Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
278 Reviews
1234.978425
| 1 2 3 4...28 |
Write A Review
October 6, 2014

more

October 6, 2014

We my wife told me about the grant, I thought WOW! It could not have come at a better time. Being recalled to active duty and not wanting to eliminate anything the Grant was a Godsend. Now that her mother's "active duty" pay is finally correct, the grant allowed our daughter to continue her music lessons while her mother was in training and later deployed. Keep up the good work, because I know that we are not the only family that can benefit from a GREAT PROGRAM. Thank you again for your support.
October 6, 2014

more

October 6, 2014

So honored that my daughter received a grant from Our Military Kids Inc. I'm currently deployed and this takes a huge burden off of my shoulders knowing my daughter is keeping busy while I'm here. It gives her the opportunity to just forget everything for a little while. Thank you so very much!!

TSgt Parks
October 6, 2014

more

October 6, 2014

My husband recently deployed to Afghanistan for his second deployment tour since our children were born. We were unaware Our Military Kids had a grant that would provide youth with the opportunity to be active and have adult mentorship during the first deployment cycle. My oldest son told me during the first deployment that with dad out of the house all the fun was gone. I was thrilled to learn of the grant opportunity to help keep my son engaged and active.

My husband was very involved with both my teenage boys. He had been a stay at home dad before this deployment. He helped out at the schools and with after school activities. So, when he deployed I knew there was going to be a void. My older son is incredibly active and he wanted the opportunity to learn to shoot a bow. His uncle is an avid bow hunter.

We went to the local archery range/store and inquired into getting the equipment necessary for him to learn. We discovered he could get the equipment and instruction. This has been a fabulous opportunity for my son. His uncle has taken a very active role in taking him to his instruction courses as well as out to the local sports range to practice what he has learned.

It is great that my son was able to take up a new activity and gain a mentor at the same time. My husband is interested in coming home and learning from our son. So, not only did the grant provide my son with an activity he can develop his skill in; it will also provide an activity for my son and husband to begin to re-establish their relationship after the deployment.
October 5, 2014

more

October 5, 2014

I will always owe it to Our Military Kids, Inc for approving my daughter's grant to become a certified SCUBA diver! I am a SCUBA diver from my previous profession, as well as my military husband. When my husband deployed to Afghanistan two years ago, we have planned to go on vacation when he gets home. SCUBA-diving certification by PADI is expensive! The amount needed is pretty much equivalent to our one-month mortgage payment or two-car insurances! If OMK didn't approve the grant, I could just imagine my teenaged-daughter snorkeling on the surface while husband and I having fun! Now that she was approved, we'll be diving as a family and enjoying together the experience! Thank you so much, OMK!
October 4, 2014

more

October 4, 2014

My daughter (age 4) had severe separation anxiety after my husband deployed. She would scream and cry anytime I left the room. After enrolling her in this program and starting her in gymnastics her attitude changed tremendously and I could see her confidence grow. My son (age 6) also was able to be enrolled and I have noticed so much strength develop in him and his behavior has improved. It is amazing the small things that can give them the confidence to endure such a difficult time. Thank you for all those who donate to this program, it has certainly made this time easier on me and my children and is most appreciated.
October 4, 2014

more

October 4, 2014

While my husband was in Kuwait we were able send my son to Winshape Camps at our church! It was an awesome experience. We would not have been able able to send him if it wasnt for the grant we received from Our Military Kids. My son came home everyday excited about what he had learned about God and has asked when he gets older if he is able to volunteer!! Amazing program!!
October 4, 2014

more

October 4, 2014

This organization is in place to help deployed soldiers with family finances. Their assistance allowed me to show my children that 'the Army loves' them too. When I deployed the first time, my children received a gift card monthly. This card made them very happy, and this would be a point of conversation for us when I was able to call "what did they buy, where is it from?" They would become very excited to tell me all about the experience.

The next time that I deployed, we were blessed with a payment for my son's baseball registration. Again, we were so happy to be able to meet that demand, and give my son the opportunity to play. '

Thank you, thank you, THANK YOU!
October 4, 2014

more

October 4, 2014

My husband was deployed recently and we had heard about a grant that's available for the child. Within a week of submitting our information we were awarded almost the full possible grant amount. I wanted to jump up and down and shout hallelujah! We've been sooo blessed. Now our daughter will have the next few months of her extracurricular activity paid for. Thank you to our military kids!!!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 3, 2014

more

October 3, 2014

When my husband was called away from his family. I thought it impotent to fell our children's life with the things they love, and that was dance. Our Military Kids help pay for their dance lessons.
October 3, 2014

more

October 3, 2014

We were blessed with grant and my daughter was able to take dance for year of lessons - she was so excited to receive her personalized packet with a certificate and dogtags that really made her smile she felt involved while her dad was deployed. We applied and the process was so quick they contacted the dance studio immediately all we had to do was show up - so easy so stress free and one less thing to worry about while our soldier was away!

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers