Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
51 Reviews
1234.960785
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

My husband and I have been supporters of Outreach International for many years, and in recent years it has become our charity of choice. We are especially drawn to OI's model, as it is one of the few that seems to provide a realistic process for self-empowerment and sustainability in its efforts against poverty. OI seems to really embrace the idea of abolishing poverty rather than just ameliorating it. One way we have enjoyed incorporating OI into our Christmas traditions is to use their gift catalog to make donations in the names of loved ones, and then to create Christmas ornaments representing the contribution. For instance, OI catalog donations may be used to purchase livestock, plant trees, build wells or cooking stoves, etc. and making a little ornament to represent how the donation may have been used to further a community's prosperity make the gift special and tangible. Regardless, I always feel our money is being used well when we make donations to OI.
October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

Traveling with Outreach International on a site visit to Malawi, Aftica showed me how the money I contribute really impacts those in extreme poverty. Many charities can advertise their work well. But I got to have the experience of seeing Outreach's unique process truely work to eliminate poverty.
October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

I love this organization and have often offered it up to people looking for a place to help. I appreciate many things, but the general public looking to make a difference can be confident that the funds go to the needy, as this organization keeps the administrative costs below 15%. Also, this organization helps people help themselves in a sustainable way - no one shot deals! I contribute by means of an automatic monthly withdrawal from my bank, as I don't want to forget this important work.
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

Donna, Helen and I went to Los Fresno for Outreach International. We went down to teach new skills to approximately 30 women that could be used in their everyday lives. Donna taught canning......she used local vegetables and fruits......made some salsa for one example and demonstrated the process. Helen taught sewing.....each of the women made a denim purse......it was fun and enjoyed by all. I taught decorating of cakes and cupcakes......the ladies seemed to enjoy their creative side. We all learned and hopefully everyone was able to take something from the classes.....if nothing else....self worth. Would do it again in a heart beat!!!
October 22, 2014

more

October 22, 2014

I have supported the work of Outreach International in providing funds to improve education in Haiti. As an elementary teacher I know the importance that education plays in improving children's' lives and the future of their communities. I appreciate the emphasis Outreach International places on sustainability.
October 22, 2014

more

October 22, 2014

I have traveled to site visits with Outreach International in the Philippines and Nicaragua, and can easily say that the work they are doing there is incredible. Not only are they able to integrate the community in their project work, but the community members themselves are in the leadership roles. By actively listening to the needs of the community and facilitating life-changing project work OI is truly changing the world.
October 22, 2014

more

October 22, 2014

Coming from a financial background, I am most interested in organizations who address the problem of poverty with both financial effectiveness and sound, open financial stewardship of the gifts from their donors. Outreach International excels on both accounts. I have personally seen, in a self-funded site visit to the Bolivian Andes, how donor contributions change the current and future lives of men, women and children, with dignity and empowerment. I also pay close attention to how funds are being spent on administration, and again I consistently see personal responsibility and careful management of donations at all levels of the organization. Outreach International is a rare breath of fresh air!
October 22, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 8, 2012

As a nurse who's lived in quite a few developing nations, I've spent much of my adult life working for, with, beside, and in conjunction with a variety of NGOs. Although I do believe that they all hav... more

October 22, 2014

I've been a donor for years, had the opportunity to go on a site visit to Malawi, and have seen their work in-person in many other countries. Having spent years of my life traveling and working abroad for, with, and next to various NGOs, I can definitely say that OI exceeds the others by leaps and bounds. They do what they say, when they say they'll do it. Not only do they have good intentions (as I believe most NGOs do), but they have the professional knowledge and capacity to implement them in a sustainable, efficient, effective manner, all without racking up huge overhead costs.
November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As a nurse who's lived in quite a few developing nations, I've spent much of my adult life working for, with, beside, and in conjunction with a variety of NGOs. Although I do believe that they all have great intentions, most of them fall incredibly short on sustainability, with minimal if any lasting impact. Having had the chance to travel to Malawi to see OI at work, and having seen many of their projects in other countries, I can honestly say that they're the only NGO I've ever experienced that really does what they say they'll do, and does it incredibly well. Their projects are well thought out, locally implemented, and truly sustainable. If more organizations had the mission, motivation, and mindset of OI, the world would be much better served. From the bottom of my heart, I would like to thank OI for all that they do...keep up the good work :)

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Outreach International is a truly unique organization in the way that it approaches the problem of poverty. Few organizations are patient enough to do it right -- break the cycle of dependence that so many of the world's poor have on outsiders, and create change within the hearts, minds and spirit of the poor themselves.

Through Outreach International, communities embrace a new life-view -- defined by solving problems for themselves, by themselves. Then, as the younger generation in these communities witness the success that comes from self-motivated change, they perpetuate the practice until it becomes a part of the culture for the long term.

There is nothing temporary about the impact of Outreach International -- the change is lasting, sustainable, and passed down through successive generations in the village.

This is the way to do it.

October 7, 2014

more

October 7, 2014

I have worked with and served on the boards of a number of charitable organizations. Outreach International is made up of exceptional people doing very good work to produce REAL results in locations around the world where the needs are substantial. It is a classic "Teach A Man To Fish....." model - and it works.
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Assist with a Hunger Challenge; do a CROP walk; host a fundraiser; promote Outreach International to a school, group, church, or camp. Volunteer