Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
48 Reviews
1234.958335
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

Donna, Helen and I went to Los Fresno for Outreach International. We went down to teach new skills to approximately 30 women that could be used in their everyday lives. Donna taught canning......she used local vegetables and fruits......made some salsa for one example and demonstrated the process. Helen taught sewing.....each of the women made a denim purse......it was fun and enjoyed by all. I taught decorating of cakes and cupcakes......the ladies seemed to enjoy their creative side. We all learned and hopefully everyone was able to take something from the classes.....if nothing else....self worth. Would do it again in a heart beat!!!
October 22, 2014

more

October 22, 2014

I have supported the work of Outreach International in providing funds to improve education in Haiti. As an elementary teacher I know the importance that education plays in improving children's' lives and the future of their communities. I appreciate the emphasis Outreach International places on sustainability.
October 22, 2014

more

October 22, 2014

I have traveled to site visits with Outreach International in the Philippines and Nicaragua, and can easily say that the work they are doing there is incredible. Not only are they able to integrate the community in their project work, but the community members themselves are in the leadership roles. By actively listening to the needs of the community and facilitating life-changing project work OI is truly changing the world.
October 22, 2014

more

October 22, 2014

Coming from a financial background, I am most interested in organizations who address the problem of poverty with both financial effectiveness and sound, open financial stewardship of the gifts from their donors. Outreach International excels on both accounts. I have personally seen, in a self-funded site visit to the Bolivian Andes, how donor contributions change the current and future lives of men, women and children, with dignity and empowerment. I also pay close attention to how funds are being spent on administration, and again I consistently see personal responsibility and careful management of donations at all levels of the organization. Outreach International is a rare breath of fresh air!
October 22, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 8, 2012

As a nurse who's lived in quite a few developing nations, I've spent much of my adult life working for, with, beside, and in conjunction with a variety of NGOs. Although I do believe that they all hav... more

October 22, 2014

I've been a donor for years, had the opportunity to go on a site visit to Malawi, and have seen their work in-person in many other countries. Having spent years of my life traveling and working abroad for, with, and next to various NGOs, I can definitely say that OI exceeds the others by leaps and bounds. They do what they say, when they say they'll do it. Not only do they have good intentions (as I believe most NGOs do), but they have the professional knowledge and capacity to implement them in a sustainable, efficient, effective manner, all without racking up huge overhead costs.
November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As a nurse who's lived in quite a few developing nations, I've spent much of my adult life working for, with, beside, and in conjunction with a variety of NGOs. Although I do believe that they all have great intentions, most of them fall incredibly short on sustainability, with minimal if any lasting impact. Having had the chance to travel to Malawi to see OI at work, and having seen many of their projects in other countries, I can honestly say that they're the only NGO I've ever experienced that really does what they say they'll do, and does it incredibly well. Their projects are well thought out, locally implemented, and truly sustainable. If more organizations had the mission, motivation, and mindset of OI, the world would be much better served. From the bottom of my heart, I would like to thank OI for all that they do...keep up the good work :)

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Outreach International is a truly unique organization in the way that it approaches the problem of poverty. Few organizations are patient enough to do it right -- break the cycle of dependence that so many of the world's poor have on outsiders, and create change within the hearts, minds and spirit of the poor themselves.

Through Outreach International, communities embrace a new life-view -- defined by solving problems for themselves, by themselves. Then, as the younger generation in these communities witness the success that comes from self-motivated change, they perpetuate the practice until it becomes a part of the culture for the long term.

There is nothing temporary about the impact of Outreach International -- the change is lasting, sustainable, and passed down through successive generations in the village.

This is the way to do it.

October 7, 2014

more

October 7, 2014

I have worked with and served on the boards of a number of charitable organizations. Outreach International is made up of exceptional people doing very good work to produce REAL results in locations around the world where the needs are substantial. It is a classic "Teach A Man To Fish....." model - and it works.
September 29, 2014

more

September 29, 2014

I have visited in many of the International locations where this organization has project work, and find the work inspiring and truly sustainable. Teaching people to truly help themselves by working together with their neighbor to identify and solve their community issues means improving their life situations.
September 25, 2014

more

September 25, 2014

I have enjoyed giving to Outreach over the years because of their long-term commitment to communities. They help people help themselves with projects that the communities themselves get to help choose. Some choose farming, and Outreach teaches them sustainable techniques and provides everything they need to get started, then continues to help and monitor until the community becomes self-sufficient. I cannot think of a better way to reach out to those in need.
August 11, 2014

more

August 11, 2014

I have been donating to Outreach for many years. Their philosophy of helping people help themselves has intrigued me from the start. I made a visit to Zambia with Outreach and saw the work they do first hand. I donate to other organizations, but none can compare with Outreach and I donate to them on a regular basis.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of any changes I would make.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Assist with a Hunger Challenge; do a CROP walk; host a fundraiser; promote Outreach International to a school, group, church, or camp. Volunteer