Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 | Next
Write A Review
March 3, 2012

more

March 3, 2012

I love this place and am so committed to it's process. This is a place where children should be.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 29, 2012

more

February 29, 2012

My 7 year old has been dancing at Out on a Limb for going on 3 years, starting as a preschooler. We fell into this studio because of it's location initially. But knowing what I know now about other dance studios, I feel like we won the dance studio lottery! This is such a nurturing environment bringing joy to movement for any and all. I cannot say enough about the staff and their approach. I love how the kids encourage each other and it's non-competitive. I've never seen an age inappropriate costume on a child there.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 27, 2012

more

February 27, 2012

Where do I begin? After 3 different dance studios, I didn't even know what I was looking for, until Out On A Limb fell in our lap. The healthy environment is created from the top down. Our family values mesh beautifully with this entire studio. I have a 7th grade daughter and for 5 years she has always come home happy from dance. As a result, their shows beam with pride and a love for dance. Outstanding life lessons are being taught and I'm incredibly grateful that she is so appreciated by her instructors and fellow dancers. What a blessing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 25, 2012

more

February 25, 2012

I was a student of Amber Keeley's at another dance studio when I was very young, and when she left with a group of dancers and teachers to begin Out on a Limb, I was heartbroken. I followed them to a little studio on Como Avenue and found myself in a beautiful, loving, supportive environment where dance is not a competition, but an art, and an individual process. Since then, they have moved into a beautiful space on Larpenteur, and every year they perform for thousands of schoolchildren, exposing the world to dance in ways that I have always admired. Out on a Limb, if I could describe it in one word-- the experience, the company, the growth that I have received as a person and a dancer-- is family. They are a lovely group of people and I am blessed to have known them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

February 24, 2012

more

February 24, 2012

My daughter wanted to dance. We were at a school auction and saw 6 weeks of dance lessons. So I bid. That was 6 years ago. My daughter always wants to do her best and succeed. At Out on a Limb she can do that without the pressure of competition. The students are like a family. They work together to assist each other to be their best. They encourage each other. She has learned so much. She has poise, confidence and grace that goes into her daily life.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I found out about Out on a Limb Dance Company from a former student of mine at the U of M. She had mentioned that she was a dancer, and I bemoaned the fact that I could not find a dance school that didn't overemphasize competition and/or the more egregious beauty pageant aspects of dance. My older daughter had been at two studios already and really just wanted to learn to dance, not simply learn ONE specific dance for a specific show and then spend hundreds of dollars on costumes and shoes for the occasion. Out on a Limb focuses on dance skills and dance performance as cooperation, not as competition. The instructors offer instruction to all the students wherever they are in their dance process, with whatever bodies they have for dancing (and stage acrobatics!) It is a healthy and nurturing environment for dancers. Both of my daughters dance there, both in weekly classes, as well as the more public ballet the school mounts every spring (Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat, March 1,2,3, 2012. Don't miss it!) I have been privileged enough to be able to offer my skills in costume design and production for a few shows, and it has been very rewarding for me as well as my children. This dance school is such an asset to our community!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the phenomenal progress in dance and acro that my children are enjoying, as well as the great friends they have made. I have been able to offer my time and talents in costume design and production and it is a life-affirming experience.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give them an unlimited budget!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

no changes necessary

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I have made many friends, and I am learning to manage others' volunteer time and talents as effectively as I can.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

busy but gratified!

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers