Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
7 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
July 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The first time I drove down the driveway of Our Mims Retirement Haven I knew that I had found Heaven on Earth. Jeanne Mirabito has taken her farm and turned it into a true haven for a band of mares and a gelding who can live out their lives in comfort, and peace surrounded by love. The care shown for the Ladies and Elmhurst (and her own horses) goes far beyond the regular horse farm. She makes each mares meal individually, to a special diet. And all of the horses at Our Mims look far younger than their actual age. I started volunteering twice a year for a week and a half at a time after my first visit. This place just draws you in and the mares are magical. I once stood on the top of the big hill on 9/11/12. I was thinking about those who were lost. I felt a nuzzle on my cheek and Lotka was there next to me and then all of the mares were in a circle around me. Elmhurst wanted in the circle and finally Lotka let him in. It was spiritual. I am not just a volunteer there but also a donor and drive from FL.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Charge for the tours. Which are wonderful and personalized for each person or group.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 2, 2014

more

July 2, 2014

I came across OUR MIMS RETIREMNT HAVEN a few years ago and my life changed. It is a remarkable experience for anyone lucky enough to share some days with Jeanne and the Ladies, as they are called, the retired mares and also former racehorses, including Elmhurst, the 1997 Champion Sprinter and grandson of the great Our Mims. The Haven is a spiritual place of beauty and soul, like no other place I have experienced on earth....and I have been around the world, several times. The individual, brilliant care Jeanne administers to her charges, is inspiring and educational, for she brings a wealth of first hand knowledge, experience and innate sense to everything she does for the horses on the farm. Heaven is between you and the Haven, if you want it.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Donate half a million dollars if I won a million

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 1, 2014

more

July 1, 2014

This is a great place for you to spend your day at i learned a whole lot about horses shes really doing a great job with the horses and i cant wait to continue to volenteer here!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 1, 2014

more

July 1, 2014

I have occasionally been lucky enough to volunteer at The Haven. Jeanne does a great job taking care of all the animals on the ranch and is extremly friendly. She is also very good teaching my young kids about horse safety and different educational information to spark their interest.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 26, 2014

more

June 26, 2014

When my mother could no longer care for my late father's horse, Exciting Bucket, she was accepted to live out her retirement years at Our Mims Retirement Haven. What a blessing Jeanne has been to our family. By accepting "Buckets" she relieved a tremendous burden from our hearts. We have had the pleasure of spending time at the Haven. The love and care Jeanne gives the Ladies and Elmhurst is to be admired. The horses know they are loved, and they are happy. We were surrounded by these amazing thoroughbreds, and all they wanted was love and lots of treats! It was such a wonderful afternoon. My father would be so proud!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Ask that more people volunteer at Our Mims, and ask more people to make donations to this wonderful place.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 10, 2011

more

May 10, 2011

Spent a wonderful day with the Ladies of Our Mims and their caretaker, Jeanne Mirabito. What a wonderful, peaceful place to be!

Got to feed the ladies, groom them, and then do some artwork on the stall doors. Jeanne was so knowledgeable about the previous lives of all of the Ladies.


If you want to feel like you have helped do something important. Spend a day with these Regal Older Ladies.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I hear about it on a daily basis

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give her more money and get her some more help to do all of the work that has to be done.

May 10, 2011

Our Mims Retirement Haven is a home for retired broodmares from the horse racing insdutry, run by Jeanne Mirabito. I had the pleasure of visiting OMRH on May 1, 2011 for a volunteer working lunch. It was without a doubt the best afternoon I've ever spent working! The ladies (as we call the mares) are all "seniors" but you would never know it by looking at them! Eyes are bright, coats are shiny and they are all sweethearts to be around. It was wonderful to have a "hands on" experience with the ladies grooming them and feeding them treats. Jeanne takes excellent care of them on a daily basis. I urge everyone who loves horses and especially thoroughbred racehorses, to consider donating to Our Mims!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seeing how wonderful these senior mares look and act. It's clear they are well taken care of and loved.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more money!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Not a thing!

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Absolutely the best experience!

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Wonderful! Peaceful and relaxed.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers