Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
48 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
September 4, 2013

more

September 4, 2013

Our Military Kids provided grants to my kids for YMCA camp this Summer while their father is deployed to Afghanistan.! Their support is vital to helping families get through a tough time.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013

more

September 4, 2013

My husband deployed to Afghanistan in 2010, just 6 wks after our infant daughter was born. Our 3 yo had a difficult transition not only losing his daddy for a year, but also accepting another family member and losing some of mom's one-on-one attention that he had enjoyed for so long. We enrolled him in soccer and with the help of Our Military Kids, he attended one session a week for a year. It gave him something to do, something to keep his mind and body busy and not constantly thinking about how much his short little life had changed. Our Military Kids is a life saver of a nonprofit, giving easily and to a group of people that really don't have the benefits of active duty, like a close community nearby and people who know what you are going through in your daily life. Many, many thanks to this wonderful organization.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 4, 2013

more

September 4, 2013

My husband is on his second year long deployment to Afganistan. Our daughter has a very tough time when he is gone. It's a big sacrifice for a child to have to be without a parent for that long. Our Military Kids recognizes this. What a great idea to provide a grant making it possible for these military kids to get involved in an activity. Being in an activity really helps our daughter to stay focused and keep her mind off the deployment. I can't say enough how much this means to us.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldnt change a thing. It was very easy for us to apply for the grant and we got it really quick.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013

more

September 4, 2013

My husband is deploying to Kuwait. A HUGE thank you for Our Military Kids! Our daughter has always wanted to take dance, but we couldn't afford it. She received a grant & is now taking dance. She absolutely loves it. This program is awesome. Also, it's something to keep her occupied while her Dad is gone.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase grant funds & be reimbursed for activities with proof of receipt instead of grant funds sent directly to company.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013

more

September 4, 2013

As a therapist that works with military children on a regular basis, I have seen multiple families benefit from the wonderful opportunities provided by Our Military Kids. They make deployment easier to bare.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Go back to providing grants for 3 and 4 year olds.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013

more

September 4, 2013

While my husband was deployed last year to Afghanistan I was forced to reduce my workload as a nurse at a hospital to handle running a home and family as the only adult. My children still wanted to participate in all of the events they did before deployment though. Things such as sports and summer camps become much more than recreation time to kids with military parents. They become support systems. They become times that the children forget about the worlds problems and just become normal. Just like everyone else. Thanks to military kids we were able to send one son to a summer camp for week and another was able to participate in all three of the school sports he loves (cross country, wrestling, and track) With out Our Military Kids my could would have not only missed out on their dad for a year but also important time with their peers this organization is unbelievable and their work needs to be recognized.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more money to give back to the youngest members of our military, the children of our solider. They sacrifice such much.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 4, 2013

more

September 4, 2013

My dad had been on many tours before, but this time it was different. This time when he left my sister was off at college and it was just my mom and me. I wasn't very happy about it because we didn't get along very well. I needed a way to be able to get out of the house, and money was tight so I almost had to give up dance, but then I got a scholarship from Our Military Kids and my mom let me keep dancing. It helped me get through my dad being gone, and my dad missing my recital. I am a daddy's girl so having him being so far away from me when I preformed was hard. But I knew he was always thinking about me and Our Military Kids helped me get out of my house and not mopping around. They don't just help the little kids, it's kids of all ages. Our Military Kids made my life so much better during the time my dad was gone. They are an amazing organization and deserve this. They let kids do what they want to pursue all of the USA they do everything in their power to help.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would give the child a person that they could write a letter to, to thank the donor for the money they gave to them

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 4, 2013

more

September 4, 2013

We received two grants from Our Military Kids Inc. , during my husbands most recent deployment to Djibouti, Africa. It gave him & I great comfort knowing our son could continue his guitar lessons & that our daughter's drivers education school was paid for. We are very grateful to this wonderful organization that supports the families that support our soldiers while away from home.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2013

more

April 15, 2013

My son received his grant within a week and he has started his pitching/batting lessons to help him improve and become more confident as a baseball player. He also looks up to his coach as a big brother figure since his father is not here to help him right now. This was such a blessing! Thank you Military Kids, you really came through and put a smile on my sons face!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 23, 2013

more

March 23, 2013

My husband was hurt when he was deployed in 2008 to Afghanistan. Two of the soldiers that were with him that day were killed. My husband went through several surgeries and physical therapy and was finally deemed "fixed". So when he got deployed in 2010 to Iraq, my kids were not as naive and now knew that not all soldiers make it home, and that not all of them make it back in one piece. They were also very aware of how different their life was than their friends. Their dad wasn't there for birthdays, holidays, school activities, etc. Their friends weren't praying every night that their dad would be safe and stay alive. We will ever be grateful for Our Military Kids for stepping in and helping pay for an activity so that our kids could have something in their lives that would help them take their mind off the safety of their dad, that would give them something to focus and work on so they could, for just a little while, think their life was normal. Thank you!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers