Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
51 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 3 4...6 |
Write A Review
September 4, 2013

more

September 4, 2013

We received two grants from Our Military Kids Inc. , during my husbands most recent deployment to Djibouti, Africa. It gave him & I great comfort knowing our son could continue his guitar lessons & that our daughter's drivers education school was paid for. We are very grateful to this wonderful organization that supports the families that support our soldiers while away from home.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2013

more

April 15, 2013

My son received his grant within a week and he has started his pitching/batting lessons to help him improve and become more confident as a baseball player. He also looks up to his coach as a big brother figure since his father is not here to help him right now. This was such a blessing! Thank you Military Kids, you really came through and put a smile on my sons face!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 23, 2013

more

March 23, 2013

My husband was hurt when he was deployed in 2008 to Afghanistan. Two of the soldiers that were with him that day were killed. My husband went through several surgeries and physical therapy and was finally deemed "fixed". So when he got deployed in 2010 to Iraq, my kids were not as naive and now knew that not all soldiers make it home, and that not all of them make it back in one piece. They were also very aware of how different their life was than their friends. Their dad wasn't there for birthdays, holidays, school activities, etc. Their friends weren't praying every night that their dad would be safe and stay alive. We will ever be grateful for Our Military Kids for stepping in and helping pay for an activity so that our kids could have something in their lives that would help them take their mind off the safety of their dad, that would give them something to focus and work on so they could, for just a little while, think their life was normal. Thank you!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

March 22, 2013

more

March 22, 2013

The Our Military Kids Grants have been a blessing to our family. Both my son and daughter have received grants to participate in sScout summer camps and musical summer camps. Our children would not have had the experience of these camps if it was not for the Our Military Kids grants. Our children have traveled and met many different people from staying in Oregon to flying to North Carolina. Thank you so much for your generosity to assist our Military Kids to give our children of the military to opportunity to take part in activities that they would not have the funds to do otherwise. These grants help the kids to relieve stress and help them cope with the deployments of their parents.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 22, 2013

more

March 22, 2013

Two of my children received grants for private music lessons, thanks to Our Military Kids. I never had the opportunity to study music as a child, and I am abundantly grateful that my children have access to music lessons. Thank you, Our Military Kids!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 22, 2013

more

March 22, 2013

My husband was deployed in 2011. My daughter received a grant from Our Military Kids to participate and continue on her competitive all star cheer team, WSE. Without the grant I would not have had the time to fundraise to allow her to continue to cheer on WSE. All Star teams are quite expensive to compete and travel to competitions....She joined WSE in 2008 and has since competed from Canada to California and last year was selected as an All American Cheerleader and invited to cheer at the Pro Bowl in Honolulu HI in the pregame and halftime show with the band Train. The grant that she received in 2011 will forever have been a year that without Our Military Kids she would not have been able to participate and cheer with her team competing across the US. Please consider OMK as an excellent not for profit that will help so many youth across the US dealing with their parents serving in a deployment! Respectfully,

Rose Waterfield
email:
rose@rawgraphicsphoto.com
360-528-9887

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 17, 2012

more

February 17, 2012

I think this is a wonderful program. My three children were fortunate enough to receive grants for gymnastics for 6 months and they love it. They participate in other sports as well but this has turned out to be their favorite. I am so grateful for this program! Thank you!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2011

more

October 26, 2011

I was deployed in 2004 to Afghanistan and again in 2009 to Iraq, both times I was overseas Our Military Kids was there to assist my wife providing and financing extra-curricular activities for my children.

The first deployment was extremly difficult for my son who gained 30 pounds in the
first 3 months of my deployment while the second deployment was difficult for my daughter who feared for my life. Our Military Kids provided fun activities for them to do to get their minds off where and what I was doing (the danger I was in).

I can not tell you how thankful I am that Our Military kids was there providing financing and extra-curricular activities for them to enjoy. It took there minds off, even for just a short time, that I was gone.

Please accept my sincere Thanks to all the people who responsible for assisting my family in these difficult times.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

When I returned from each deployment Our Military Kids provided tickets to major sporting events which allowed my family and I opportunities to re-intergrate.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

How did you find this group?

Though my Company Commander's wife who ran our Family support group.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

To take the kids out more, spending more time together.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 25, 2011

more

October 25, 2011

I participated in a lottery for many offerings of tickets/events from Our Military Kids. I was fortunate to win two time. Both times I was able to take my son and 3 other children to events. The other childrens' parents are miliarty and one father was being deployed. They really enjoyed the show and hanging out with other kids.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Helping other children who need things to get their minds away from thinking about their parent's deployments.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Do nothing. I have never worked for this type of organization and am not in a position to make any advice on changes for them.

More feedback...

How did you find this group?

Email distribution through work.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

I am just happy that organizations like this still exist to improve the lives of military children.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 23, 2011

more

October 23, 2011

I personally have never learned to swim and I have to admit that I am afraid of the water. I am 29 years old and have two amazing girls, Gaby and Ela. Since Gaby was about 3 years old, she became very active in swimming pools and my husband was not there all the time to stay with her and keep her safe. I wanted her to be active and not be afraid of the water like I am. I signed her up for the swimming classes during the summer but by winter we did not continue with them. Two and a half years later in Gaby's life daddy deploys and I am more nervous of her being in the water during the summer. I have a 2 year old toddler and it is difficult to keep on eye on two children with different interests and abilities. Thanks to Our Military Kids, I was able sign up Gaby for swimming lessons at one of the best, if not the best swimming school, in Reno Nevada, Silver Bear Swimming School. Without the grant that we received for swimming classes, her ability and her self confidence would probably have not been so positively improved. She loves the water, she loves to swim and she is learning things that would take me a very long time to accomplish. I am extremely proud of her and due to the great experience with Silver Bear we have continued going even after the grant expired. I see that swimming has given my daughter confidence in school and friends. Most important is the fact that swimming is a huge distraction from daddy's absence. I love the help my family received from Our Military Kids. Without the grant, I probably would not have signed her up in a swimming school of such level. Thank you Our Military Kids Organization.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in receiving a grant for my oldest daughter for a sport, or activity during my husbands deployment.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like Our Military Kids Organization, to have available funds to continue with their services. Children are the most affected in a deployment. They are so little and the fact that they have to feel so much emotional pain when a parent leaves for deployment breaks my heart. You seedling a great job Our Military Kids Organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers