Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
14 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
July 1, 2012

more

July 1, 2012

I was blessed to learn of Orphans Heroes through my daughter. Her work in Ghana led her to this organization and when she returned I was invited to join her. Jenn'a devotion to the cause goes far beyond what I can describe. Her concern for the children is evident in every step she takes. I returned from my week in Ghana knowing someone was in the kids' corner and leading a charge to provide for them and ultimately improve every aspect of their lives. They are not standing alone thanks to Orphans Heroes. Having worked in education for close to thirty years I know how critical mentors/advocates are for children. Jenn is a true advocate whose ultimate goal is a better life for these children.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 30, 2012

more

June 30, 2012

The work of Orphans' Heroes (OH) is truly changing lives. I write this from a volunteer perspective as I have now traveled to Ghana, Africa twice to volunteer to work in orphanages and teach music with children. The second time I visited Ghana I brought my entire family and a few friends along with me. Under the direction of Jennifer Millett-Barrett of OH we were aware of the specific needs of the children before we arrived at the orphanage, and so we brought many supplies overseas with us. Jennifer's outstanding leadership of Orphans' Heroes has made this non-profit soar. Jen is constantly researching and building awareness about the needs of vulnerable children world-wide. Her passion and dedication is infectious and creates a feeling of commitment among all of us who support and volunteer through OH. She has become a mentor to me, and a friend. I have plans to return to Ghana soon to help OH with caring for children, researching, or anything they might need. I believe, 100%, in the integrity and vision of Orphans' Heroes.

Photos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 30, 2012

more

June 30, 2012

Words cannot express the continued support and gratitude our family feels towards Orphans Heroes (OH) under the strong leadership of Jennifer Millett-Barrett. In 2010, our family of 8 volunteered for two weeks at an orphanage in Hohoe, Ghana that was supported by Orphans Heroes. When we arrived I felt such sadness about these precious children having no parents and being brought up in an orphanage in general. They were in such great need. Upon our arrival, we heard about Jennifer of OH and officially met her during one of her visits to the orphanage. Jennifer sailed into the orphanage bringing games, laughter, and joy along with her. We learned about what Jen was accomplishing through OH: enabling the orphanage to have educated teachers, housemothers, food, water and educational trips. Orphans Heroes has also secured financial sponsors for many of the children. It was originally Jennifer's e-mail expressing the needs in this orphanage that inspired our family to take this trip and bring along with us 12 extra suitcases of supplies for the children. My husband, daughter and I have become active donors and advocates for Orphans Heroes. We are so grateful for the opportunity to be a part of their important and life-changing work.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Meeting the children that are being served by Orphans Heroes. Seeing the opportunities they have had for growth and education because of funding from OH.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Yes, opened my eyes to the great need for support for children all over the world.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Like I could truly make a difference.

June 30, 2012

more

June 30, 2012

I have never felt better about giving my time, effort and money to an organization than I do about Orphans' Heroes (OH). To know the heart of President and Founder Jennifer Millett-Barrett, you trust that the children and families OH touches are provided an opportunity among bleak circumstances. From the moment I heard about and reached out to OH, I felt connected and in the loop as to what the mission was, how the goals would be reached and what I could do to help get there. There is an intimate feel with OH that I've not found with any other non-profit. The children in Africa who are blessed with connections to OH have an unwavering advocate in their corner with Jennifer Millett-Barrett at the helm.

Photos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

I was drawn to OH in 2009, because I loved how personally Jen approached the people of Ghana. She truly believes that every child is worth fighting for, and she goes to bat for them in the most ethical and respectful ways possible. Since 2009, I have watched OH transform hopeless children into bright, successful young adults on their way to making a difference in their families and communities. Jen is committed to stopping the root causes of poverty and trafficking, and she continues to include others who have passion and experience to offer that mission. Being involved in OH has forever changed who I am, what's important to me and how I will choose to live my life in the future. I am forever grateful for the friendships, lessons and inspiration that OH and Jen have given me.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 3, 2012

more

May 3, 2012


The work which Orphans’ Heroes does is some of the most incredible work I've ever seen. Jen devotes her life to helping oprhans and in the 4 years I've been involved in the charity I've watched her turn around the lives of so many vulnerable children. Whether it's pulling children out of
dangerous environments and finding them safe houses and organising their schooling to helping to educate them about sexual health to even just ensuring they have clothes on their backs and food and water to keep them alive.

Throughout my time supporting the charity, I've been personally moved by the time and effort which goes into every single child and speaking to the children who've been helped in remarkable ways is incredible. Children who would otherwise be left on the streets or who may not even be alive today are being educated in schools and having all of their costs taken care of thanks to this charity. It's simply outstanding and their work never fails to amaze and touch me.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers