My husband and I have been supporters of Outreach International for many years, and in recent years it has become our charity of choice. We are especially drawn to OI's model, as it is one of the few that seems to provide a realistic process for self-empowerment and sustainability in its efforts against poverty. OI seems to really embrace the idea of abolishing poverty rather than just ameliorating it. One way we have enjoyed incorporating OI into our Christmas traditions is to use their gift catalog to make donations in the names of loved ones, and then to create Christmas ornaments representing the contribution. For instance, OI catalog donations may be used to purchase livestock, plant trees, build wells or cooking stoves, etc. and making a little ornament to represent how the donation may have been used to further a community's prosperity make the gift special and tangible. Regardless, I always feel our money is being used well when we make donations to OI.
October 24, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Traveling with Outreach International on a site visit to Malawi, Aftica showed me how the money I contribute really impacts those in extreme poverty. Many charities can advertise their work well. But I got to have the experience of seeing Outreach's unique process truely work to eliminate poverty.
October 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I love this organization and have often offered it up to people looking for a place to help. I appreciate many things, but the general public looking to make a difference can be confident that the funds go to the needy, as this organization keeps the administrative costs below 15%. Also, this organization helps people help themselves in a sustainable way - no one shot deals! I contribute by means of an automatic monthly withdrawal from my bank, as I don't want to forget this important work.
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

Donna, Helen and I went to Los Fresno for Outreach International. We went down to teach new skills to approximately 30 women that could be used in their everyday lives. Donna taught canning......she used local vegetables and fruits......made some salsa for one example and demonstrated the process. Helen taught sewing.....each of the women made a denim purse......it was fun and enjoyed by all. I taught decorating of cakes and cupcakes......the ladies seemed to enjoy their creative side. We all learned and hopefully everyone was able to take something from the classes.....if nothing else....self worth. Would do it again in a heart beat!!!
October 22, 2014

more

October 22, 2014

I have supported the work of Outreach International in providing funds to improve education in Haiti. As an elementary teacher I know the importance that education plays in improving children's' lives and the future of their communities. I appreciate the emphasis Outreach International places on sustainability.
October 22, 2014

more

October 22, 2014

I have traveled to site visits with Outreach International in the Philippines and Nicaragua, and can easily say that the work they are doing there is incredible. Not only are they able to integrate the community in their project work, but the community members themselves are in the leadership roles. By actively listening to the needs of the community and facilitating life-changing project work OI is truly changing the world.
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Assist with a Hunger Challenge; do a CROP walk; host a fundraiser; promote Outreach International to a school, group, church, or camp. Volunteer