Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
12 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
January 15, 2012

more

January 15, 2012

The sustainable solution apparent in this organization insures that a community is answering the needs of families, children, and economic development all in one neat package.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 30, 2010

more

April 30, 2010

When I got a call from Bob Miller, the Executive Director, to consider Board membership with OFOC, it was a very easy decision for me to make. Although I count myself as one of the lucky few, my background growing up in a single parent home in a third world country was always filled with images of what life would otherwise have been. I have since been passionate about efforts to empower orphaned and under privileged children to achieve more from their lives. The OFOC model is well articulated and I believe that with its emphasis on sustainable projects and the family unit closely adapted into existing communities, it will go a long way in positively impacting the lives of many.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

the extent of articulation put into the planning process.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 20, 2010

more

April 20, 2010

The Executive Director approached me to become a member for this great non-profit back in January of this year. The concept brings together three ideas that I am passionate about. First - I was adopted as a child. I realize that had my circumstances been slightly different, I easily could have ended up in a group home. This organization is going to give Orphans the home with true parents that I am so lucky to have. Second - the support model for this project is different that the donation model that so many non profits rely on. Our model is truly self sustaining and can be replicated anywhere there is arable land. Lastly - this project is heavy on teaching resident job and life skills so they can be successful throughout their lives. It truly is about

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

the opportunity to make the lives of children better through my service.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 19, 2010

more

April 19, 2010

I helped bob traslate on the web site for the orphan communities I have helped in anything i can i think this is a great project i'm thankful for bob as a mexican native it fills me with joy to see lots of people involved in this project the planning the organization it self is a great, i know that once everyone looks at the website it will want to help them.

More feedback...

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

i think if this organization had 10 million dollars it would change lots of childrens life's i think orphan communities would be able not to only have one community but maybe two!! just think how many children can have a good home with parents,

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 17, 2010

more

April 17, 2010

Meeting Bob Miller has provided my company (db Atelier, LLC Architecture and Interiors) an opportunity to help fulfill a dream of Bob's that he has been steadfastly working toward for many years. His passion and desire to help orphans is infectious, and we couldn't help but want to join his cause! We have been providing Architectural Design and Master Planning services since our first meeting around a year ago, and have just completed a new design for the house's that will be built as part of the first phase of construction. Bob's dream of providing communities for orphans is becoming a reality, and we are truly excited to be a part of his dream.

Photos

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

excited to be a part of such an exciting project!

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

provide communities for orphans all of the world!

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 17, 2010

more

April 17, 2010

I have been working with Bob Miller of Our Family Orphans Communities, Inc, now for a year and have learned what hard work it takes to make a dream become a reality. I have been honored that Bob has chosen my company, db Atelier Architecture and Interiors, to help. With our background in architectural and environmental design,and being LEED Accredited Professionals we bring a new level of expertise to the project. On the design portion of this project we are working hard to make the Our Family Orphans Communities concept as self sustaining as possible. With everything from local materials for the building, to the community having the opportunity to grow their own food, OFOC's big picture will in the end be a great example to the world on how a project with a small budget, can still go green in big ways.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the design concepts of Our Family Orphan Communities.

More feedback...

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

make Bob Miller's dream become a reality, and help hundreds of orphans in Mexico receive family stability and a bright future, as well as be a great example to the world on how a community such as this can be self sustainable and economically feasible.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 17, 2010

more

April 17, 2010

For 32 years I was a federal employee. I was a research scientist, director of a federal lab, served a adjunct faculty at several universities and was assigned as part of the Graduate Faculty at Texas Tech University. My federal experience carried me to sites around the world as well as throughout this country. I have held elected office in several national and international scientific organizations. My long-term interest and research has been with integration of aquaculture and ag-based businesses to eliminate waste by recycling resources. I have formed new companies since I retired from the feds in 2003. I have volunteered with Habitat for Humanity and other service organizations. This project attracts my interest especially because I have traveled throughout Mexico as part of US and Mexico joint research projects. While there I have seen the need for the opportunities offered by Our Family Orphans Communities.

More feedback...

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

develop a self sustaining orphanage supported by integrated ag businesses. It could become a model replicated around the world. The concept is very similar to the Sustainable Environmental and Economic Development (SEED) Parks.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every six months

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

April 16, 2010

more

April 16, 2010

I've been involved with the organization for the last couple of months. Since the first time I heard about the project I knew it was a wonderful MEGA project to be involved with. If the organization can implement this first community successfully. That would be a major goal that could be replicated all over the world. So the impact for helping many orphans/families around the world with the self sustained green communities would be an example for the rest of our communities.

Photos

More feedback...

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

move faster to implement and reach the goals of creating its first community in Mexico and hopefully beyond

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

April 15, 2010

more

April 15, 2010

I am so impressed with the all encompassing mission of this organization. The simple premise - to create a new paradigm for orphan care by raising orphans in family homes instead of institutions - expanded to include the creation of economically self sufficient and environmentaly sustainable communities which provide food, shelter, jobs and education to people in need, is so powerful. I am telling everyone I know about this organization and can feel the excitement building.

More feedback...

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Partner with international governments all over the world to help create sustainable and targeted change benefiting orphans, the environment, communities and other people in need.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 12, 2010

more

April 12, 2010

This concept will revolutionize the thinking in the care of those children which have fallen through the cracks of life, at no fault of their own. The saying “teach those in need to fish, not give them fish “ applies . This will give hope for those lost and guide them into a new more productive path, rather then being exploited by the criminal elements on streets.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

its conception to present day; how the directors and volunteers have feed, nourished and protected this young new child from passing into the night,this project will succeed because of these true givers carrying the flame of compassion in their hearts.

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Add a link to our website to their website.

Send emails to their friends and associates telling them about the Orphan Communities project and giving them the website to look at.

Encouraging friends and associates via email/call to donate to Orphan Communities.

Aslking friends to put a link on thier website to Orphan Communities website.

Make a donation.

Find volunteers who will write business plans for the businesses in the Orphan Community.

Write guidelines to be used in community activities.

Market and promote our project on internet and social networking sites.