Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
5 Reviews
1234.85
Write A Review
October 15, 2009

more

October 15, 2009

My family has recently moved out of town and could not attend the "bricks and mortar" high holiday services at Beth Adam this year. I had no idea what to expect from the online services, but was blown away by the community that arose through the Facebook chat that accompanied the service. We even found some long lost cousings in Brazil! I was so grateful to have a place to "go" to be with friends during the holidays.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Beth Adam has an amazingly deep talent pool, including their two rabbis. This is a congregation of "big thinkers," and it shows through innovation and creativity across the board - including ourjewishcommunity.org.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Rock! There are so many unaffiliated Jews who might welcome a chance to be culturally connected again. One person can do a lot, but together we can really make a difference in the world!

Ways to make it better...

I could have been there in person.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 14, 2009

more

October 14, 2009

Ourjewishcommunity.org is a multi-purpose site for people who want to be Jewish in their own way, in their own time and place. It is unique and very timely. There are so many pieces to this site, which is ever-growing according to the feedback of what is needed frompeople in all 50 states, and many countries. It feaures blogs, viedo-streaming services, which are then archived for future use of those who visit the website. It had TREMENDOOUS potential!

More feedback...

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

evolve into a site that reaches more people, celebrate life-cycle events, and things I haven't thought of, but the staff has.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 11, 2009

more

October 11, 2009

I love Our Jewish Community.org. They provide wonderful alternatives to those who are unable to come to services every Shabbat or holiday. Some are shut ins others just feel Synagogues aren't like they used to be anymore. I feel OurJewishCommunity.org allows all who attend to choose for themselves what makes Judaism meaningful for them. I personally attend Friday evening services every Friday, if i miss a service, i always watch the archived video that evening or the next morning. I incorperate OurJewishCommunity.org into my Jewish life in real life. My family watches the services online before we bring in Shabbat and have a dinner at home. We have attended the Rosh Hashanah and Yom Kippur services as well as the Sukkot services. The services are shorter than we are acustomed to but that doesn't mean they miss the key points. Friday night services are similar to a "traditional" one. They have a sermon or subject to discuss, candlelighting, kiddush, challah and so one. We have considered OurJewishCommunity to be a Synagogue we are members of.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Attending services and seeing how both Rabbi Baum and Barr have been so warm and are very personal with each congregant.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more services avaliable that can add to Jewish life, further from attending services.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

How Judaism is considered so personal and how no two Jews are considered alike in this congregation and how we all come from all walks of life and observe Judaism a different way then the next person.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Kind and funny people. Especially Rabbi Baum and Barr and their sense of humour is just wonderful and refreshing.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Definitly expand. Providing services on mobile phones, having more judaica products and free prayerbooks. More ways to interact with the Rabbis. Ways for the Rabbis to be avaliable for lifecycle events over the web.

Ways to make it better...

If more traditional additions were added. Including having Shabbat morning services as well. Even if they were short services, having a Shabbat morning service would be great.

In my opinion, the biggest challenges facing this organization are...

Those people who challenge OJC because of it being an online congregation. Its not really OJC's fault for this, but mainly those who want to bring Judaism backwards instead of forward and modern.

One thing I'd also say is that...

Judaism is made better when all parts of Jewish life is avaliable to all people. To those who don't feel Judaism is life it used to be, to those who are unable to attend services etc. I feel Our Jewish Community has made Jewish life avaliable to all.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 10, 2009

more

October 10, 2009

OurJewishCommunity.org offers extraordinary opportunities!--for family & friends scattered far & wide around the country to partake in our unique contemporary Jewish services, especially for those elderly or housebound or in isolated communities. As a member of the Beth Adam choir, it gave me an opportunity to share our wonderful music & original liturgy, & to send my personal "Shana Tova" wishes to loved ones far away. I love the freshness & vitality of our services, our dynamic rabbis, & relevant content that speaks to contemporary issues. Just as videochatting with family 900 miles away brings us so much closer, so does OurJewishCommunity.org--"you are there" by LIVE video streaming! Or you can catch us later by viewing archives at your convenience! We are thrilled to have people all over the world discovering our congregation & joining us here--especially those serving our country overseas in the Armed Services! THANK YOU ALL FOR JOINING US!

Photos

More feedback...

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

revitalize contemporary Judaism!! No other congregation ever felt so comfortable, addressed issues so relevant, made Judaism feel so alive. OJC.org has the potential to restore meaning to Jews who seek more than ancient ritual.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 9, 2009

more

October 9, 2009

Being a shut in due to a hip fracture, I was happy to be able to be a part of services. I look forward to continue to be apart of this wonderfull outreach to the Jewish community.

Photos

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

My needs were met by my being invited to continue to be a part of this endeavor.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

One time

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers