Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
288 Reviews
1234.975695
Write A Review
October 10, 2014

more

October 10, 2014

This program is amazing! We used our funds to send out daughter to Ice Skating classes while her dad was deployed! It was a great thing for her that was only hers! Thank you Our Military Kids!
October 10, 2014

more

October 10, 2014

I am so thankful for Our Military Kids! It is comforting to know that people out there care about not only our soldiers, but especially their families who are left at home while they are serving our country. We learned about this organization at a Yellow Ribbon event. Thanks to this organization, my daughter has been able to participate in Grand Master Han's Martial Arts (GMHMA) classes and test for her brown belt. She has made some lifelong friends and positive role models as a result of being part of GMHMA.
October 10, 2014

more

October 10, 2014

Both of my children and I are very thankful for your donations. There are some great benefits for deployed soldier's family members, and this is one of them. It was very easy to apply, and we got a quick approval for both grants.
October 8, 2014

more

October 8, 2014

I learned of Our Military Kids at a "Yellow Ribbon" event prior to be deployed to Afghanistan. Our kids were able to attend karate classes, not only learning to protect themselves, but giving them something to take their minds off their father being away. It has been a blessing.
October 7, 2014

more

October 7, 2014

I learned of Our Military Kids a couple of months into my husband's 10-month deployment. I was informed that I could apply for a (generous) grant to help send my daughters to summer camp. The grant application process was easy and was processed immediately! It was very exciting for the girls to get their packages in the mail, especially so quickly.

Since then, we have received notification of many wonderful fun (and free) opportunities for our family in the Washington DC area. They must have some very generous donors, and it's evident that their small but mighty administrative staff cares a great deal about what they do and who they serve.

Thank you to Our Military Kids from our family!
October 7, 2014

more

October 7, 2014

My girls had a difficult time with daddy's deployment to Afghanistan. We stopped watching the news because it just made them worry about his whereabouts. Plus, the transitioning into a schedule without daddy was tough. I was pulled into many directions as I rushed to fill two parenting roles. It seems liked we were either always doing homework, laundry, grocery-shopping or cleaning the house. I realized my girls, ages 9 and 11, needed an physical outlet of some sort to get us out of our slump. I was so glad to hear about Our Military Kids because it gave the girls something to focus other than chores. They made new friends and looked forward to their gymnastics classes every week. Thank you so much for providing the grant that made this possible. We are so grateful. Our Military Kids Inc helped us get through that tough year. God bless.
October 7, 2014

more

October 7, 2014

My husband has now deployed 3 times. The first time my children were not old enough for the OMK Grant. The second and third time we have used the grants for gymnastics, swim, piano & acting classes. Just keeping my daughters busy have really helped with the separation that they girls have from their dad! I'm proud to have worked with this program and will support it always as a great thing for kids to enjoy extra stuff to keep them busy. I love that it is pretty wide open on what you can use it for and that it gives kids that may not always be able to extra stuff that opportunity.
October 7, 2014

more

October 7, 2014

I am a 100% disabled combat veteran. My son has a goal to play college hockey in the future. As a father, I felt ashamed because I did not have the money to afford private lessons for my son. I was not able to pay for his hockey season on top of paying for private lessons that most of the kids in his level are able to attend. Thanks to Our Military Kids INC, my son is now able to attend private lessons, and has 1 on 1 lessons with a professional Hockey player. My son's now making huge strides in his confidence and his playing ability.
Thanks Again!!!!!
October 7, 2014

more

October 7, 2014

I am so grateful to Our Military Kids for the VERY generous grant that our family received to help us pay for my daughters High School cheerleading fees and costs. We really could not have afforded the expenses otherwise. My daughter is enjoying cheer and making tons of new friends. Thank you so much OMK!
October 7, 2014

more

October 7, 2014

My husband was deployed for a year leaving behind a higher paying income. Our kids were able to continue activities with this grant throughout the year. We are very thankful to and for this program. It was a quick and painless process...unlike everything else I had to deal with while he was away. My questions were answered quickly, customer service was great and they were professional.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers