Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
4 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

As the widowed mother of a 38 year old son, I feel the urgency of a community such as this. Living as independently as possible is a crucial element for my son's future. Jobs, community interaction and friendship are integral parts of all of our lives and is certainly a vital part of the developmentally disabled adults lives as well. With the assistance of loving, caring volunteers and well trained staff, this will become a reality. The future of OSPREY VIllage is comforting to me and crucial for my son.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 15, 2013

more

April 15, 2013

With 2600 developmentally disabled people on the DDSN waiting list in SC, would you rather wait for the state to figure out how to meet this need or have a nonprofit like OSPREY Village tap into the private enterprise resources to come up with a solution that serves more people at a lower cost with better outcomes? This "neighborhood with a purpose" idea is one whose time has come!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 14, 2013

more

April 14, 2013

The best concept ever for solving the underserved developmently disabled adult population. Homes are desperately needed here in South Carolina. This idea will work nation wide. Companionship, friends, jobs, volunteering and community involvement are just a few of the opportunities for this more than capable population.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am the mother of a 42 year old daughter who is mentally disabled. There is currently NO group homes in our local community. We are building OSPREY Village to be a " Community with a Purpose". Mentally challenged adults will be 1/3 of the population while 2/3 will be family members, retires, an anyone who wants to live in the community an volunteer 4 hours a week to assist our challenged residents. They, in turn will volunteer for those living in the community!

The charm of OSPREY Village will be very appealing. Cottages with window boxes enhancing the large front porches, a "Village Green" where friends can meet, play frisbee, or sit an enjoy the activity of others! A community "Grilling Area" will allow for frequent gatherings of community an friends.

As a widow, I realize the vital importance of OSPREY Village. It will give my daughter an others a true home where the values of "Gentle Teaching" will be in place, a homey atmosphere, an genuine community involvement to help make their lives "The Best" they can be.

Mentally Challenged residents of OV will have the opportunity to achieve their highest potential of independence with qualified 24/7 house staffing, a job coach, and a community that supports them daily!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers