Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
14 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

OH is hands down the best non-profit I have ever had the privilege giving my time and money too. Jennifer is an angel. A gift from God that blesses so many families. She IS the reason my husband and I had the courage to adopt our three beautiful children from Ghana. She gave me direction, strength, inspiration, help, love, encouragement......all straight from her heart. She is an amazing mom, a tireless warrior for those in need and has a heart bigger than anyone I know. She is truly a gift. She is kind and honest and the hardest worker......THANK GOD for OH!!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 30, 2012

more

June 30, 2012

I was first introduced to Orphans' Heroes when we got involved with an orphanage in Ghana in 2010. I met Jennifer and have had the privilege of returning to Ghana with her on a subsequent trip. My family and I have an ongoing relationship with OH as volunteers and donors. In my life I have met many people who have stepped up to help others....but none as dedicated as Jennifer. Her heart is HUGE.....but more importantly.....her knowledge of the people and culture in Ghana, as well as all her connections with the different organizations that are working together to provide food, education, medical assistance and even homes to so many children is definitely making a difference in the world. Her continued work to save so many children from the sex trafficking trade as well as to bring water to so many communities has impressed me repeatedly. I truly believe this is one of the most reputable and worthwhile organizations I am involved in and I am very grateful to Jennifer for keeping me in the loop regarding the child we are sponsoring through OH. My family and I will continue to support Jennifer and Orphans' Heroes and look forward to returning to Ghana with her soon.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 30, 2012

more

June 30, 2012

We first met Jen during a family mission trip to Ghana. We spent 10 days volunteering at an orphanage in Hohoe. She was like an angel to all the kids there. She exudes love and compassion for children. Most importantly she takes action! She is completely devoted to helping others in need and has led OH to an ever growing mission in Africa. We are so thankful to know her, and happy to support OH.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

When I first met Jennifer Millett-Barrett she told me that when she was a small child she told her mother that she wanted to "cure world hunger." Since then, she has devoted her life to saving the lives of African children, first in Ghana, and then in Kenya. She told me about Orphans' Heroes, her charity, and I immediately made a donation to help put a roof on the school connected with the orphanage. Jen has always, without acception, been able to told her donors exactly what happens and who is helped by the money we give. She has not abandoned one project just to take on another. When she is devoted to particular children and their families, there is complete follow-through, no matter the obstacles. I have donated to this charity exclusively, and yearly, ever since we first met. I am humbled when in her presence and very, very proud to be her friend and "in it for the long haul-donor to Orphans' Heroes. Vicki Sara Blumberg, M.D.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

Jen is a true hero and inspiration! The organization that she runs, Orphan's Heroes, is making a real difference to children in Africa. Saving children from slavery, sex trafficking and preventable disease is all in a day's work for Jen. But it does not end there. She really cares. So with education, teaching them skills and by being someone to watch over them, she provides of environment of safety, growth and love.

This is a true life calling for Jen, and the love and passion she has for it is visible. Very little of the funds are used for administrative expenses because nearly all of it is going to help the children. Once children are in a safe environment, Orphan's Heroes is providing education, clean water, and skills that set the stage for a life of independence and empowerment. It is amazing what a difference small amounts of money can make to these children. For the cost of a lunch, one child can have health care for a year!

For all of us, the fortunate ones, we should support and help Jen in whichever way we can.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 8, 2012

more

May 8, 2012

Orphans' Heroes is an amazing organization that helps children all over the world. The work that Jen and all of the volunteers perform is nothing short of a miracle. I am honored to be even a small part of their effort.

We so often take for granted the basics; clean water, health care,
education and freedom. I believe that children should not die from water-born diseases nor do I believe that when a disease is identified, that a child cannot be treated because they do not have a health insurance. The cost of health coverage for one year for one child is equivalent to that of one fast food lunch (burger, fries and soda). As a mother, I can't bear to see one child die from something so preventable. Orphans' Heroes has made it a priority to do all they can to ensure villages have clean fresh water and children have health insurance.

All children have huge dreams and education is the key. Every child deserves the chance to realize these dreams. However, most children in the areas that Orphans' Heroes is working with, can only imagine what is like to sit in a classroom, read a book, study math, history and science. Orphans' Heroes continues to make these dreams a reality by expanding and constructing schools. These children are truly the future for all of us and Orphan's' Heroes provides them with the opportunity to empower themselves to be the best that they can and want to be. In addition, the work that Orphans' Heroes does to educate girls and boys with regards to sexual responsibility and disease prevention is critical. Knowledge is empowerment and empowerment will lead to success.

Lastly, for me, the one thing that breaks my heart is to hear the stories about child trafficking and slavery. Jen is to be commended for her work in this area. No child, regardless of the situation, should be sold or bargained for. This strips away their youth and their innocence. While I realize that families may feel that they have no other option/choice in order to support themselves or other family members, Jen's tireless efforts in educating and working with families and authorities is making the difference in the lives of children one child at a time. Personal freedom is not something that should be negotiated, even in the most horrific of instances, and Orphans' Heroes continues to make an impact.

Over the years, I have watched Jen devote her time and effort in making a difference in the life of every child that Orphans' Heroes has touched. She is incredibly dedicated and her passion is like nothing I have ever seen. It is because of her drive, compassion and commitment and the incredible results, I will continue to support Orphans' Heroes.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 4, 2012

more

May 4, 2012

OH is a fantastic organization that has far reaching effects and Jen is an amazing leader and organizer who is driving real positive change and giving more than hope to the children and people of Africa (specifically in Ghana, Kenya, the Congo, and Tanzania).

OH has stepped up to the
challenges of providing children with a safe educational and living environment, including being an instrumental partner in building two schoolhouses and a children's home. But it does not end there. Children are nurtured with love, with hope and a sense of future that they would otherwise not be able to realize.

Given the level of sexual predatory activities and child labor inequities that occur, its a testament to Jen and the team at OH that they do not bow down to the incessant barrage of challenges. Instead, it is always with a smile on their faces and the wind at their backs that they plunge headlong into helping the children and making a difference.

If I had to make a quick list of what they do, it would read something like this: educate children, provide a safe learning environment, rescue them from slavery and sexual abuse, give them hope and a chance at a good life, provide food and water (installing water pumps), provide health education and healthcare, educate young adults about family planning and finally, work closely with the parents and grandparents of some children to emphasize the importance of education and healthcare in creating better opportunities for their children thus helping them avoid the trap of selling their children into slavery.

Two more things that I would highlight – when one goes through OH's annual reports or website, there are these two things that stand out: 1) the photos of the children that OH has worked with – the smiles say everything that OH has done for them and 2) the ratio of the donated money that goes towards ACTUAL HOPE and ACTUAL CHANGE versus administrate expenses etc. Its a testament to the true and honest commitment that Jen and the team at OH exemplifies.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 3, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 3, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I don't know if I can adequately express my gratitude for what Orphan's Heroes has done to help children around the globe live happier, healthier...better...lives. Most of us take the basic necessities of life for granted. We have fairly easy access to food, clothing and shelter. This is not the case for many abandoned and/or orphaned children around the world. If our kids are sick, we can take them to the doctors for observation and treatment - and have medicine prescribed, if necessary. For children in Third World countries, in particular, this is just not the case. They must fight for food (and are not guaranteed that they will be fed daily), don't have access to adequate clothing and IF they have shelter, it is often subpar, at best. These children also die from diseases/viruses/illnesses that are easily treated with medicine, but because they are unable to obtain the necessary medications, they suffer and die. In the years I have been part of OH, either via donating money or supporting them via awareness efforts, etc., I have seen amazing things take place that have enabled children to survive, to LIVE - and a lot happier and healthier, at that! I have heard stories of children being rescued from a life-time of slavery or being taken to safe houses, because of exposure to unseemly and dangerous circumstances. Children have been provided with clean water, have been clothed, fed, sheltered - and as a luxury, EDUCATED. I will continue to support OH, because as a Mom, I would HOPE that if my child were to ever be put in a situation where their life was endangered in any way, *someone* would step in and help them. Jen and OH has done this for countless children already - and I am so proud to be even the tiniest part of this amazing organization and her life-saving effort(s).

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing and hearing the amazing things taking place as a result of the efforts put forth by Jen and OH!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

ensure that they have unlimited resources/funds :) I wouldn't change a thing in regards to the organizational structure!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

Hearing the heart-breaking stories of orphaned and/or abandoned children and realizing just how much they truly need our help. I also know Jen and the type of person she is and knew she would run a top-notch, honest, classy, sincere and well-organized organization.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

I've made more than one, and will continue to do so, because funds are always needed. Children in need are out there, in desperate need of our help. Every penny matters. Poverty, abuse, disease, hunger, etc. never sleep. They're always there and it takes money to help battle them.

What would you tell others about this organization?

I would - and do - tell others that OH is totally and completely sincere in its efforts to help orphaned and/or abandoned children around the world. Jen is dedicated in working to eradicate child slavery, and to providing nourishment, clothing, shelter, clean water, education - everything we take for granted - for and to children in need. OH is well-run, classy and everything that you would want in and from a non-profit organization. (And yes, I'm just a little biased, because I know the amazing work the organization has done thus far!!)

Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers